We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Abbey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbey Lodge
Ranked #34 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 10 March 2007

When we arived in Killarney we saw the lodge and my wife said if we we would get a room in the arch she would love to stay there what does a loving man...just walk in and ask if there is a vacancy..
go it right away...wife happy...me happy....so we stayed 7 nights..
everybody was very nice and friendly...the breakfast was great...if i ever return to Killarney my first choice would be the lodge and not a 4 or 5 star hotel

take care

Jay

  • Stayed September 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank luizcifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    60
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
103
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

February 2007, Killarney Ireland.
Oops, we forgot to plan this part.
Fellow Travelers haven’t we all been there?
Before you left your home country you had thought you had planned out everything pretty well.
Done your Country research, planned your routes,
picked some accommodations...
However comes THAT day.
The day that you and your traveling companion look at each other and say simultaneously:
“I thought you said you took care of this part of the trip?”
Well, there it was.
Killarney, we had not made an accommodation choice.
This might not usually be a problem, but in February a lot of Bed and Breakfast folk take a well deserved vacation, or they are closed for renovations.
This is what we found in Killarney, as it happens one of the establishments that we stopped at which was closed, recommended another B & B in town that they thought very well of and said that it might be open.
And to our very good fortune it was:
Abbey Lodge
Our base for the next 4 days to explore Irelands beautiful southwest coastline.
The ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula, the Beara Peninsula, and all the sheep roads, and byways that we could fit our little car on.
Abbey Lodge is perfectly located for this sort of thing.
The gracious woman who owns the Lodge is full of information, kind and considerate, and most importantly has a sense of humor.
Our room was huge, clean, comfortable, affordable and as it was located at the back of the Lodge. It was very,very quiet.
There was plenty of hot water for all and fantastic water pressure.
Breakfast was wonderful.
Served in either a cozy, comfortable inside room or a warm, bright glass enclosed sun room.
There was everything offered from Corn flakes & breads to a full Irish breakfast.
My Husband and I skipped many a lunch fueled by the Abbeys breakfast.
If you are looking for comfort, nicely appointed rooms,
value, good food, sweet staff, with a central location, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — The clean, spacious room.The great amounts hot water, and the quiet.
  • Disliked — Only having a few days to spend there.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bay area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

A wonderful 4 nights at Abbey Lodge! My wife and i did the ‘week of south-west Ireland’ which was entirely to short, i must add, and spent 4 nights here at Abbey Lodge. A perfect place to see the sights, an easy walk into town for a pint or three at the end of a long day, and a comfortable and welcoming home away to come back to.
Very helpful owners, wonderful breakfast, a charming place with the feel of a small B&B and the amenities of a lodge. Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms, quiet, all in all, a place to return to.

  • Liked — location, value, welcoming
  • Disliked — having to go home
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Mr.Bunnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

After having read stellar reviews on this site, as well as a book on B&Bs in Ireland, I was disappointed with the Lodge. When we arrived, I introduced myself to the woman checking me in, and she did not even offer her name. The room itself, a triple, was okay. The bathroom had a good shower, but no fan and the paint was peeling on the ceiling. The TV was not easy to use, and there were many cobwebs on the windowsill. Breakfast was wonderful , though, in a beautiful, sunny room and the rest of the house looked beautiful as well. I was most disappointed that the owner never bothered to introduce himself or ask our names or how the room was. And I had to chase someone down to check out. The inn is walking distance to the center of town, which is very convenient.

  • Liked — location to town, breakfast
  • Disliked — lack of warmth from host and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — If you have older relatives traveling with you, the tubs are very high and hard to get into, ask for shower only
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

My husband and I stayed at Abbey Lodge last November. Of all our accommodations, Abbey Lodge was by far the nicest. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, and close to everything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are returning in September 2006 for another two nights.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

The room (large window) and the privat bath was clean and nicely decorated. Even TV and HiFi are present. The breakfast is made special for you. You can choose between different hot offers. Wonderful location with parkin lots in front- and behind the house. Easy drive to the Ring of Kerry and Dingle.

Thank you, Oliver & Susann

Link: [---]

  • Liked — Breakfast and the clean room
  • Disliked — -
  • Tips/Secrets — -
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Oliver_&_Susann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2006

Just back from spending new year's eve in Killarney and stayed for two nights at the Abbey. Brilliant wee spot, with extremely helpful staff, even got our car jump started when the battery went flat! Beautifully kept interior, with rooms very clean and comfortable. Great cooked breakfast in the mornings. Only couple of minutes walk from the town centre means that the Abbey is in a perfect location for a stay in Killarney. Thanks again to the staff for all their help, above and beyond duty! Looking forward to our stay there in June for the Harley Davidson rally.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank discodotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 140 in Killarney
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#6 of 140 in Killarney
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#42 of 140 in Killarney
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#67 of 140 in Killarney
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#32 of 140 in Killarney
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Property: Abbey Lodge
Address: Abbey Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Irish welcome awaits you at Abbey Lodge B&B. We are situated 3 minutes walk from Killarney town centre, complimentary WIFI is available. The house is tastefully decorated throughout and features many interesting antiques and art. The accent is on friendly personal service backed by the highest standards throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing