We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-around hotel in Killarney”
Review of Brook Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great all-around hotel in Killarney”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

On quiet cul de sac. 2 minute walk to Killarney shopping district. Plenty of free parking. Big, comfortable rooms. Free wifi in lobby, not rooms. Charming and well maintained. Exceptional staff - owner, night clerks, maids. 24 hour desk. Small hotel - 29 rooms. We stayed four nights. Staff immediately recognized us and had our key ready when we returned each day. Maids noticed we liked to snack in room, so left plates and utensils without being asked. Maids also noticed how we shared pillows among the three of us and kept that arrangement. Resident bar when you arrive late and just want a Guinness or nightcap before retiring. Suggest calling hotel for exact directions. Trying to find through Google maps doesn't work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    54
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
113
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Myself & my two friends stayed there for 2 nights last summer. We were 3 girls in our early 20's trying to escape work, etc for a few days. We stumbled upon the hotel by complete accident but we delighted with what we found. We had not booked the room and simply chanced our rooms in the hope that they would have a room available for us. The staff we met were lovely and friendly to us and did not seem to mind when we staggered home very late one night / early one morning!! We enjoyed our stay and could not fault the accomodation. The room was very comfortable and extremely spacious. It was great to have secure parking available too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoife1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilarney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The rook was excellent. Elevator available. The room was actually a suite and staying 9 nights we were able to put everything away and it was like we lived theere. Got directions (map) every time we asked. Someone at the desk 24/7. Very friendly. We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in one room, we can only speak to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie04579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Very clean, nice big room, close to everything. staff very helpful. family operated. would definetly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We would like thank Brook Lodge Hotel in the centre of Killarney. We were let down by a B and B on the day we arrived for the Harley Fest week-end after traveling for four hours and managed to get accommidation with the hotel.Hotel was spotless, Lovely large clean rooms, Friendly and welcoming manager and staff, safe off roads parking for motorbikes and cars etc, 2mins walk to town, can't recommend this hotel enough, Will be back next year

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friends024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley West Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2011

There are a million places to stay in Killarney and we decided to look for something in town. What a surprise this place was. The rooms are clean, huge and very well appointed. The bathroom was fabulous with a bath and large vanity.
Located right in the centre of town, it has a large car park and a lift so no stairs to climb.
Maeve & Joan on reception could not have been more helpful and Julie's breakfast was to die for.
For the best value in Killarney, stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter1949_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare person
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My partner and i stayed in this hotel for one night. It is conveniently located to Killarney town centre with private car parking. The only fault we found is, the room was very hot and the windows couldnt be opened, otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarePersonSpeedy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.3 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lodge Hotel

Property: Brook Lodge Hotel
Address: Town Centre | Msgr. O'Flaherty Road, High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#13 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Family Hotel in Killarney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Brook Lodge Hotel KillarneyThe ideal Killarney Hotel located in the Killarney Town Centre, and convenient to Killarney National Park. The Brook Lodge Hotel is family-owned and run by the Counihans, a family involved in tourism locally since 1894. The hotel sits on one acre of landscaped gardens, with ample parking provided on-site, just off High Street, and provides excellent value accommodation for any Killarney or Kerry break. The Brook Lodge is a Four Star Hotel providing comfortable Bed and Breakfast accomodation with light meals available daily within the hotel bar. All 24 large rooms are designed for comfort with relaxing décor. Traditional Irish hospitality, as only a family-run business can provide, is delivered professionally to ensure your enjoyment and comfort while in Killarney. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you!Take a look at our special offers and weekend breaks, as we guarantee to provide excellent value for money for any holiday or vacation in Killarney. The Brook Lodge Hotel is particularly popular with golfers visiting Kerry from all over Ireland, as well as from abroad, and is an ideal base for day-trippers to the Dingle peninsula, the Ring of Kerry, Muckross House, Ross Castle, and the many other magnificent and magical attractions that the Kingdom of Kerry has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing