We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Catering Break was great!”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We are just back from a lovely family break in the Glen Eagle Apts. We had never been away on a family break with our four and one and half year old, we were very nervous. Thankfully the glen eagle hit the spot. Self catering with two young children was ideal. The apartment facilities were great. The pool was safe, clean and great entertainment for the children. There was a good mix of young and old guests. The green room mid week entertainment was great for the kids. A safe place for parents to have a drink and kids to play without getting in the older generations way!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Una K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Guests,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first Family Holiday in our self catering apartments. It’s always nervous going away for the first time especially with little kiddies so young.

We are happy that your family got to experience the Gleneagle and what we have to offer and more so that you all had a great time. Hopefully this is the start of many more happy family holidays together.

Please feel free to contact us should you decide to return in the future and many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor. Much appreciated from all the Management & Staff.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for Gleneagle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Small family room and very dated. Didnt enjou it at all. double room which my parents had was larger. breakfast was mental with bus loads. blankets and bed wear not nice. Asked in reception if all rooms were the same and were told yes. lot of noise in cortidor also.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocopops1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Guests

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay, I’m not sure what room you were in, if it was a double with a single bed or a Family room with a double and 2 single beds. There is a difference in the size of some rooms and the Family rooms are larger than the double +single rooms.

We also have some Family Suite rooms with are larger and have a separate room with bunk beds for the children however there is a supplement on these rooms per night.

Perhaps what would be more suited to your family would be one of the Self Catering Apartments located just 2 – 3 minutes walk from the hotel (next to the Pitch n Putt course & tennis courts). They are a lot more spacious and you still have full use of the facilities of the hotel & should not wish to cook you can also avail of breakfast or dinner in the hotel or in our sister hotel, the Brehon just next to the Apartments.

Maybe this could be an option for the future for your family. Please contact me should you require more details on this.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have stayed at the Gleneagle Hotel many times with friends and family. The latest was on 17-19 August 2012 to see Daniel O'Donnel. The INEC is a terrific theatre. It was fully booked out for the 5 nights he was on. i have been on 2 Pitch and Putt weekends and have seen Cliff Richard and the Shadows. This hotel suits an older Clientele and young families. An old fashioned hotel with wonderful staff. There is a great air of efficency and I can't reccomend it highly enough. A special thanks to Martin the Entertainment Manager

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent visit as much as previous ones, it is very fair to say that the hotel is old fashioned in some ways but with the amazing team we have, that’s what people love!!!!

Thank you for your time and very honest comments, Martin was particularly delighted (P.S. he’s not the Entertainment Manager he is the Deputy Manager) he got a great kick out of that comment.

Hope you continue to enjoy coming to visit us and if we can ever be of assistance please just ask.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

It was across between an old folks home and a gaming arcade.......The pool was lovely but that was it..It is a very dated hotel..Carpets are from the sixties, very shabby and worn and in desperate need of an all over make over...we stayed in a family room and my 5 year olds bed was terrible,,when I pulled back the sheets for him to get in there was loads of white tissue in the bed that must have been put through the wash so the next morning I pulled out the bed and sheets so the clearner would change them but when we got back to the room the bed was made up and they put the same sheets back on with all the tissue still all over the bed...we went for breakfast at 9 am and had to queue for it...I have never seen this anywhere before...I will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it to anyone....

Room Tip: Choose a room out front for the lovely views
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nichola e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I am truly sorry that this is the impression you have of the Gleneagle Hotel and that you did not have a positive experience or that you did not request to speak with a Manager or myself during your stay.

The Hotel itself is old however it is very clean and we have commenced with our refurbishment programme of some of the bedrooms area and have long term plans to continue this.

We have recently just completed the refurbishment in the Lobby area and the carpet was only fitted last year in the entire Lobby area which we find bright & attractive.

I will pass on your comments to the Accommodation Manager in relation to the tissue in the child’s bed and I can only apologise for this happening.

I am disappointed that you will never wish to say here again but maybe our sister hotel the Brehon maybe an option for you or the very spacious Riverside Apartments that are fantastic for families.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Myself and ten other women (family and friends) stayed here on the weekend of the 17th aug 12...for the Daniel O Donnell show.. we also went to the Garth Brooks experience show on the sat night and it was excellent. Cannot fault the hotel/staff or facilities in any way. we would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the locality, Already looking forward to our next stay there

ELIZABETH FANNING, DUBLIN

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guests

Many thanks for posting this lovely review following your stay last weekend. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent experience and I trust you all thoroughly enjoyed the Daniel O’Donnell Concert as everybody that attended had nothing but praise for the show.

We very much appreciate your feedback and the very positive comments about the Staff & hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Spent 6 nights in the Gleaneagle Apartments last week (2 adults and 3 kids age 10, 8 and 10 months) Had to postpone our arrival by a night but they kindly added the night to the end which was great. Apartment was well equipped, clean and had plenty of beds - 3 singles in one room and a single and double in other room. There was a large bathroom and en suite in the 3 bedded room. The apartment was cleaned twice during our stay which was a very pleasant surprise as last year we had stayed in Cork in a similar set up but cleaning cost extra. The hotel itself had plenty on while we were there. The kids club was great - swimming was a great hit and it was good that we didnt have to bring them into the pool:-) We ate in the Flesk restaurant one night and the service was fantastic, the food was also great. On another occasion we ate in the Back Stage bar - again service and food was great. I would definitely recommend the aparments for a family holiday. Now, if only they could guarantee good weather...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grainne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your review on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments and delighted that we had the availability to extend you stay the extra night due to you having to postpone the first night, lucky we had the availability…

It is always a pleasure to receive customer’s positive feedback and we are so happy that your children got to make use of and enjoy the facilities we have here. Thank you for your comments in relation to the Restaurant & Bars and the staff also, it will be shared with the team and they will be most grateful to you for taking the time to post your feedback on your experience.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and should you require any assistance in future please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed in Gleneagle on 14 August while going to Daniel O Donnell in the INEC, Arrived from Monaghan around 2.00 pm was told to come back after 4.00 and room would be available
came back around 4 30 checked in.Room was very "dated" very small bathroom ,Not a great
advertisment for foreign visitors,Staff very ignorant Will not stay there again,

Room Tip: Do not have one.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Guests,

In response to this review I would like to point out that we are not a 4 Star hotel and never claim to be we are a very proud 3 Star hotel and offer some fantastic facilities and entertainment all year round.

I would like to apologise for your room not being ready at 2pm, however our check in time is officially from 4pm due to the fact that we have so many rooms and such a huge turnover everyday. Checkout time is at 12pm for all customers in the hotel therefore if people keep their room till this time it takes time to get all the rooms turned around and cleaned again for the new awaiting guests.

I am sorry you felt the staff were ignorant however this is not something we hear very often , in actual fact it is the opposite, the staff are the most complemented staff and receive so much praise and thanks from customers, I am very surprised to hear that you found them ignorant.

It is always disappointing to receive negative feedback however we understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion and we are sorry to hear you will not return. Perhaps our sister hotel next door which is a 4 Star Deluxe hotel may be more suited to your personal requirements.


Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £86 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing