We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class comfort”
Review of Brook Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook Lodge Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top class comfort”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed for three nights at Brook Lodge on our first ever visit to Ireland. We chose it because we were meeting friends, who had already booked in there as part of a tour, so we were delighted to find that not only were we able to stay in the same place, but that we were staying in such comfort. Our room, on the first floor, was very spacious, with two beds which were each double bed size; there was a full-size traditional wardrobe with plenty of hangers as well as four shelves in another part of the wardrobe, and a dressing-table with drawers. The heating was controllable at the radiator, and the double-glazed windows opened for ventilation. The bathroom had an over-bath shower and plenty of worktop area; the only thing missing was somewhere to hang your towels other than the hook on the door.

Breakfast was great - soda bread was a local feature, as well as wonderful local black pudding and all the usual components of a cooked breakfast. They were able to provide soya milk without any prior warning. There is a small resident's bar with draught Guinness on tap.

The whole hotel is spacious and welcoming, with someone on duty at the desk 24hours. It sits right in the middle of town, just off the main street with its many pubs and eateries, yet in a quiet street with very little traffic, and there is plenty of parking space for residents.

Room Tip: The room we had, on the second floor, was slightly roomier and lighter than one on the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklodge, Brook Lodge Hotel at Brook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Christine M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Brook Lodge Hotel. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It means a lot to every one of us on the Brook Lodge team when we get such positive reviews. Hopefully I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    54
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
113
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently stayed here on our trip around Ireland. We booked for one night and ended up staying three and using it as a base for further trekking about! We felt so at home and comfortable from the time we checked in ( very tired and a little late in the day). The staff were welcoming and very helpful, our room was beautiful and very quiet. There was off street parking and everything you could want was right on our doorstep! We loved Killarney and the people everywhere we went were so welcoming! We didn't want to leave in the end but had too. We will be back to stay here and would so recommend it to anyone looking for a safe and comfortable haven whist away from home!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklodge, Brook Lodge Hotel at Brook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Debbie O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Brook Lodge Hotel and for taking the time to write your lovely review. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback and positive comments. On behalf of everybody here, thank you for the kind comments. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys there stay as much as you did. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I am a regular to the Castle Lodge and I love it. I am visiting Killarney next week and it will be my fourth week back to the Lodge. For me a home from home. The hospitality is lovely and the Management and staff are very helpful and you know they want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfasts are lovely and fresh and with a wide selection of choices. From the minute you walk through their door you feel welcome. I could say at this stage I practically live there as I am there more than I am at home and it is so nice to feel at home there. Best of luck to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in this lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were large and clean and the hotel overall was very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice too and all freshly cooked. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheila255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklodge, Brook Lodge Hotel at Brook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Sheila255106,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and positive comments. They are very much appreciated and mean a lot to us here at Brook Lodge Hotel.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro N.C.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel is located just off High street but a easy 2-3 minute walk to center of Kilarney. The hotel itself looks very nice from outside and it has free parking onsite which is great. The staff at the hotel was very helpful during our entire visit. The rooms were large and the bathrooms were done nicely.Very clean. The rest of the rooms decor, furniture, t.v., linens, curtains etc. were very dated and needed updating badly. They have a breakfast option here but we chose to have it in town. I think that was a good choice based on how the food looked.
The location,staff and price make this a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklodge, Brook Lodge Hotel at Brook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear plcape,

Thank you for taking the time to review Brook Lodge Hotel. We have taken all your comments on board. We were disappointed that you were let down by our breakfast as this is an area that is often commented on very favourably by guests. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Someone puts a lot of effort into this hotel and it shows. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms clean, beds super comfy. The front desk staff is top notch, especially Maeve. She was so sweet and helpful finding us dinner reservations last minute. She was very knowledgable about the town and assisted us with booking a tour around the ring of Kerry the following day. We have stayed in some not so nice hotels in Ireland and this one will most likely be our favorite. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank amandalou3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklodge, Brook Lodge Hotel at Brook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear amandalou3333,

Thank you for your lovely review of Brook Lodge Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Maeve. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed one night in the Brook Lodge and definitely would have loved to have stayed longer. The owners are lovely and were very welcoming and helpful, the hotel is well decorated and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. There is a lovely breakfast room and the food is great. The hotel is located in the centre of town so is an easy walk to the main street for shops, restaurants, etc. It is also well located for the Ring of Kerry. We had a great stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklodge, Brook Lodge Hotel at Brook Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear 000CST000,

Thank you for taking the time to review Brook Lodge Hotel. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Eileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.3 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#19 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lodge Hotel

Property: Brook Lodge Hotel
Address: Town Centre | Msgr. O'Flaherty Road, High Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#13 Business Hotel in Killarney
#14 Family Hotel in Killarney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Brook Lodge Hotel KillarneyThe ideal Killarney Hotel located in the Killarney Town Centre, and convenient to Killarney National Park. The Brook Lodge Hotel is family-owned and run by the Counihans, a family involved in tourism locally since 1894. The hotel sits on one acre of landscaped gardens, with ample parking provided on-site, just off High Street, and provides excellent value accommodation for any Killarney or Kerry break. The Brook Lodge is a Four Star Hotel providing comfortable Bed and Breakfast accomodation with light meals available daily within the hotel bar. All 24 large rooms are designed for comfort with relaxing décor. Traditional Irish hospitality, as only a family-run business can provide, is delivered professionally to ensure your enjoyment and comfort while in Killarney. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you!Take a look at our special offers and weekend breaks, as we guarantee to provide excellent value for money for any holiday or vacation in Killarney. The Brook Lodge Hotel is particularly popular with golfers visiting Kerry from all over Ireland, as well as from abroad, and is an ideal base for day-trippers to the Dingle peninsula, the Ring of Kerry, Muckross House, Ross Castle, and the many other magnificent and magical attractions that the Kingdom of Kerry has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing