We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite lodging in Ireland”
Review of Friars Glen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Friars Glen
Ranked #1 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Little Silver, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite lodging in Ireland”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Friar's Glen and it was our favorite lodging by far (and cheapest too)! The location for us was perfect. It is located just outside of Killarney City and is within the Killarney National Park. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. You can go on walks on or near the inn. If you want to go into town to the stores it is a quick easy drive. But if you don't want to deal with the crowds you can drive a minute down the street (or walk) and get to Molly Darcy's Pub, a gas station, and a few other businesses.
The inn itself is charming. The rooms are simple but clean and comfy. The common areas are inviting and relaxing. The inn keepers are warm, welcoming, and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious too.
For me, the size of the inn was perfect. They have 10 rooms so it is larger than a typical B&B but smaller than a hotel. Small enough to receive personal attention, but large enough so that you can do your own thing. I have stayed at many B&Bs and this was a truly delightful stay. I highly recommend the inn to any travelers in Killarney!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    29
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
327
677
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

All the comforts of a hotel with all the charm of a B&B! Friar's Glen had spacious suits with updated bathrooms, beautifully decorated common rooms, a picturesque setting, great location, amazing host (Mary is lovely!)... I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeTennyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I give this B&B 5 stars only because I cannot give it more. There is a very good reason that it rates #1 on Trip Advisor. It is absolutely perfect in every way.

The location is fantastic. Walking the grounds is pleasant and refreshing, The house itself is perfect. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was equally as good.

But the main attraction is Mary. What a wonderful person. She was very helpful in arranging our itinerary while in Killarney and for the next day when we were travelling on to the Dingle peninsula and the Ring of Kerry.

We are a group of 5 couples who have vacationed around Europe together for several years. Everyone has agreed we will return to Ireland just to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Mary and John were wonderful hosts, getting us settled and then making dinner reservations for us so we did not have to worry about finding a place to eat or dealing with the hassle of reservations. Location is very peaceful and also convenient for visiting many areas throughout Kerry. Breakfast was delicious and filling and before checking out, Mary helped us to map out our trip for the day. Overall, wonderful and extremely pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrep3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were late getting into the area but made sure to call ahead and let our host know. She was very understanding about it and gladly stayed up late to let us in. She was most helpful in giving us tour ideas and maps. Food was awesome. The house itself was stunning. Located within the national park so it offers an amazing view. Very close to downtown so everything was close. It's a little too far to walk but we had a rental so it didn't matter. The room was big, plenty of room and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are two senior couples and travelled around Ireland by car in June. We stayed at this accomodation for 3 nights on 19-22th as the base of Killarney. It lacated near the Muckross House and very quiet area. Accomodation, rooms, terrace with garden and dining were very fantastic and we enjoyde a peaceful and comfortable staying. Especially, owner Mary and her helper Brigid were very kind and provided us nice services such as afternoon tea at terrace and usuful and appropirate tips for our itinerary. If we have a chance to visti Killarey again, we couldn't find the accomodation like this anywhere. Thank you Mary and Brigid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SENIORTRAVELLER1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at Friars Glen. What a beautiful setting! Mary, John, and Brigitte were all so welcoming to us. They made sure we knew where we were going each day and gave us directions and tips. The breakfasts were great each morning with fueling us up for our journeys! Irish breakfast, banana fritters, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs,all delicious. The location was perfect for us and was nice to be a little off the hustle and bustle of the town. It also provided a great location for trips to Gap of Dunloe, Ring of Kerry and Dingle. It is only a five minute drive into town and parking was very easy if we wanted to go to dinner in Killarney. On our first night we walked down to Molly Darcy's pub and had a delicious meal. Could not say enough great things about this place! We loved it. If anyone we know wants to travel to this area, we would highly recommend staying with Friars Glen!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
5.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
1.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Glen

Property: Friars Glen
Address: Mangerton Rd | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friars Glen is a four star traditional-style country house offering guests top quality bed and breakfast accommodation. We have ten en suite, spacious, comfortable bedrooms that are quiet and restful. We offer an extensive. delicious breakfast that includes a cold buffet and freshly prepared to-order choices to set you up for your day. Friars Glen has a homely, friendly good humoured atmosphere and with experienced advice we aim to help our guests make the most of their holiday in Ireland's South West. Surrounded by mountains and woodland, Friars Glen is located 5km from Killarney Town and within Killarney National Park, close to Muckross House and Gardens and in the centre of the Park. There are many hikes and trails from our doorstep. Friars Glen is an ideal centre for day tours to Ring of Kerry, Dingle and West Cork. For however long you choose to stay at Friars Glen we assure you of great accommodation and lots to see and do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Friars Glen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing