We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #36 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Irish vacation”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Good quality hotel, very large bedroom with comfy furniture . It was very hot when we visited and not having AC made the nights uncomfortable! It was very noisy on the street outside so sleep was often broken. Staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful! Food and drink excellent . Will return again to be sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donpino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Morning from all in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us.

We have been experiencing a heatwave so temperatures have been above average but there are fans available in every room.

I am looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    81
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
99
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at Murphy's for two nights last week. We happened to arrive in town at the tail end of a music festival and our GPS was having trouble finding the property so we ended up driving through town three times. Once we found it, we realized there was no parking specifically for the hotel. We called them and they advised to use the car-park across the street which was also packed due to the festival. The room was nice, not overly spacious or comfy, but acceptable. The bathroom was HUGE - with a tiny shower... we were a little surprised that witha bathroom of that size that the size of the shower was not comparable. We had a horrible view over a back alley, but on the plus side it was away from the noise of the pub downstairs.
My favorite part of Murphy's though was the pub downstairs. We stopped in for a few pints before turning in on our first night and out of all the pubs we drank in on our trip, this was the friendliest. The people were fantastic and we finally got to hear some traditional music as well. Being based in Killarney for two nights did make it easy to access the Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula as well.
Our rental car sustained some damage in the car-park so it was a good thing we had taken full coverage, but for anyone else traveling there, it is a little worrisome because the lot is not owned by the hotel and there are no cameras that we could find that could help in the event of damage to your vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Morning from all in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us here in Murphys.

As we are centrally located it is not possible for us to have our own car park unfortunately.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stopped at this hotel for two nights in June,2014. The room had three beds lined up in a row with very little room to walk. It was very warm so we asked for a fan, which they did provide. The bathroom was extremely small with only a little shower stall to bathe. The lighting in the room was very dim. The hotel staff were very nice, but the room was too small, hot and drab to feel comfortable. Luckily we were too busy trying to see all of the nearby sights and only were in the room to sleep and spent very little time in it. The adjoining bar was very fun and had live music at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456789customer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Good Morning from Murphys,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed Murphys Bar but I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I hope we will have the opportunity to invite you back again in the not too distant future so we can redeem ourselves.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights for a family get together. Excellent location and parking was easy to find within waking distance of the guest house. The rooms were spotless and although no air con, each room had a fan. Rooms cleaned daily and good in the bar. Staff very friendly, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good Morning Fiona,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review of Murphys Guesthouse.

I am delighted to hear you had such a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

this is a small hotel above a very nice pub. It is right in the middle of the town so very convenient. The rooms were clean and the breakfast very good. We asked for a front room to be able to see the street action. It was quiet even though there was a bikie festival on at the time.

Room Tip: We wanted a front room to be able to see the passing traffic. It was quiet after about midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you were happy with every aspect of Murphys.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great value for money with clean, quiet rooms tucked above and behind a great pub. The beds were comfortable and the Wifi worked well. The full Irish breakfast was above average. I would recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your delightful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

We hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Murphys of Killarney is a wonderful place to stay my family and I stayed there for my birthday and enjoyed the great hospitality as the breakfast is lovely and when I finished my breakfast the staff came out with a slice of birthday cake and sang happy birthday which I appreciated very much so I would highly recommend murphy's of Killarney

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us and that you spent your birthday here with us in Murphys.

I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#19 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
Dan Linehan's Bar & B&B
#54 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foley's Townhouse and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Property: Murphy's Guesthouse
Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing