We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I clan say is wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“All I clan say is wow”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights and loved each day more than the last all the staff was extremely friendly and Greeted us every place we went. The room itself was not overly small but a perfect size for what we needed. The room and bathroom was extremely clean one of the cleanest places we have ever bin. The tv gets limited channels but that is to be expected was the same when we went to inverness and edinborough . We brought our iPads loaded with stuff and have dish tv so were able to view our home channels there. The wifi is excellent all over the hotel but only secure in the bar/lobby in the room was unsecured but that is fine for what we needed. We ate some dinners and lunches in the bar and the food was amazing and the staff as so friendly chatting with us about everything. The location of the place was better than perfect, the train station was a 2 minute walk and to walk all around the main town was like 7 minutes down and back. Everything was so close and convent. Many other restaurants all around and grocery stores with in walking distances. Tesco and Dunns. Would not think of staying anywhere else when we go to Killarney again

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and there was no noise from the bar or anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of Murphys.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    83
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
102
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Murphy's Guesthouse is the perfect place to stay in Killarney. It is centrally located to shops and pubs, the room and bathroom were very clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast was plentiful. When we first arrived I was a little nervous because our room faced the street. But we had no issues whatsoever; the windows blocked out any noise. I wish I could remember the name of the lady who checked us in because she was awesome. Very polite and professional and gave us some great advice on picking the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Peninsula to drive around. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Murphy's,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Murphy's.

I am delighted to hear you have such a lovely stay with us here.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Loved our stay at Murphy's Guesthouse, Kilarney, Ireland. We had 6 people in our party, 3 separate rooms. They accommodated our stay, rooms were spacious, clean and warm. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts provided with our rooms. Being connected to the pub was a plus. Located in the middle of the city. A very busy, popular place to stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmurphy60543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Killarney,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Murphy's.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of Murphy's.

I hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My sister and I stayed at Murphy's on the advice of a relative who lives in Killarney. We were not disappointed! We were a day late thanks to construction at Newark Airport but they were able to fill the room the night we missed so we weren't charged. Like other reviewers, Maureen at the front desk was nothing but helpful. Our room and bathroom were spacious, quiet and clean. Great location. Breakfast was great (I would especially recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon) as was the night we ate in the bar. Our waitress, Kay, was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliswell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable time here with us. I have passed on your kind words to Kay who was delighted to hear what you had to say.

I hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichaels, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did not stay the night here. We were told by locals in the area it was a good place for dinner, but we did not think so. It's an alright place to have a drink or two, but we went back to another place to have dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishSunShine113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Killarney,

Thank you for your review of Murphy's. We are happy to hear any and all feedback from our customers.

May I ask what it was that you had for dinner? If this query was brought to the attention of our staff on the night we would have been able to resolve the issue for you.

I hope you will return to us in the not too distant future so we can welcome you back once again.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Staff (especially Maureen) was super helpful. Always eager to help us out. The location was perfect as it was very close to Ross castle and the national park. You are also really close to downtown Killarney without having the loud traffic or music at night. It was all around a great experience!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmeagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am very happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to Maureen who is very happy with your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed here for 2 nights and loved our stay. Great location made it easy to bus in and out of town and was close enough to walk to Ross Castle and through the park. Staff was fabulous- huge shout out to Maureen at the front desk who was kind and helpful every time we talked to her. Thanks for a great stay! Would absolutely recommend here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahlogan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Murphy's Accommodation.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to Maureen who was very happy with your wonderful words for her.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#43 of 140 in Killarney
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 140 in Killarney
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Property: Murphy's Guesthouse
Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing