We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stopped at this hotel for two nights in June,2014. The room had three beds lined up in a row with very little room to walk. It was very warm so we asked for a fan, which they did provide. The bathroom was extremely small with only a little shower stall to bathe. The lighting in the room was very dim. The hotel staff were very nice, but the room was too small, hot and drab to feel comfortable. Luckily we were too busy trying to see all of the nearby sights and only were in the room to sleep and spent very little time in it. The adjoining bar was very fun and had live music at night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 123456789customer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Good Morning from Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed Murphys Bar but I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to invite you back again in the not too distant future so we can redeem ourselves.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights for a family get together. Excellent location and parking was easy to find within waking distance of the guest house. The rooms were spotless and although no air con, each room had a fan. Rooms cleaned daily and good in the bar. Staff very friendly, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Good Morning Fiona,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review of Murphys Guesthouse.

I am delighted to hear you had such a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

this is a small hotel above a very nice pub. It is right in the middle of the town so very convenient. The rooms were clean and the breakfast very good. We asked for a front room to be able to see the street action. It was quiet even though there was a bikie festival on at the time.

Room Tip: We wanted a front room to be able to see the passing traffic. It was quiet after about midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you were happy with every aspect of Murphys.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great value for money with clean, quiet rooms tucked above and behind a great pub. The beds were comfortable and the Wifi worked well. The full Irish breakfast was above average. I would recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your delightful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

We hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Murphys of Killarney is a wonderful place to stay my family and I stayed there for my birthday and enjoyed the great hospitality as the breakfast is lovely and when I finished my breakfast the staff came out with a slice of birthday cake and sang happy birthday which I appreciated very much so I would highly recommend murphy's of Killarney

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Review233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and that you spent your birthday here with us in Murphys.

I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Good things: wonderful service (especially Maureen), modern rooms, elevator, fine living room, great breakfast off the menu in the pub. Negatives: parking is a pain, we had a room in the back but still had a fair amount of noise until about 11:15. The location worked for us because one couple needed to catch a train early in the morning, otherwise I would recommend that you find a place outside of the city on a quite street with good parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay although I am sorry to hear about the noise. As we are centrally located there can be a bit of noise but we can offer rooms at the back of the hotel as to avoid this.

I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Comfortable accommodation and good value for money. Parking is not at the hotel but on the roadside and paid until 6pm a and Ned to move at 9 am in the morning or pay.
Great cooked breakfast.
Was in convenient location in the old part of town

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyB2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not have our own car park as we are centrally located but we are close to many car parks.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#14 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Killarney Inn
Killarney Inn
#35 of 143 in Killarney
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#39 of 143 in Killarney
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copper Kettle B&B
Copper Kettle B&B
#106 of 143 in Killarney
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing