We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Apartments”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Apartments”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It was like home away from home. The apartment are absolutely beautiful. So nicely designed. They (the Hotel) had milk in the fridge for us, Fresh brown bakery bread, and mini cereal boxes for us for breakfast.

Beautiful place to stay, had dinner in the Brehon hotel next door to apartment again beautiful. Will be back. Thank you Gleneagle.

Room Tip: Only negative is taxi are very expensive in Killarney as it depends on tourism so much....but you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nualamfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We would like to thank these customers for their positive review on their recent visit to our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. It is always appreciated when people take the time to share their positive feedback and to highlight the good experiences they encountered.

I would like to mention also that the Gleneagle provides a Shuttle Bus service from the Hotel (and from the Apartments on request) to and from town and the Train & Bus station on a daily basis. There is a small fee of €2 each way, cheaper than taking a taxi. It also does a daily trip to Muckross House and Gardens and a return collection.

We certainly hope these customers continue to enjoy their holidays at the Gleneagle and should they wish to contact us with any enquiries to please feel free prior to their next visit.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    357
    165
    124
    122
See reviews for
416
393
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I also stayed in the Glenagle on Sat 21st Jan and attended to Dara O'Brian gig.

On the plus side:
1. The staff on reception were very polite and checking in was easy.
2. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the lifts were working for the duration of our stay.
3. The room was quite basic but it was spotlessly clean and the beds were very
comfortable - no tatty bed linen or towels. The kettle and crockery were also clean. 4. A great advantage was not having to leave the building to attend the gig. You could also
buy a paper in the on site shop.

Now the negatives:
1. When we checked in we had the option to order dinner and pre pay for it (€20.00
instead of €25.00). This was a great error. Fair enough we booked for 6.30PM and
then changed our mind and rebooked for 7.00PM, (and this was not a problem
but the service in the restaurant was very bad. The staff appeared to be responsible for
their own area and the service in our area was well below par! We arrived at 7.00 and
waited for about 15 mins before the waitress came to our table. She took our order for
all three courses and it took about another 10 - 15 mins for our starters to arrive, then
approx 30 more mins before the main course was served. At 8.10 we were still waiting
for dessert and I had to fore go coffee or else we would have missed the beginning of the
show! Luckily we had prepaid because on 4 seperate occasions in the space of a few mins
the waitress had to go fetch bills for people and then go back with payment (don't know
where she went). She didn't have an "eye in her head" and basically she started off at one
table and worked her way around her section table by table and not noticing when people
were ready to move on to the next courese. The service was just too slow and the
waitress really should have tried to smile (even once). The food was below average - veg
undercooked and tasteless, the gravy tasted very salty and there was more stuffing on
the plate and not alot of lamb.
2. The walls of the room were very thin and you could see the light comming in under
the door.
3. I was a bit disappointed that there was no iron in the room. Could have got one with a
deposit of €20.00 but it seemed too much hassle!

All in all though we enjoyed our stay and breakfast was a lovely surprise on Sunday morning. This time the food was good, pleanty of choice, and the service was excellent except that we waited about 10 mins for to be asked "tea or coffee"?
We'll be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TipperaryRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guests

In response to this review I just wish to say Thank You to these customers for their very fair and honest comments. The Hotel is excellent in so many ways and is fantastic when attending a show or concert as it all happens under one roof here and it disappoints us when we fall down in some areas on accasion.

I am very disappointed however that the service was not as to the standard it should have been in the Flesk Restaurant and I have shared all these comments, with both the General Manager and the Food Service Manager and we have since had one our Team Briefings with all the service staff in the Restaurant highlighting these comments.
The General Manager has also discussed with the Head Chef the comments and feedback on the food and the presentation.

I am glad that the Breakfast was a more enjoyable dining experience and I wish to thank these customers for their honest and genuine feedback on the service and overall experience.

We hope that your next visit will be a more memorable one and we’ll see a more positive review in the future from this customer.


Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Cork
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed last night, 21st January 2012 with my sister as we were going to see Dara O Briain's gig in the INEC. The hotel was so busy, but we had a smooth check-in and asked if there was any bar food. The OD's was still open (at 6.30pm) and we had a lovely tea and very reasonable. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. The gig was starting at 8.30pm and was finished at 11.15pm. The staff at the INEC were very attentive and helpful also. After the gig, we went to the Green Room for a few drinks before bed and there was a good atmosphere with an singer singing Michael Bublé songs. The breakfast was lovely. We went down for breakfast at 8.30am, and there was plenty of choice of tables and things to eat, a buffet style breakfast. The Irish breakfast was served by a chef and everything was checked by the waiters and waitresses to ensure that nothing ran out. The bedroom was lovely and comfortable, the only complaint that the walls are quite thin and we could here the people next to us. Would definitely recommend the Gleneagle. Staying again in August 2012.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniebannie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
On behalf of all the Management & Staff here at the Gleneagle I would like to thank this Trip Advisor Member for taking the time to express such heartfelt gratitude on their visit with us, this is what the Gleneagle is all about.

It is very much appreciated and as sometimes people sadly just tend to post negative comments on this Trip Advisor Forum which not only gives a bad impression to other guests but is also very disappointing to read.

We here in the Gleneagle monitor Trip Advisor closely and welcome all forms of feedback and certainly action any comments that are relevant and genuine.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future. If I maybe of any assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Thank You....

Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I don't know which hotel they have pictures of on their website but it certainly wasn't the same one we stayed at last night. The hotel was a joke from the start. We had to park half a mile away from the hotel, once we entered the hotel we were greeted with a ladbrokes betting office in the lobby and a whole bunch of dirty 'vibrating/massaging' leather armchairs that you had to put a euro coin in to operate. They looked like something out of a sex den. There were vending machines everywhere and needless to say there were crisp packets and sweet wrappers strewn around the floors. It took quite a while to actually find the reception area as we had to make our way through what looked like a ramshackle abandoned shopping centre. When we finally made it to reception we were handed our keys and given directions to what we thought would be our lovely double room with a view...

After walking up 5 flights of dirty stairs, we reached our room. It had two single beds and a double bed. It looked like something you would pay twenty quid for in a dodgy hostel. Dirty carpets, torn and tatty blue and white bed sheets, patches of damp and mould on the walls and ceiling, stains on the carpets, dirty curtains and a wonderful view of the back doors of the bar. The bathroom was plain nasty, with chipped tiles and a stained bathmat in the bath that looked like it was at least 20 years past its prime. There were tea and coffee making facilities alright, although that would have meant using the dirtiest looking travel kettle I have ever seen, the spout of it was totally full of limescale and I had to chip it out to attepmt to fill it with bathroom water.
We obviously thought we had been given the wrong room, so headed straight back down to reception where we were told that there was 'nothing that could be done', it was the only room available. Now, we had booked this well in advance and shown up at the exact check in time. If the double rooms were booked out they really should have notified us when we booked and we would have looked elsewhere. Even if people had arrived before us, they really should have kept the room we booked and ad paid for for us and not just decided to fob us off with a different room.
Deciding to make the most of it and not let this ruin our trip, we went check out the Aquila club facilities. First off, there was a sign saying the bubbles weren't working in the jaccuzzi so that was out, the pool was packed with children, the squash courts and gym honestly looked like they had seen their best days come and go over a decade ago and had a queue of about a dozen people waiting for each. After a wander around we decided to leave it off and get a bite to eat instead. It was much handier to stroll across the carpark to The Brehon as we were just getting sick of it at this stage. The food in the Brehon was a dream with lovely, friendly, competant staff and excellent service.
That night we may as well have not bothered going to bed as we were up all night from the noise of the disco going on in the bar outside the window. We attempted breakfast but the service was horrible and the food was just as bad. We went back to the Brehon for coffee. I really wouldn't reccommend it. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skablacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the fact that these customers had such negative feedback on their recent stay with us and that they found the Hotel to be so disappointing. And it saddens us that people use Trip Advisor to try and portray a poor overall image of the Hotel.

Considering the level of customers that visit our hotel and a Customer Satisfaction rating of 90% it is very surprising for us to see a review so negative.

It is obvious that that perhaps our sister Hotel the Brehon next door may have been more suited to this customer’s needs and requirements as it is a Deluxe 4star Hotel.

I would like to say in defense of our Hotel I wish to comment on some issues raised. We are located a mile & half from town and are fortunate to have probably one of the largest hotel car parks in Kerry that is may I add free of charge.

I assume from this review that the customers parked in the furthest place from the hotel and walked through the whole car park and entered the Hotel from the rear doors.

Last weekend in the Gleneagle we were hosting the Munster Snooker Championships, Ladbrokes being a sponsor had in fact a betting office set up in the hotel and is not a permanent facility in the Hotel. It is purely to cater for the customers that attend this event.

We also do not have vending machines in the hotel and do not even sell crisps in the hotel and the 2 back leather massage chairs are there for customers use many of whom actually find them very relaxing and enjoyable.

We have 3 Lifts that service each floor of the Hotel therefore it surprises me that these customers walked up the flights of stairs. I am sorry we were not able to offer another room and that these customers felt the room was not to their standard however the Rooms are by no means dirty.

I can fully understand some people’s frustration and I wish to apologise once again for the fact that they did not enjoy their stay with us. However had these customers made themselves known to us while they were here and asked to speak to a Manager on Duty or myself we would have appreciated having a discussion with them and we could have certainly tried to accommodate their needs in our sister hotel the Brehon Hotel where I know they would have been much happier.

Should they wish to contact me personally in the future I will gladly handle their reservation details and ensure a more positive experience is had next time.

With Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding party, it was an okay place to stay. It was reasonably priced, a little bit far from the town though, nice view, breakfast was good. Comfortable enough sleep, bathroom was a bit tired but I only stayed two nights and did not mind as the place was clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
I would like to acknowledge this Trip Advisor members comments in relation to their stay last October.

The apartments are very comfortable and we get a lot of praise about them and the fact that they offer use of the leisure centre and nightly entertainment is an added bonus. They are very popular with families and I would like to point out that we are only about a mile & a half from the town centre and we have a shuttle bus that runs regularly in & out of town during the day which the Apartment guests can avail of also.

We hope to see these customers return in the future and avail of all the facilities and service the Gleneagle has to offer.
Kind Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork city ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed there early new year and the apartments which are part of the gleneagle hotel are located behind the Brehon hotel which is next to the Gleneagle hotel, The apartment had 2 bedrooms,one with 3 single beds, and the master bedroom had a double and a single bed and was ensuite,.
The lounge /kitchen area was nice and the kitchen was very well kitted out with everything you would need for a self catering stay, There was fresh milk in the fridge on arrival and butter and jam was provided along with a loaf of brown bread .

There was a large main bathroom with a bath/shower, overall we were impressed with the apartments,you can use the Gleneagle hotels swimming pool free of charge and they rent towels at €1 each
The facilities in the changing rooms are pretty poor and was quite cold and dirty , the 3 showers in the mens area didnt work very well and seem to be years old,the water was quite cold in the showers in both the mens and ladies shower room,
When we complained about us and our children having to have cold showers they said a boiler was broken, No apologies, A sign up on the entrance to say there was no hot water for the showers wouldnt have been too much trouble we thought, after we had complained there were other guests going in to the pool and no member of staff bothered to inform them that they would be having cold showers
Inside the entrance to the mens changing rooms is also a changing area , off of which is a door to a plant/machinery room which was unlocked and open , It seems that no money has been spent on the changing room or showers in a long number of years and i would say to check out the place before you decide to use it as i think its not fair on young children to have to have cold showers, The lifeguard left the pool while we were swimming and his place was taken by a staff member who was on crutches and his leg was in a cast, not exactly what you want to see when the pool is busy i would suggest
I would recomend the hotels apartments but i wont be bringing my children back to the swimming pool under any circumstances

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenrickfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member
In response to this review I would like to agree that the apartments are pretty impressive and comfortable for a family and we get a lot of praise and thanks from many of our customers that stay in them.
I have investigated fully the comments in relation to the leisure centre and discussed in detail with both the General Manager & the Aquila Club Manager. We have checked back on our records for the dates of this customers stay and our records do however show that the pool temperature had dropped ( which can happen in any pool ) However after getting a complaint from a family a pool attendant went immediately to check the boilers and noticed temps of showers were in fact gone down. This was immediately looked into and rectified. This issue was not highlighted as it was resolved and showers back up to normal temps pretty quickly.
This was the only reason the plant room door was open and I can assure is always kept locked. While the Pool Attendant was down in plant room a Supervisor from the Leisure Centre took over. This member of staff is in fact fully certified to be on the deck supervising the swimming pool and contrary to the complaint does not have his leg in a “cast”. The crutches are a result of a slight disability and the Gleneagle Group always ensure to give equal employment opportunities to all people with disabilities.

In relation to the changing rooms being dirty, we also checked back our changing room cleaning sheets (Jan 2nd & 3rd) and they were cleaned every hour by the staff on duty. It was not brought to any member of staff’s attention that the changing rooms were dirty at any stage.

I wish to offer sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused on this day due to the issue with the water. I know that in an ideal world these things do not happen however due to circumstances out of our control sometimes incidents such as the above mentioned can happen however we have a large team always on hand to assist and rectify any problems that may arise.

I would hope that this customer can see that we did our best in the situation and that they can not rule out giving the Gleneagle Aquila Club a second chance in the future should they decide to return to our lovely apartments.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

we had a 2 night break in the gleneagle.we had such a relaxing time.the staff were friendly and efficient.the family room was spacious and spotless;the food was lovely,and the kids loved the pool and teen zone. we will definately return.entertainment at night was great.cork family

Room Tip: if you are travelling with your family choose the family suite because it is really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thereseryanobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing