We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Weir Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #8 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place was planned to be a mileage stop for us but we were pleasantly surprised by what a really nice township Killarney is. Our rooms were just okay, the toilet had a mind of its own and the whole place could do with a spruce up. The staff were friendly and helpfull and the breakfast was good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    91
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
91
161
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

my husband and i stayed here for one night and wiil be coming back. very reasonable price for a sat night. . staff were really friendly and our room was lovely. we got beautiful breakfast in morn, better than you would get in any hotel. only 10 min walk from town centre . we got lovely peaceful night sleep

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Great location with a purpose built B&B. As such the rooms are large and fully appointed. The breakfast food and service are great. The resident's bar/lounge adds to the total experience. One drawback was a barking dog next door to the B&B but this was not persistent.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and very much enjoyed Old Weir. It's a staple for us when traveling to Killarney because of its convenience (a 10 minute walk into town) and proximity to the national park. The rooms are very clean and spacious, bathrooms are of adequate size and are updated. The building itself is a larger "lodge" b&b, but feels very warm and comfortable. There are two public lounge rooms downstairs that are great for relaxing in as well. Dermott and Maureen and their staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They're very knowledgeable of the area and can assist with any and every need. The breakfasts are delicious and the breakfast room is bright and cheerful, which combined make for a great start to the day. We will continue to stay here in future travels and we definitely recommend this property. Also, the price is extremely reasonable and I consider this a great value, especially during the peak summer travel season.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jetguy332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

What a wonderful place! Very convenient 10 minute walk into Killarney. Excellent staff who were very helpful and had a wonderful sense of humor. This place has all the olde world charm you would like and expect from a lodge in Western Ireland. I booked my room through hotels.com, but when we tried to book another room a couple of days later, all the Internet sites said they were sold out. However, when contacting the hotel directly, they said they could get us a second room....as I said, very helpful!! I strongly recommend this lodge if you are staying in Killarney.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ndfmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

As a "Lodge" it is bigger than the normal B&B. Stayed 3 nights in order to drive to the local sights. Room was spacious & very comfortable however the double mattress could be replaced soon. Bathroom was a little small however the shower and bath were both great to have. Breakfast was also very good with both hot & cold choices. The staff there were very efficient and the décor in the breakfast room was very nice. An easy walk into town centre where the choice of restaurants was many. A bonus was a small lift to 1st & 2nd floor for bags and off street parking was plentiful. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Europahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife, son, and I all liked the Old Weir Lodge in Killarney. Our room was very spacious, quiet, and clean. The Lodge itself has a very classy feel to it, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was quite good and offered quite a variety. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Property: Old Weir Lodge
Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing