We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Weir Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbutus Hotel(Killarney)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$282
US$270
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Heights Hotel Killarney(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Innisfallen Hotel(Fossa)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$234
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
360
109
15
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
109
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsring of kerryb ban easy walk into townporridgemuckross roadexcellent breakfastguest housesconesfront desk staffhot breakfastgood sizeten minute walkfamily roomross castleroom was largethe gapideal location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights here on visit to Killarney and its surroundings. We used it as a base camp for visits to the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. For that purpose, its location was fine. However, it is a bit of a walk (15 minutes) for downtown Killarney, which can be positive or negative depending on what you are looking for.

The rooms themselves were clean and had an adequate amount of space. However, our was a a little damp and musty. Definitely not a room that wows you but adequate enough for a short visit.

On the positive side, the breakfast was excellent, one of the best we had in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This family run Guest House is quite excellent. It has a lovely warm feeling about it as soon as you enter.Ever member of staff is so helpful and cheerful. The rooms are very large and very well furnished. Breakfast is very good. On our arrival we realised we hadnt asked for a room with a bath when we asked the room was changed right away. The staff are very knowledgable about the local area.I cannot speak to highly about Old Weir Lodge. I shall return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Great place in an amazing town. If you are visiting ring of Kerry make sure that you stay in Killarney and if you are staying here old weir lodge is great alternative. It is pretty mich half the price of all other hotels in town. Rooms are twice as
Large very clean and fast Internet. Staff are extremely helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank arctickoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This may be classed as a guest house but it is as good if not better than so many hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are of a good size and immaculately clean. The breakfasts are excellent and include a self-service buffet and full-Irish or variants of. The staff are friendly and courteous. It is well located within 5 mins walk of the town centre and there is off-road parking too. All round I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to visit one of the most scenic areas of Ireland.

Room Tip: I have stayed here a couple of times and I have found no problem with the rooms provided on either occasion.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojofitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Old Weir Lodge in Killarney.

We booked our stay here based on the many Trip Advisor reviews that we had read and we can honestly say that our stay here surpassed our expectations.

We would particularly like to thank the owners Maureen and Dermot, their son Niall, Aileen (front desk) and Eileen (our waitress for most of our stay) in fact all of the staff were excellent. We were greeted every morning and on our return to the hotel each day with a cheery smile and throughout our stay we felt totally relaxed and at home. In our view this has to be one of the best of the smaller hotels, if not THE best hotel we have ever stayed in, The hotel offers very clean and tidy spacious bedrooms, well decorated and maintained community areas, good quality and choice on the breakfast menu and by far the most polite and friendly staff we have ever met. Our hats go off to Maureen and Dermot, because their management skills and technics are replicated by all of their staff.

The hotel is perfectly located and is just a five or six minutes level stroll into Killarney town centre. and Killarney itself is an ideal base for touring Killarney National Park, The Ring of Kerry, The Dingle Peninsula and much more.

Our bedroom was at the front of the hotel and was extremely large, very clean and nicely decorated and it is great that the hotel provides two lounges for their guests to sit and relax in after a day out enjoying the beautiful countryside.

This hotel is well worth its 4 Star Irish Tourist Board and 5 Diamond Rating from the AA and is excellent value for money. We have stayed in a variety of 4 Star (large and small)hotels and guesthouses in the UK and abroad who charge a higher rate than The Old Weir Lodge but offer much smaller bedrooms and very little, if any, guest lounge facilities.

Whatever you are coming to Ireland to see and do, Killarney has everything to offer the first time visitor. There is an abundance of level tracks for you to walk or cycle through Killarney National Park, or why not treat yourself to a Jaunty cart ride, of which there are many to choose from around, the town, the lakes and through the mountains (Gap of Dunloe). The scenery in and around Killarney is breathtaking, but don’t just take our word for it, ask Maureen, Dermot and their team - they love to help you to enjoy your stay here.

We have friends and relations who are looking to visit Ireland and we will have no hesitation in recommending the Old Weir Lodge to them.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel do have a nice view, however with the windows open you can sometimes hear the traffic and juanty carts going past. However this did not interupt our sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTwoOfUsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews