We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God local pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“God local pub”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Comfortable accommodation and good value for money. Parking is not at the hotel but on the roadside and paid until 6pm a and Ned to move at 9 am in the morning or pay.
Great cooked breakfast.
Was in convenient location in the old part of town

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyB2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have our own car park as we are centrally located but we are close to many car parks.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    83
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
102
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

So, far this is the worst place we've stayed in Ireland, but we've stayed at some much nicer places. This is perfectly fine for a pull off the road place to stay for a night (which is exactly what we did), but I probably wouldn't want to stay here longer than that. The room was large, and largely quiet - even with the window open. There was no air conditioning so it was very hot in the room during this heat wave in Ireland. The location is right in the heart of town, but there is no parking - you must find street parking which can be difficult!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay and that it was what you were looking for. Although we do not have air conditioning we do have fans available in every room.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Murphy's guesthouse for two nights during our visit to Killarney. It was the perfect location with easy walking to all shops and pubs. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well apportioned. Could not ask for better accommodations during this leg of our trip. Each night we had drinks in their pub and the manager joined us each night to catch up on our day. Now that's service! We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirenia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Murphys,

Thank you very much for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and found all aspects of Murphys to be just what you were looking for.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at Murphy's Guesthouse for three nights. The rooms were nice size and clean. Our rooms faced another building and there was virtually not outside noise to contend with. As we initially drove into the city, we were concerned about the parking, but quickly found there are several parking lots in the area. The location is perfect! Lots of stores, fabulous restaurants and pubs! The breakfast was very good as well. We drove each day to visit the regional attractions and the traffic getting out of the area was a bit congested, but once out of the central part of town, all was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooksey280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights and loved each day more than the last all the staff was extremely friendly and Greeted us every place we went. The room itself was not overly small but a perfect size for what we needed. The room and bathroom was extremely clean one of the cleanest places we have ever bin. The tv gets limited channels but that is to be expected was the same when we went to inverness and edinborough . We brought our iPads loaded with stuff and have dish tv so were able to view our home channels there. The wifi is excellent all over the hotel but only secure in the bar/lobby in the room was unsecured but that is fine for what we needed. We ate some dinners and lunches in the bar and the food was amazing and the staff as so friendly chatting with us about everything. The location of the place was better than perfect, the train station was a 2 minute walk and to walk all around the main town was like 7 minutes down and back. Everything was so close and convent. Many other restaurants all around and grocery stores with in walking distances. Tesco and Dunns. Would not think of staying anywhere else when we go to Killarney again

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and there was no noise from the bar or anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrlogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of Murphys.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Murphy's Guesthouse is the perfect place to stay in Killarney. It is centrally located to shops and pubs, the room and bathroom were very clean, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast was plentiful. When we first arrived I was a little nervous because our room faced the street. But we had no issues whatsoever; the windows blocked out any noise. I wish I could remember the name of the lady who checked us in because she was awesome. Very polite and professional and gave us some great advice on picking the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Peninsula to drive around. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Murphy's,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Murphy's.

I am delighted to hear you have such a lovely stay with us here.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Loved our stay at Murphy's Guesthouse, Kilarney, Ireland. We had 6 people in our party, 3 separate rooms. They accommodated our stay, rooms were spacious, clean and warm. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts provided with our rooms. Being connected to the pub was a plus. Located in the middle of the city. A very busy, popular place to stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmurphy60543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Morning from Killarney,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Murphy's.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed every aspect of Murphy's.

I hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#42 of 140 in Killarney
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#34 of 140 in Killarney
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Property: Murphy's Guesthouse
Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing