We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for a B&B”
Review of Killarney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killarney Inn
Ranked #39 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“excellent for a B&B”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

stayed here recently on a weekend away with my husband, more like a small hotel than a B&B, very clean and tidy, lovely comfortable bed and the shower was fantastic, really high pressure unlike many B&B's. the breakfast is fantastic, buffet of cereals, juices etc., I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon 1 of the days and a full irish the next, both were fantastic and served very quickly. it's an easy 10/15 stroll into the centre of town, there's a holiday inn right next door and a pub straight across the road for a nightcap. kayne's pub 5 mins walk away has fantastic food and a lovely atmosphere.
all staff were very friendly and welcoming, would definately recommend, FANTASTIC value as we only paid 27.50 each per night

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amyoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    59
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
66
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

had the best stay ever really enjoyed the whole experience the girls in the dining room were very helpful and the breakfast was amazing, i could not believe all this could be provided for the price i paid , i will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donal J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

It was a mess at first since the place had just changed name from Harmony Inn to Rivermere Inn, but we found it in the end and it was no biggie getting help or find the room.

And the room was of great quality compared to the cheap price for one night. No issues with heating, the shower and those sorts; we all slept like babies that night.

The grand finale was the breakfast the next day. There was a lovely little buffet, but next to that you could choose 1 of several menus, such as salmon and scrambled eggs, a full English breakfast or some smaller ones. Top Stars for the service all the way through.

One little warning though; the WiFi and television was not impressive, so if you plan on staying inside most of the day, I suggest finding another place. But if you are planning on hiking or sightseeing most of the day, then this is a great choice for a few nights :-) The B&B is within walking distance from city centre.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for extra cups when checking in, just in case. We were missing 1 cup when making te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here recently as a family of three in a triple room. The room was very big as was the bathroom too. The room had everything we needed. The whole hotel was well laid out and had a good easy accessable parking. It was 11min walk into town to restaurants etc. For the price we paid I couldn't fault it as its very competitive rates. However the place could do with a little pepping up and maybe a female touch to put up better curtins or have a better presence at reception etc. It's not the same as staying at the b&b of a family, it's more like a hotel. One very efficient member of staff was a Moldavian girl who was friendly and remembered everyone's names and room numbers. I would have no hesitation of staying there again for the same price in the high season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadera, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here, with no great expectations, for a night as part of a Paddywagon Tour ( which we too recommend, even though we were old enough to be grandparents of some of the other travelers ). Our room was pretty bare but quite a decent size with a double bed and a single bed. We were in a second floor rear room (211). There was a porch and a large rear window overlooking an empty but clean lot. Not much of a view, but we weren't in the room for any amount of time. Since the B&B was part of a package, we were not aware of the price, so we can't speak about value for money paid. It was adequate for what we needed.

The place seems to be in the process of being updated. It may have once been a hotel. The bathroom was good size, with a modern shower enclosure. The location was quiet.

Leaving the B&B and walking left (go right and you are in a Holiday Inn), it was a pleasant 15-20 minute walk ( between a light and considerate shower of drizzle ) to the center of town where there are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs, cafes, and a cinema. Lots of things open until late, unlike other places in Ireland

As party of our Paddy wagon tour, we did a horse and buggy ride through part of the national park with great views of the lake, mountains and castle and we also saw lots of deer. It wasn't too cool, but blankets were provided for those who felt the need.

Breakfast was surprisingly good with a larger choice than any of the other B&Bs that we experienced. They even had omelettes on the menu and they were good! We even stayed at a hotel that could not compete with their breakfast!

Room Tip: A/C was not needed but on hotter more humid days it might have been. WiFi had a limited range. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adare limerick
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

rivermere house is a great guest house
it is always wonderful to come back here after a days work of touring
the staff are always helpfull and very pleasant
the rooms are every bit as good as a hotel and better !
so well done to the owner and the great staff
i as always will continue to stay at this wonderful guest house

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I’ve stayed in hostels and B&B’s all over Ireland and I found this place just fantastic! The beds were really comfortable and the ensuite had state of the art fixtures and a great shower. This place is so clean and modern that you forget its budget accommodations.

The Rivermere Guesthouse is part of the Harmony Inn chain of budget accommodations in the beautiful tourism town of Killarney. We stayed here because of the location and price and we were not disappointed. There is also a lot of parking out front and it's only a short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Team_Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#33 of 141 in Killarney
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 141 in Killarney
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#71 of 141 in Killarney
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#35 of 141 in Killarney
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Inn

Property: Killarney Inn
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Rivermere Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful location, just 10 minutes' walk from the town centre and Killarney National Park, the eco-friendly Killarney Inn is a charming B&B with free WiFi and parking. Killarney's bus and train station is 25 minutes away from the property on foot, while the Lakes of Killarney are only 15 minutes' walk away. There is plenty to do in the region, including golfing, fishing and hiking. All of the rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished, with a TV, radio and en-suite facilities, including a power shower. Some of the rooms also have balconies. A Continental breakfast is available every day and a full Irish breakfast can be requested at an additional cost. There is a selection of bars and restaurants within a 10-minute walking area. This is our guests' favourite part of Killarney, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Killarney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing