We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, great location and great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly, great location and great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights during our round Ireland trip. Foleys is in great position on the high street with loads of parking spaces. The rooms were a little old fashioned but that just added to the charm of the place and were very comfortable. Bathroom had both a jacuzzi bath and a fantastic shower. All of the staff were really helpful and friendly. The full Irish breakfast was great quality with a good choice for those not up to a hearty breakfast.
All in all would definitely recommend a visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandOldDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    54
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
91
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Very central, everything you need and the staff are lovely, very helpful. Breakfast superb. Private parking round the back was a godsend especially as it was raining when we arrived. Also got a great deal on booking.com - certainly worth a look.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband booked a two night break for us at Foleys Townhouse and as I had never heard of it before I did not know what to expect. I have to say it turned out to be a gem of a place. There is plenty of secure parking which was an extra bonus. From the moment we checked in the lady on reception could not have been more helpful. Our room was a superior one. It was plenty big, had a lovely jaccuzi bath and was quiet at night. The breakfast was lovely too and again the lady who served it could not have been more helpfull. All in all I would have to say the place was fantastic and I would definately recommend it and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent our first night in Ireland at Foley's Townhouse. The room was clean, spacious and charming. The bar was quite enjoyable and provided a relaxing atmosphere in which to converse with other patrons. The breakfast also was excellent. The best part of Foley's though, was the lovely woman at the front desk. She was so friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations for the rest of our trip. We definitely recommend this hotel to others and will return ourselves.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Carol, many thanks for your amazing hospitality over the last two nights accommodating the DCU Executives. From our arrival at reception, down to your excellent customer service and superb food, I will definitely be recommending your establishment to colleagues, friends and family. It was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishMcConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

What do you do when you arrive at a destination at 8:30 PM tired and hungry, only to find that the pub you have reservations with is closed, with not a single light on & the in-keeper absent. Well you walk across the street to Patrick Foley's place. After he stopped laughing, he told us not to worry he had us covered with a room and was still serving diner. My wife, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, and myself unanimously agreed that this meal was the best of our entire vacation in Ireland. The salmon and the free range pork chop are to die for!!!! We ended up spending the night with Patrick at his bar, laughing the night away to numerous Guinness's. Also Patrick provided a lot of guidance on our trip; taking the Ferry to cut a couple of hours off our travel to the cliffs, places to stay at in Dulin, etc.... If your looking for that place you heard about that is in Ireland, where the pub is friendly and the laughter is contagious; that's Patrick's place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjurecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Decided last min 2 hav a girls night away and mived a different place 4 the wrong date by mistake which ended up in last min booking foleys. Delighted with our mistake!
Arrive 2 a busy killarney but no prob as pulled in2 the secure car park with plenty spaces which is free- Huge bonus points 4 this.
Reception is cold n all I can say is odd. Had 2 go through a dark bar 2 a cold restaurant 2 pay. Bizarre. Receptionist very friendly but not informative. Had 2 ask wat time breakfast is served and got a shocked look and very abrupt 8-10. We didnt hav it included so I was surprised at the lack of effort 2 sell it as I had given a prime opportunity. No where its located, how much extra, mind u we hav no idea what time they even serve normal dinner to. But, I commend the friendly woman basics smiles in this industry can be hard 2 find sometimes.
We were skeptical about the room after seeing the ground level but went up 2 the room and was delighted. We got a twin room which had a king n single seperated by an alcove. Perfect for 2 single ladies who like their space when gettin ready! Although the furniture is extremely dated, it is so well kept. Its a timewarp experience but its done so well it works and you dont notice the joke of a hair dryer on the wall In the bathroom. I always bring my own anyway, same as my toothbrush!
No worries with the cold in reception as their were heaters on in the rooms when we went in and it was lovely.
If looking for a luxurious night away then I would go somewhere else but for a night away 2 enjoys the social elements of killarney it has all the comforts done well and at a reasonable rate.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#31 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#132 of 145 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant

Property: Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Address: 23 & 24 High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foley`s Townhouse And Restaurant Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing