We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate!”
Review of Old Weir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #7 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was hands-down the friendliest we had anywhere in Ireland. They assisted us with finding a few venues and also scheduled a gap of Dunloe trip for us right there at the front desk. By the way, don't miss the carriage/boat ride through the gap - it was one of the highlights of our trip.

The breakfast was good, and the rooms were very nice. The lodge is decorated very classy and was spotlessly clean. The bed was big and comfy, and the bathroom large.

Oh, and the water pressure was heaven! Best shower I had in two weeks of traveling Ireland!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, lovely furnishings and super friendly staff in a very post card perfect part of Ireland. Loved it from the moment we walked in. Service great and rooms very spacious. Great value for the area, and certainly better than some 4 star hotels we have been too. Fully recommended and we would come back here again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the city center in a quiet neighborhood area. It has only 30 well appointed en-suite rooms and beautiful gardens on all sides. Our room was modern, clean, spacious and had a great view over the front gardens. The rates are very reasonable and the included breakfast was ample. Instead of the standard buffet setting for eggs, bacon & sausage all cooked items are by order with the waitresses and service is quick. There is plenty of fresh bread, juice and cereal. The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful. There is plenty of free parking inside the fence in front and at the rear of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Old Weir Lodge is a B&B but feels more like a hotel. Very fresh and clean, modern decor. Excellent wi-fi. Varied choice for breakfast, cooked orders done just at the right time to eat cereal first. Plenty of choice of fruit, cereal, different breads. Staff very friendly and helpful. About 7 minute walk into Killarney to nearest restaurants, but plenty of choice when you get there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Old Weir Lodge is a lovely B&B, with rooms that are not just well kept but almost luxurious. But above all, the staff is extremely nice and helpful. They went out of their way in helping me get in touch with my next destination, when my mobile provider let me down and I had no coverage at all.

Room Tip: A room at the back is preferable, as there is a fairly busy street on the front. Traffic does calm d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peanut-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

One of the best buys we made on our Ireland vacation. Very clean, up-to-date, large room. Very good breakfast. Surprisingly, we drove past it the first time as it was in a row of B&B's and had a relatively modest sign. Good parking area, good location, and very helpful staff. The only piddling aspect was that the new-style single handle bathroom faucet was curiously noisy in use. Still prefer over separate hot/cold. With so many to choose from, we can easily recommend Old Weir Lodge for consideration.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a large room with 4 beds. Very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very modern. The breakfast was terrific with lots of choice. Parking and wifi were good. The location was an easy walk into Killarney and right on the Ring of Kerry road. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it. Very good value for a family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardWE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#18 of 38 in Killarney
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing