We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than a B&B and in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Weir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #8 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Much better than a B&B and in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the city center in a quiet neighborhood area. It has only 30 well appointed en-suite rooms and beautiful gardens on all sides. Our room was modern, clean, spacious and had a great view over the front gardens. The rates are very reasonable and the included breakfast was ample. Instead of the standard buffet setting for eggs, bacon & sausage all cooked items are by order with the waitresses and service is quick. There is plenty of fresh bread, juice and cereal. The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful. There is plenty of free parking inside the fence in front and at the rear of the building.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    91
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
94
166
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farndon, Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Old Weir Lodge is a B&B but feels more like a hotel. Very fresh and clean, modern decor. Excellent wi-fi. Varied choice for breakfast, cooked orders done just at the right time to eat cereal first. Plenty of choice of fruit, cereal, different breads. Staff very friendly and helpful. About 7 minute walk into Killarney to nearest restaurants, but plenty of choice when you get there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Old Weir Lodge is a lovely B&B, with rooms that are not just well kept but almost luxurious. But above all, the staff is extremely nice and helpful. They went out of their way in helping me get in touch with my next destination, when my mobile provider let me down and I had no coverage at all.

Room Tip: A room at the back is preferable, as there is a fairly busy street on the front. Traffic does calm d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanut-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

One of the best buys we made on our Ireland vacation. Very clean, up-to-date, large room. Very good breakfast. Surprisingly, we drove past it the first time as it was in a row of B&B's and had a relatively modest sign. Good parking area, good location, and very helpful staff. The only piddling aspect was that the new-style single handle bathroom faucet was curiously noisy in use. Still prefer over separate hot/cold. With so many to choose from, we can easily recommend Old Weir Lodge for consideration.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a large room with 4 beds. Very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very modern. The breakfast was terrific with lots of choice. Parking and wifi were good. The location was an easy walk into Killarney and right on the Ring of Kerry road. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it. Very good value for a family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardWE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Clean rooms and a very friendly and helpful staff, made for an enjoyable stay. Very close to the center of town. Even though we had a rental car we walked everywhere, with the exception of Muckross house and the Ring of Kerry tour for which we were picked up at the hotel. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Old Weir Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLewis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The location was a bit further from town, but we didn't notice after a few pints of Guiness. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was a bit uncomfortable however. The real prize of the stay was breakfast. The porridge with Baileys was excellent! My husband also really loved the full Irish breakfast and the scones.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Property: Old Weir Lodge
Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing