We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints”
Review of Old Weir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #8 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Old Weir Lodge and, once again, it lived up to our expectations. Family run, there is a great attention to detail and the staff are attentive and helpful. We will return here next time we visit Killarney as it's one of our favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms and they have all been of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sookieloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    93
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
99
170
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here in Killarney with family and had a wonderful time. The family that runs this hotel/lodge could not have been lovelier. The location is perfect, with just a short walk into the town center. Our hosts made great suggestions for restaurants, activities/tours, etc…and were very happy to make the arrangements for us. The rooms were very roomy with comfy beds. Breakfast was included and quite delicious. I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomlovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely place, ideal location with only a short walk into town. We spent 3 nights at The Old Weir Lodge during our tour of Ireland. Friendly staff, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Daily breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. Highly recommend this lodge and the fun town of Killarney!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LisaJack1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Warm and friendly front desk staff. Family run and everyone welcoming and helpful. Clean large rooms. Nice breakfast. Very Close to town center which made it easy to walk in and enjoy the pubs and restaurants. This was our first trip to Ireland and we would definitely return here!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMSfacefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

At first you think it is a bit of a walk into town, but when you get there and see just how many people fill up Killarney during the summer, you will be glad you chose a place that is quiet and away from the crowds. This lodge is large enough to have allthe usual comforts, without feeling like a hotel. We only noticed how many other people were around during breakfast. The room we had was clean, spacious and modern, and the beds are comfortable. If you like walking, then it is a good way to walk off your dinner, otherwise it is only a short drive. The staff were excellent, from the warm welcome complete with irish humour, to the helpful driving tips at check out.

Room Tip: There is a lift, so most rooms seem accessible and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been to Killarney many, many times over the years and often, when driving out the Muckross Road commented on how nice 'The Old Weir Lodge' looked. This year when planning a trip to Killarney we finally booked it and were not disappointed.

Located within walking distance to Killarney town centre and all it has to offer, The Old Weir Lodge is a home away from home. We had a family room - even though there was only two of us in the room. The room was big, bright and spotlessly clean. Only gripe was the bathroom was very small. Our room, 119 faced the road which meant we were able to hear traffic noise during the night - this isn't the hotel's fault and to be honest, living just off a main road myself I'm used to noise at night time so it doesn't bother me. The beds were extremely comfortable. The Resident's bar is very comfortable and I loved the Bricin lounge where guests can just sit and read and relax. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious with extremely attentive staff

Will definitely be back and huge thanks is due to the O' Dononghue family for their hospitality

Room Tip: If you aren't used to properties near a main busy road and feel your sleep will be disturbed be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkmanufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Enjoyed 3 nights here which enabled us to do Ring of Kerry and the gap of Dunloe boat and jaunring car trip. Staff were all so helpful and breakfasts extensive and we'll presented. Great places to eat just up the road and into the main street. Would have enjoyed staying longer. Gave good advice on travel routes to drive to next stop so we did not miss key sights

Room Tip: Great base for local travel in the south west
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Property: Old Weir Lodge
Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing