We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Old Weir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Weir Lodge
Ranked #7 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

One night stay - 3 beds in the room for the 4 of us - perfect - decent room size, plenty of space. Walk in shower - good pressure! Very clean, comfortable and well decorated.
Breakfast was wonderful - freshly cooked to order dishes and a continental buffet.
Staff were attentive and welcoming - especially the manager at the reception - happy to help us with details of where to go and how to get there. By far the best hotel on our tour of UK & Ireland, Great value and when I return to Killarney I won't go anywhere else!

Hope they can improve on one small thing - laundry service - they have washing machines on sit but when we asked for a laundry in the late afternoon they said only downtown, so we had to wait until the next morning.
This did force us to use the launderette in the Tesco shopping mall in the town center and we met a wonderful lady running it.

If you want to experience true Irish hospitality - it's worth the while visiting Killarney

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chinacol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    100
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
106
180
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and my 7 week old daughter stayed here for the Ring of Kerry charity cycle on 4/5th July. We had a lovely stay. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower was amazing!!!! We got a very friendly welcome from who I think was the owners. Breakfast was lovely, lots of goodies to choose from and the waitresses were very friendly, especially Mora (I think that was her name!!) Who took our lil girl Elise to meet everyone. There's a very relaxed and chilled out atmosphere here and would totally recommend it to anyone who needs a nice place to stay with only 10min walk into the shops and restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andreasmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although its larger-than-expected size looked more like a "hotel" than a "B&B", Old Weir Lodge surpassed my expectations. The front desk staff was very efficient and helpful, and we later learned that this is a family operation. It showed through it unique, personal feel.

Our room and the in-room bathroom were both very spacious and clean. We enjoyed a view overlooking the main road and all the "jaunting cars" passing by. (It wasn't too loud at night, however.) The only complaint would be that the walls seemed a bit thin as we listened to an elderly lady loudly speaking at length to someone for a l-o-n-g time as we tried to doze off that night.

The breakfast was very good, with the best scones of any on our trip. The breakfast room is large, but very pretty and well-stocked with food.

I would recommend Old Weir Lodge for anyone visiting Killarney!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeHeartToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The title may give the wrong impression of this hotel. Having travelled and stayed in a lot of hotels this is was the nicest. Inside was immaculate, the decoration is well thought out and expensive. We stayed in a double room which was large and comfortable, our friends asked for a twin room which was even larger.
Breakfast was adequate with good Gluten Free options (even porridge). The staff were full of Irish charm.
The hotel is on a stretch of road which seems rather barren but a small walk brings you to the town centre. Full of pubs. eating places and life.

Room Tip: The rooms are vary large by uk standards. We stay at the corner at the front and found it very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Old Weir Lodge and, once again, it lived up to our expectations. Family run, there is a great attention to detail and the staff are attentive and helpful. We will return here next time we visit Killarney as it's one of our favourite places to stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms and they have all been of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sookieloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here in Killarney with family and had a wonderful time. The family that runs this hotel/lodge could not have been lovelier. The location is perfect, with just a short walk into the town center. Our hosts made great suggestions for restaurants, activities/tours, etc…and were very happy to make the arrangements for us. The rooms were very roomy with comfy beds. Breakfast was included and quite delicious. I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomlovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely place, ideal location with only a short walk into town. We spent 3 nights at The Old Weir Lodge during our tour of Ireland. Friendly staff, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Daily breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety. Highly recommend this lodge and the fun town of Killarney!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LisaJack1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,157 reviews
3.2 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Weir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Weir Lodge

Property: Old Weir Lodge
Address: Old Weir Lodge Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Weir Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent, luxurious, family-run 4 star (AA 5 Diamond) guesthouse 5 minutes walk from Town, on main road, towards National. Set in large landscaped garden. 30 large bedrooms, some with King or Queen sized beds, bath, power-showers, orthopedic beds, telephone, multi-channel TV, tea/coffee facilities, ice, hairdryers. 2 lounges, fresh flowers, private parking, home baking, traditional, vegetarian, coeliac breakfasts. Friendly staff, ground floor bedrooms, elevator. Drying room. Non-smoking guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Weir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing