We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special occasion”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Special occasion”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Yet again an outstanding stay at The Gleneagle Hotel! Returned for our 1st year wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed! Up-graded to a beautiful suite as it was a special occasion and received a lovely bottle of red wine and chocolates as a gift from the hotel. Booked for dinner and were greeted by name in the dining room and really made feel welcome. Maura in the dining room is an amazing host and worth her weight in gold. She is so friendly and professional and you can see how well she works with and is respected by the other staff. The meal was 5* and service excellent.
We were joined by some family for drinks after dinner and had a lovely evening in the bar. Alex the night porter was brilliant at the end of the night ordering taxi's for our family and very friendly and polite.
A big Thanks to Liam Keeley again as he went above and beyond to make this occasion very special for us. And a special thanks to all the staff especially in the dining room who made our evening one to remember!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We are delighted you took the time to post this wonderful review on Trip Advisor we are always delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 1st Anniversary we all remember well your Wedding last year and what a huge event it was and such a success.

Thank you for highlighting also Maura, Alex, the dining room staff & Mr. Kealy
(Our wedding expert) they are over the moon that you gave them a personal mention and highly deserve it.

We wish you every happiness for your next year of Married Life and hope to see you back next year to remember those special moments of your wedding day.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    369
    171
    128
    124
See reviews for
446
403
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Fabulous place to stay and eat. Lovely staff and great music to dance to in the ballroom for the four nights I was there (Monday to Friday of last Week). Just found the 8 o'clock sitting for breakfast a bit too early for me while on holidays, but I understand they have to do this every other day so everyone gets a share of the 9 sitting! Room was spotless and made up daily. Will definitely go back next year, God willing. Chris

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Chris

Just want to say a huge Thank You for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. We are very grateful and delighted you enjoyed yourself so much. The staff is thrilled with the mention and we look forward to having you come visit us again next year.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

In Ireland on our honeymoon,room was a gift, when we got there the room wasn't ready, ok so we went for something to eat at the backstage bar, good food actually.
went back to reception 50 min later room still not ready, this was 3:10 pm, eventually we got our room only to be greeted by the cleaners finishing their works, i wanted to leave straight away and stay somewhere else, but i stayed.
Our room door then was open FOUR times by staff that evening once to drop off the tea spoons they had forgotten to place earlier
Checking out was the best part of our stay
Room was dirty, reception staff were rude and unhelpful, breakfast was only ok, Rant over

Growing up in Ireland the Gleneagle always had a good name from people around from where i lived i was disappointed by the actual experience i had

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very disappointed at having read your review and that you were unable to find one positive comment about or Hotel. It was never brought to our attention at any stage that you were on Honeymoon and we are let down that we were not given the opportunity to offer you both a more memorable experience or the chance to discuss these issues with you during your stay had you made us aware.

We always go out of our way to make a small change a big difference and perhaps had you made this known to us you would have had a much more positive experience on such a special occasion. I wish to apologise for the fact that you felt so let down by the team on this occasion.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I organized a group of 30 people this September 2013. We have being regular visitors over the years. I would strongly recommend the Gleneagle Hotel for a visit. The improvements that have being carried out are excellent. The entertainment this was brilliant there is certainly plenty to do there. A lot of the rooms have being redecorated and the newly decorated Reception area is really lovely. I have being dealing with Ann McCann Front Office Manager for years and she can really not do enough to help. Anne is always on hand to assist in what ever you need. All the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant no matter what you want. The only down side is the disabled access to the bar and restaurant during the day and early evening. The access is plenty of steps and can be a problem for anyone with a walking frame or wheelchair.
I would strongly recommend the hotel neither to couples family or groups.
The pool and gym are excellent and they also have a very good pitch & putt course.
If you are looking for good value for your money The Gleneagle is the place to go

Room Tip: ask for the rooms over looking the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you have such amazing feedback on the Gleneagle and more so of the fact that you have been such a loyal customer for many years. Thank you so much for organising the group of 30 people to come stay with us also and we hope they all thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Ann the Front Office Manager is delighted with her personal mention and as you know only too well has been here for many years and does an outstanding job and is well loved by many customers over the years so thank you for highlighting her, it’s well deserved.

We hope we continue to be the best that can to that all our guests and that we get to have you visit us in the very near future also.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Gleneagle is a great place to base yourself for a trip to Killarney or for travelling through Kerry. It location makes it perfect for walking to the town centre and enjoying all that Killarney has to offer. Alternatively if you feel like exploring the amazing sights of the Ring Of Kerry, Kenmare or Killorglin you are easily within a short drive away.

The staff at the hotel were excellent, always polite and helpful, especially the Guest Relations Manager Caroline, who was never short of tips, advise and places to go that you just don't see in any guidebook. Local knowledge is always priceless when it comes to travelling!

I have stayed here before a few years ago and I was very impressed to see the makeover that has been carried out by the hotel. The lobby and reception are much brighter and feel very welcoming from the start.

The hotel offers a great (and cheap!) shuttle bus service that can not only pick you up from the train station but can also bring you to all the town centre once you have checked in which is real bonus.

I couldn't complain with the quality of the room; spotlessly clean, comfortable and plenty of space.

Overall, I was very impressed with the whole package and I look forward to going back to the Gleneagle for my next trip to Killarney!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Mc_Cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read this review and wish to say a special Thanks to you for such positive feedback and comments and indeed the personal mention.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your visiting in the local and surrounding areas and hope you got to visit some of those places I recommended off the beaten track.

We are here to please and to do our utmost for the customer, so it’s lovely to get this positive feedback and I will share with all the team, who will all be very proud.

Thanks Again and Much Appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. We stayed in the Apartments. We did not get the specially designed rooms for wheelchair users but the apartment we stayed in was perfect. Except for the fact I couldn't use the shower but I didn't mind. The apartments were massive. We had 2 double beds and two single bed in two rooms. We had two bathrooms and a utility room. There was cereal,bread,milk,tea & coffee in the apartment kitchen which is great. The apartment is afew mins walk from the hotel but its fine. The hotel is very clean. One of my only faults with this place is the main restaurant is not wheelchair accessible so we sent a staff member up to order it the staff were helpful with this. We ended up eating in a empty bar downstairs. It was that or the corridor. Its the same with the bar the wheelchair accessible one didn't open til half 10. We ate here both days cause the food was lovely. Very quick, good value and very yummy. The kids got free admission into the swimming pool. Very handy. There was great entertainment here and good atmosphere. Its a 20 min walk into the town centre or a 2min drive. I would recommend this hotel to people and if theres afew of ye I would def recommend the apartments. There great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamR325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guests

I would like to thank you for your very genuine review on your recent visit.

Our main restaurant is in fact wheelchair friendly however happened to be closed on your chosen dates, this is not always the case and it is very seldom we actually close this restaurant purely for the reason you state in your review. It is just very unfortunate that it happened while you were here and I wish to apoligise for this.

I am delighted however that you still got to dine with us and that you found the food to be lovely and yummy as you mention and that you got to enjoy the entertainment and the great atmosphere that comes with the Gleneagle.

We hope you decide to return in the near future and should you have the opportunity to do so please enquire about our Wheelchair friendly Apartments that would help make your stay even more comfortable.


Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My friends & I had the pleasure of staying in these fantastically huge 2bedroom/2bathroom apartments. The apartments have all you need to enjoy a self catering stay. The kitchen/dining/lounge area was spacious and comfortable. The bedrooms were also big and the bathrooms great. The main bathroom also included a bath tub. Parking was available outside the apartment block and there was also a lift. The staff were friendly and helpful. My friends and I could not believe our luck at finding these apartments - we booked online and got an amazing rate. The photos on the website DO NOT do justice to the size/spaciousness of these apartments.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntersnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comments on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing