We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at the Gleneagle Hotel. As usual it was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. There is always something for everyone on at the hotel. We were attending an INDO event and were lucky enough to be there when Audi were exhibiting their new range of cars. We also got a cooking demonstration from Rachel Allen and there was also a rally on...So plenty to keep the kids occupied.The family room had additional bedroom with bunks and a sitting room with TV. Went down a treat as the kids got to watch what they wanted as did I. :-) It was also situated to the rear of the hotel and noise was at its minimum.
Our only disappointment was that the kids were unable to use the pool without a parent entering the water with them. Apparently this is a new rule by health and safety. As i don't swim they were not allowed go in alone as they were under 16, even though they are both good swimmers. The Manager Martin explained to me that it was not them that enforced this rule but health and safety. It was just disappointing for the boys and it was not stated on booking or in the hotel welcome book.
Other that that everything was outstanding as always. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doylert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable time with us and that the Family Suite went down a treat with the kids.

I wish to apologise for disappointment with the pool however we have to abide by rules of Health & Safety of children under 16 years of age however during Holiday periods like Summer, Easter, Half Term etc when we have our Kids Clubs programmes running the Leisure Centre offer specific supervised swim times where parents or guardians do not have to be in t he pool also as it is fully supervised by Staff in the pool with the children.

I certainly hope this does not prevent you and your family from returning to us in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting us.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

just spent 3 days here for the munster irish dance championships, i have to say the staff and service we received while staying here were second to none. on arrival the hotel was VERY busy but there was a lovely warm welcome with Christmas decorations and a nice atmosphere. while i agree some of the bedrooms are a bit tired the ones that have been refurbished are divine! overall the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the chamber girls were nice and friendly when you passed in the halls.the staff in O'Ds restaurant are the most courteous and helpful i have ever come across even though at times the restaurant was very busy. the staff in the bar were the same and our group found one barman David to be especially good considering how busy they were and there were kids EVERYWHERE! while the food was only average the fact that the hotel carvery kept serving after hours because the competitions ran over was wonderful. the only bad thing i would say is that the manager of the early evening eating/breakfast restaurant was not as accommodating as all the others, this is probably because the hotel was so busy, but i tried to have diner in the Flesk on one evening at 8.45pm and was told by the manager it was closed even though the stated hours are until 9pm. the following morning we went in to breakfast at 10.45, waited for a table,and was then told by the manager to 'see whats left', we went to get food and they had already begun to clear the food away so breakfast was 2 slices of toast and a sausage, all fruit, cereals and bread had been removed! when we went back to sit down i was told to move to the other end of the restaurant because the waiter had closed this section, it was just annoying, no more than that, it does not take from the overall feel you get when you stay here, its a wonderful, clean and welcoming hotel and i look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EILEEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your balanced and honest opinions on your visit with us in November. I am delighted to hear you had so much positive feedback about so many aspects of your stay and that you found so many of the staff so courteous and welcoming however I am disappointed at hearing about one of the team that let us down on this occasion and who did not live up to our usual standard.

You have highlighted some very valuable points in your review and I can assure you all aspects have been addressed with the relevant team members and departmental Managers and refresher training on all aspects of the Customer Experience has been highlighted and brought to their attention.

This is, as I mentioned, not our usual standard and it lets the whole Team down as a result however it is important for us to get such valued feedback and once again I wish to Thank You for conveying this to us.

We always welcome customer feedback and take all comments on board as this is what helps us grow and learn from our mistakes.

Should I be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

23 of us had a good trip down with Ulsterbus. Some found rooms a little tired,others found rooms had been refurbished all rooms were clean. Food was excellent, entertainment good most evenings. Fantastic swiming complex some of us used. We all found this 4 night break excellent value for money for the 2nd year running.
Poyntzpass Village Club.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdbdNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for this review and for all the lovely compliments. We really appreciate that you took the time to post your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor and that you all enjoyed your second visit to us, we certainly hope to see you in the upcoming year ahead also.

Many Thanks and Merry Christmas

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night to see Pat Short checked into room before show and dropped our bags went to bar for food but when returned after the show went to go to the toilet to discover the toilet was leaking and slipped on the bathroom floor reported the problem to reception but the only option cause their no1 was no other rooms available or a handy man to fix it the only option was to put towels around it and could not even flush the toilet when suggested to be moved to an apartment was told that it was not possible as the water was being turned off on the sunday morning. He would leave a note for the manager to check in on us the next morning but that did not happen we went for our at 10am the next morning had to Que. After we gave our room no to the manager on duty we ate breakfast half an hour later and waiting over 10 mins for toast after breakfast we checked out about to leave and then we decided we would look for the manager who told us that he rang to the room to enquire which was lies. Asked Christine at reception had we went to breakfast which she replies we had checked out he told us next time we wished to stay that he would upgrade our room to a suite. That was the most poor and none considerate customer service iv ever received. Was so looking forward to this night away to mark our 11 year anniversary and ended in a nightmare

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paulmidleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

In response to this review the Management of the Hotel wish to state that this has been dealt with directly with the Guest (prior to this review being posted) and at the time were very happy with the outcome, therefore we cannot understand why after a follow up conversation with a Member of Management that they choose to post this review on this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just back from the Ballroom Dancing event , held over 5 nights at Gleneagle Hotel which was so very enjoyable we would definitely return again next year.
The hotel staff were so friendly, caring and helpful, the food absolutely great; the leisure facilities superb and although we had a set- back one of the nights when the band ( Donnie Walsh ?? ) failed to show, this was overcome when one of the event- participants came to the rescue with his own music. The hotel as a recompense-gesture brought in a young but very talented singer to entertain us in the restaurant whilst we ate our meal the following evening.
All in all we had a fabulous time & would definitely recommend the hotel ( & the event for those perhaps interested in improving their social dancing )

Room Tip: We requested a room 'away from the noise of lifts etc'. and were allocated an extremely qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear John,

Just wish to thank you sincerely for this wonderful review on recent with us just last week especially for the fabulous comments on the staff the food and the leisure facilities. We had some great feedback from the Ballroom Dancers overall and once again I wish to offer sincere apologies for the set back with the Entertainment on Wednesday night. I can assure you this is not something that happens very often here and as a gesture of goodwill we had young Jack Healy come in on Thursday evening to entertain everyone during dinner and got a great reception.

I wish to Thank you for your understanding on this situation and delighted to hear that you would definitely recommend or hotel if I can be of any assistance to you in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I will be delighted to help in any way possible.

With Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a 50th surprise party for my parents last Friday night , a fantastic night from start to finish ,the staff in the restaurant were excellent they made the night so special , a lovely waitress called Myat and her manager Maura O Connell were a credit to the hotel , I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody organising a party they made it so easy. : )

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guests

Firstly I wish to offer Congratulations to your Parents, I am aware that you had a party in our Flesk Restaurant and we are thrilled that you all enjoyed yourselves so much.
You are so kind for taking the time to write your review and for highlighting in particular the staff in the Restaurant, especially Myat & Maura they really are delighted with the personal mention so on their behalf I offer a sincere Thank You.

If we can be of any assistance in the future with any kind of occasion please feel free to contact us and let us have the pleasure in arranging everything for you.

With Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Just back from great week with Ulsterbus tours in Killarney. Stephen McCready was our driver and a real gentleman! Hotel was wonderful. A bit tired on decor but made up for in restaurant --- food and service. Pool brill except fir youngsters having classes! Bedrooms clean-- only minus was very poor lighting. I always read before sleep and tiny LED light did not allow for that. But apart from that would give 5stars!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank umt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guests

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our team here at the Gleneagle for taking the time for posting your review of our Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the daily tours, you had a great Driver with Steven from Ulsterbus, he really is a credit and gets on great with his passengers. I will be sure to pass this feedback on to him, he will be thrilled.

I have got to know so many customers that travel regulary with the Ulsterbus tours and love to see all the familiar faces returning. So I really hope you decide to return and if you do, be sure and make yourself known to me, I like to put faces to people and once again sincere thanks for taking the time to make your review on Trip Advisor.

If you advise us in advance of your next visit I can ensure that you are allocated a room with more lighting so you can enjoy your reading better next time.
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £86 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing