We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of town old school lodgings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed for one night after having a meal in the restaurant below. The room was clean, a little small but very comfy. Couldn't quite work out the heating, so was either baltic or boiling, but didn't really spend enough time in there to work it out. The highlight was the bathroom which had lovely tiles and a good shower and bath jacuzzi if you wanted to use it.

If you scratched below the surface there were a few things in the room that were a bit tired or outdated but these could be overlooked. Also the owner of the building must love buying furniture because its everywhere, even the corridors are littered with drawers and couches.

The house is situated on the main street of Killarney which is great for seeing the town. But the room was severely lacking in sound proofing and we were awoken by the street cleaner.

The breakfast was excellent and despite a very stingy looking menu where it said you were only allowed this or that, it turned out to be plentiful and you could help yourself to the cold stuff and toast kept on coming.

This place would ideally suit older couples who didn't want to walk far and were up at the crack of dawn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

super staff, nice rooms, best Breakfast , LOVED Killarney, Make sure to get a Sweater, wander around town , all with in walking distance of the train station, but pack light, MUST do Killarney riding stable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holycowhappydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked a "Superior" room for one night, and enjoyed it so much, we stayed two. Lovely room with Jacuzzi bath. Excellent food and breakfast. Really friendly staff. Despite being right in the middle of town, Foleys has private secure car parking on site. We stayed eight nights in Ireland, and this was the best, both hotel and place. Memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvestmoon1448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have to say I was surprised to see all the positive review on Foley's. We stayed here for 1 night and were shocked at how outdated the room was upon entering. The carpet was quite old and the bed furnishings were similar to my grandmother's house. The bathroom was at least clean and nice. The issues came when we laid down to bed and could hear every movement from the room above. It was as if the ceiling above were going to fall in on us. If staying here I strongly suggest the top floor to avoid this noise....but I don't think that will get rid of the hallway noise when anyone walks by. The the place is just outdated so you hear everything going on as the wood creaks.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, the food was average, but the location was great. Yes the room was a bit dated but hey it's Ireland. I would definately stay there again. The local pubs are great. Had the time of my life.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is my second time writing my review about this accommodation, the first one I put up was through their own website and was not put on their reviews.
My husband and I went away for a night in Killarney last weekend and were disgusted with our stay in Foleys guesthouse. The rooms are very small and dated, we were awake most of the night with the noise of the cooling systems just below our window and followed by the 7am noise coming up from the kitchen. Breakfast in the morning wasn't much better, the pudding was so thinly sliced that it was east cremate them, one piece of bacon very dry, the egg was fine!!!! and only one slice of toast per person. The manager also tried to charge us an extra ten euro for the room than what was advertised. When we complained in the morning at reception, all we got was we're sorry... Overall a bad experience and I would not recommend it and won't be staying their again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stopped in for a late night drink and some live entertainment. They lads playing traditional Irish music did a great job and the bar atmosphere was great. Look forward to stopping by again. Only negative was they were out of Smithwick's this last visit.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mgeorgejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#41 of 143 in Killarney
134 reviews
5.3 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant

Address: 23 & 24 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £96 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing