We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed in these apartments recently and must say they were faultless. They are very nicely laid out and suitable for families. They have two bathrooms and excellent facilities, ie. washing machine, dryer, hairdryer etc. The kitchen is well equipped and they had left a welcome pack of bread, milk and cereal there which would have been ideal if travelling with young children. The apartments were spotlessly clean and comfortably warm. The only niggle is that check out time is 10 am (compared to 12 in the hotel). The apartment was not ready when I arrived and I did not get it until around 4pm so early check out was a bit annoying. I was there on business on this occasion but would like to return with the family at some stage. The apartments were also very quiet as they are away from the main hotel and the main road. I found them very good value as well.

Room Tip: Excellent breakfast in the Brehon next door for €10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoosyTraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive review on their recent visit to our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. The Apartments are fantastic for families are fully equipped with everything you need along with the added bonus of having full use of the facilities here in the Hotel and the nightly entertainment.

I fully understand your small complaint about the check out time being at 10am however the Apartments are so much larger and take a lot loner to clean and prepare for the next customer, it is for this reason we have to have an earlier check out time as families tend to arrive a lot earlier and we try our best to have them ready as early as possible and if they are ready we are happy to issue the keys immediately. It was unfortunate we were unable to accommodate you earlier on this occasion.

Please feel free to contact us in advance of your next visit and we will do our best to get you an Apartment that will be serviced first.

With Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    362
    168
    126
    123
See reviews for
428
400
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We enjoyed an amazing week in Killarney recently augmented by an equally enjoyable stay in the Gleneagle Hotel.The accomodation was excellent, the food amazing and the staff both courtious and efficient. The night entertainment was plentiful and very good at times. We travelled Dingle, The Ring etc but needn't have stirred outside the hotel it was such a hive of activity. Both myself and my partner Maureen enjoyed our visit and plan to return to capture more of the magic that's the Kingdom. Well done all-good job.

Room Tip: Try and get some exercise by going into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelowfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guests

We are very pleased to read your very complementary review on your recent visit. We always do our best to make our Guests feel as welcome and comfortable as possible.

It is so nice when people take a little time out their busy lifestyles to share their positive experiences with on Trip Advisor, it is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear you got to explore and discover the surroundings of Killarney on the Ring of Kerry & Dingle, both are great days out and not to missed when visiting Killarney.

There is so much more on offer also so please be sure to contact me on your next visit and I will be delighted to assist with some more options and information on places to visit for your next trip.

Thanking you most sincerely

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Spidéal, Gaillimh, Éire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I went to Kerry to climb Corrán Tuathail. I go climbing with a friend from Dublin and as I had little time to have a proper look at what was on offer in the area I simply booked a room in the hotel in which he and his family would be staying - the Gleneagle. If only I had taken the time to read some of the reviews posted here before before booking - the Gleneagle ranks a lowly 34 from 39 hotels in the area. It is quite a big hotel. Bits have been added to it over the years. The view from the bedrooms at the back of the hotel is a sea of roofs of all shapes and sizes. This is clearly a hotel which has evelved to cater for conferences and events, and busloads of passing tourists, especially. Don't expect to get a warm welcome, or be asked if you've enjoyed your stay. The staff seemed efficient enough, but were not particularly friendly. But attitude reflects leadership and the owners of this hotel do not appreciate the needs of individual guests. The decor is very dated. It was reasonably clean other than the odd vomit stain encountered here and there - they were hosting a darts competition on this particular w/end. The bed was comfortable and I had gotten used to the sound of whirring fans outside my bedroom window by the 2nd night. We had breakfast at the hotel on the 1st morning, but as it was lukewarm and barely edible, we ate all our meals in the town thereafter. It is not the hotel in Killarney to stay in if you're looking for comfortable modern surroundings and/or an intimate atmosphere, good food, friendly and welcoming staff etc. In that regard this is a hotel that has got a mountain to climb.

Room Tip: An extra 10 per person for a room with a balcony to the front may be worth it, if you don't fanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac_Dara_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Brill stay for mid term, Ita was brill with the kids at club. Captain Jack show was fab as well. Def be back again. Kids well catered for. :-) food excellent no need for leaving hotel. Lovely rooms plenty of towels. Everyone need catered for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernwood71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for writing this wonderful review on your recent visit over mid term with us.
Your comments have been shared with all the team and I know the staff at the Kids Club and Ita are overjoyed as it is always nice to receive some praise and a personal mention and it is well deserved.

We hope you decide to visit us soon again and continue to enjoy some quality family time together here at the Gleneagle.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

just returned from a wonderful week at a first class hotel. from day one we were treated so well,the bedroom was outstanding in design and view, the food was 5 star as were the staff. the entertainment was first class. if you want a excellent hotel please stay at the gleneagles hotel you will not be disappointed. i will return in the near future.
,

Room Tip: stay in the mountain view bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lardyboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us in August this year and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay as I see you did in March this year also.

It is so nice when people take the time to share their positive comments and the great experience they had with us on this forum and we are very grateful to you.

Looking forward to your return,

Many Thanks from all the Staff here at the Gleneagle.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel and it was first class. The standard of service was excellent and the staff were always helpful. The room and hotel was always clean. Would return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this lovely short but sweet review. We are delighted you had such positive feedback and just hope that you choose to return in the near future to us.

With Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. There are 5 in my family so we got a family room. It had a lovely bathroom and good interior designing. They have excellent facilities including leisure facilities, a shuttle bus to go to the town, many restaurants and even a shop! We forgot our toothpaste so this came in handy. They also have a salon but my family didn't use this. Overall it is a great hotel and I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killarney_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to the Gleneagle, and for highlighting your positive experience. As many guests tell us we have “everything under the one roof” and that it’s like Home from Home staying here.

We hope you don’t leave it too long before your next visit and should I be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in asking.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing