We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
426
121
16
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
121
16
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ring of kerry an easy walk into town porridge room was large ross castle cold buffet muckross road front desk staff breakfast was included ten minute walk good size the gap scones family room breakfast was amazing guest house visiting killarney
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed there for two nights in June. At first I wasn't sure whether to check in because the first impression was something between hotel and feeling of mountain hut but we were absolutely satisfied. We stayed in a large room and the distance from the town center was absolutely convenient for us because we spend most of the day in the car and the 10min walk was a necessary change. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Old Weir lodge was comfortable, clean, and we had a good size room for a family of four. Location is ideal -- walking distance from town, but not close enough to suffer the at times loud night life. Breakfast was fine, everything you expect of a traditional Irish breakfast, and very good scones. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMCalnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 2 nights here on visit to Killarney and its surroundings. We used it as a base camp for visits to the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. For that purpose, its location was fine. However, it is a bit of a walk (15 minutes) for downtown Killarney, which can be positive or negative depending on what you are looking for.

The rooms themselves were clean and had an adequate amount of space. However, our was a a little damp and musty. Definitely not a room that wows you but adequate enough for a short visit.

On the positive side, the breakfast was excellent, one of the best we had in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rone75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This family run Guest House is quite excellent. It has a lovely warm feeling about it as soon as you enter.Ever member of staff is so helpful and cheerful. The rooms are very large and very well furnished. Breakfast is very good. On our arrival we realised we hadnt asked for a room with a bath when we asked the room was changed right away. The staff are very knowledgable about the local area.I cannot speak to highly about Old Weir Lodge. I shall return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Great place in an amazing town. If you are visiting ring of Kerry make sure that you stay in Killarney and if you are staying here old weir lodge is great alternative. It is pretty mich half the price of all other hotels in town. Rooms are twice as
Large very clean and fast Internet. Staff are extremely helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank arctickoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews