We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent quiet accommodation”
Review of Old Weir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #7 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

visited family in Killarney, stayed in Old Weir Lodge for 6 nights. about ten minutes walk from centre of Killarney. plenty parking space, easy to find. spacious foyer, and two beautiful quiet lounges, one with small bar. we had an executive room, very spacious, facing onto the garden, very quiet at all times. breakfasts excellent, and very helpful staff, though service not as good for last two mornings. excellent Wi-Fi in all rooms. highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade, and at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuwandFlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

A little remote from Killarney's center, this cozy hotel offers nice rooms, basic (but from menu!) breakfasts, and charming team that is willingly helps with excellent advices.
A great place to start and end your visit at the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimrod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Old Weir was our base for a drive on the Ring of Kerry. For those who don't know...look it up. Anyway, the Old Weir kept on popping up at the top of the lists for approvals and when you are booking from 12,000 kms away that means a lot! Killarney is a very touristy town. Lots of tour buses, backpackers etc. It is a very lovely place but we were very happy to find a spacious clean and comfortable haven amidst the traffic and tourism chaos. I would recommend the Old Weir to anyone wanting a comfortable couple of nights rest and fun. We walked into town both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Thanks to our hosts!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place was planned to be a mileage stop for us but we were pleasantly surprised by what a really nice township Killarney is. Our rooms were just okay, the toilet had a mind of its own and the whole place could do with a spruce up. The staff were friendly and helpfull and the breakfast was good.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

my husband and i stayed here for one night and wiil be coming back. very reasonable price for a sat night. . staff were really friendly and our room was lovely. we got beautiful breakfast in morn, better than you would get in any hotel. only 10 min walk from town centre . we got lovely peaceful night sleep

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location with a purpose built B&B. As such the rooms are large and fully appointed. The breakfast food and service are great. The resident's bar/lounge adds to the total experience. One drawback was a barking dog next door to the B&B but this was not persistent.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and very much enjoyed Old Weir. It's a staple for us when traveling to Killarney because of its convenience (a 10 minute walk into town) and proximity to the national park. The rooms are very clean and spacious, bathrooms are of adequate size and are updated. The building itself is a larger "lodge" b&b, but feels very warm and comfortable. There are two public lounge rooms downstairs that are great for relaxing in as well. Dermott and Maureen and their staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They're very knowledgeable of the area and can assist with any and every need. The breakfasts are delicious and the breakfast room is bright and cheerful, which combined make for a great start to the day. We will continue to stay here in future travels and we definitely recommend this property. Also, the price is extremely reasonable and I consider this a great value, especially during the peak summer travel season.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jetguy332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#19 of 38 in Killarney
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#25 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing