We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless room, Comfy bed, great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killarney Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killarney Inn
Ranked #52 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spotless room, Comfy bed, great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

i stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights while visiting Killarney. At 30 euro per person b&b i wasnt expecting much.. but i was plesantly suprised. the room was very clean, with a gleaming en suit. the bed was extremely comfortable with fresh white cotton sheets! the best thing about my stay was the quiteness! no cars or any type of noise to be heard when we were going to sleep. the tv was a litttle old and the hair dryer wasnt great but in Killarney you dont need to spend much time in your room rain or sun!
the breakfast was served with lovely staff and it tasted even better!
I'd recommend this guest house to anyone looking for cheap and cheerfull accomodation! Im defenetly staying here again! ....oh and the pub across the road serves a lovely dinner!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    47
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
25
49
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed at the Rivermere, in Killarney for 1 night on our way down to Bantry last Wednesday. There were 2 families in our party with children (9 in total) and i must say we were all very satisfied with the facilities/service Rivermere provided us with overnight.
Location was good being only 15 minutes from Kerry airport and it was easy to find along the Muckross Road. Once we were settled we hit the town which was only a 10 minute walk for a drink. We ended up at the Danny Man pub (part of a great western hotel ) it was only one drink as prices were extortionate!
Our bedroom was clean, tidy and very comfortable and had an ensuite shower room which was also lovely. No toiletries were provided but then again this was deemed a budget guesthouse/B&B and was no big deal as we had brought our own.
Tea/coffee facilities were provided in the front room which could be taken up to your room.
In the morning we had a full irish breakfast which was fine with the exception of the tomatoes which were raw but the service was quick and staff were very helpful and friendly.
All in all a very successful stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending this place to friends who were looking for an inexpensive place to stay and we would return to this B&B again ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank territandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Couldn't fault this accommodation. We didnt know much about the place beforehand, to be honest we booked it as it was very reasonably priced and close to where we needed to be.
Upon arrival, the receptionist was very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely, it had recently been refurbished and had a nice crisp and clean feel about it.
Breakfast was lovely - There were plenty of options, even for me being a vegetarian!
I would definitely recommend this to people travelling to Killarney; it is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NL1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

We didnt arrive until late on a busy Saturday evening which wasnt a problem for the very friendly reception staff. We were greeted by name and shown to our spacious room.
I was surprised by its clean appearance as some of the photos on the website dont do it justice. The beds were extremely comfy.
Breakfast was lovely with a choice of different options. The waiting staff were also friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
I would love to visit again as due to website I wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was due to the affordable price. It was an ideal location to town ( 5 mins walking distance) and no road noise was heard from our room. The only negative was that the car park was a bit of a squeeze, although we did arrive late on a Saturday night so that wasnt really surprising, and that there was no views from the rooms.
In all, I would rate this 9/10.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishClairebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

My partner and i originally booked for 1 night, but then changed it to 2 nights, which was not a problem for them at Rivermere they were able to accommodate, Staff arew very helpful and friendly. Guesthouse is in a great location only a few minutes walk into the town.
Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was lovely.

The only suggestion i have for the staff at Rivermere, has to do with the sign, we had some difficulty finding the guesthouse as the sign out the front, the name of the guesthouse needs to be slightly bigger and the sign wasnt lit up at night, the only way we found it was from the unique design and colours of the actual guesthouse.

Great place to stay in Killarney, would recommened it to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neadles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

we arrived in the late afternoon on the 5th april. the weather was terrible but on arrival we were shown to the most beautiful warm spacious room. immediately our mood lifted. the staff could not have been more helpful.

the breakfast was hot and delicious with an excellent choice of vegetarian options.

i had the scrambled egg and smoked salmon delicious!!!!

i would definately recommend rivermere guest house to any and all travellers

  • Liked — the comfort and the staff
  • Disliked — 6 mins walk to town centre
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank limecrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2005

We booked two rooms for two nights at Rivermere 4 months in advance. Of course, we didn't know that you could basically show up anywhere in Ireland and find a hundreds of B&B's in town that take walk-ins. I guess everybody rents out the rest of their house as a B&B to make ends meet. But I would recommend a reservation in-advance, since you'd be taking your chances on "house-hunting" if you arrive late in the afternoon.

The picture of Rivermere doesn't do it justice. It's an ADORABLE little B&B, less than a mile down the main road to Killarney National Forest and the Muckross House. Definitely walkable if you're planning a late-night pubfest in the bustling, picture-worthy town, but a slightly steep upclimb on the way in. (Worked fine for that night we wanted to inbibe a tad bit too much!) It was on a loud road from 8am to 11pm, but we were able to open the windows wide-open at night and didn't have any trouble with sound sleeping. Beds were very firm, but not so much as to ruin your back.

We got one room with that RARE king-size bed and one with a double and a twin. (Men are too tall for a twin, so they must get a double-size bed for diagonal sleeping).

WARNING: One of the rooms got terrible shower pressure, shutting off several times when we were shampooing! The owner (helpful, if not a tad bit too busybody, and with a voice eerily similar to Mr. Smithers from the Simpsons) seemed genuinely suprised and concerned when we told him about the terrible shower. He said he'd check immediately that one of the pumps had gone out. Might be fixed.

Our only mistake? Staying only two days. This part of the country has so much to do, we should have stayed 3 or 4 nights. Rivermere had the BEST breakfast (included) that we had throughout Ireland. All breakfast in Ireland is the same, but the scrambled eggs were fluffier, better-quality toast, awesome fruit assortment, much better sausage (although still tasted weird, with extra fillers in the meat unlike American sausage) and the RARE cup of good coffee served in a French press. (I'd order tea the whole time in Ireland, the coffee is gross!)

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#27 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robeen House
Robeen House
#14 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#31 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Inn

Property: Killarney Inn
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Rivermere Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful location, just 10 minutes' walk from the town centre and Killarney National Park, the eco-friendly Killarney Inn is a charming B&B with free WiFi and parking. Killarney's bus and train station is 25 minutes away from the property on foot, while the Lakes of Killarney are only 15 minutes' walk away. There is plenty to do in the region, including golfing, fishing and hiking. All of the rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished, with a TV, radio and en-suite facilities, including a power shower. Some of the rooms also have balconies. A Continental breakfast is available every day and a full Irish breakfast can be requested at an additional cost. There is a selection of bars and restaurants within a 10-minute walking area. This is our guests' favourite part of Killarney, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Killarney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing