We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Cahirciveen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very busy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 11th December 2013. My husband and I went to a show at the INEC and stayed one night. We had a refurbished balcony room which was very large, no noise, good linen and plenty of wardrobe space. The only down side to this hotel is the amount of bus tours. The restaurant is extremely busy and tables are like being back at school line after line, but saying that service was good and so was food, you need to book restaurant when you book in to reserve a space. Good hearty breakfast the unexpected good part of this stay was when we came out of the INEC there was dancing and music in the ballroom, very unexpected and great fun. Good places to sit for down time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us last recently and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It is so nice when people take the time to share their positive comments and their experience with us and we are so happy that you got to witness what the Gleneagle Hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed yourself to the full. We are a very busy Hotel and very proud of the fact that we can be extremely busy on a midweek December night and that are guests get to enjoy all the Gleneagle has to offer.

We hope you decide to return in the future,

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    344
    164
    123
    120
See reviews for
402
383
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in glen eagle in 2007 and hotel was very nice retuned last week 7/12/2013 and was very shocked how run down rooms were my toilet did nt flush my sink was stained yellow around plug hole gets worse my cos hotel was fully booked my shower was cold for nights on run went for dinner in restrunt the food was at very high standard and the service was very good BUT my soup spoon was dirty and end of my fork was bent and caught my lip I was not Happy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronchast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guests,

I am truly sorry that you felt your stay was so disappointing and had such negative feedback to share on this forum.

We would have appreciated a lot more had these issues been brought to our attention during your stay so we could have addressed the issues immediately and ensured your stay was made more enjoyable.

We wish to offer sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was our 3rd time staying at the Gleneagle Hotel. As usual it was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. There is always something for everyone on at the hotel. We were attending an INDO event and were lucky enough to be there when Audi were exhibiting their new range of cars. We also got a cooking demonstration from Rachel Allen and there was also a rally on...So plenty to keep the kids occupied.The family room had additional bedroom with bunks and a sitting room with TV. Went down a treat as the kids got to watch what they wanted as did I. :-) It was also situated to the rear of the hotel and noise was at its minimum.
Our only disappointment was that the kids were unable to use the pool without a parent entering the water with them. Apparently this is a new rule by health and safety. As i don't swim they were not allowed go in alone as they were under 16, even though they are both good swimmers. The Manager Martin explained to me that it was not them that enforced this rule but health and safety. It was just disappointing for the boys and it was not stated on booking or in the hotel welcome book.
Other that that everything was outstanding as always. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doylert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable time with us and that the Family Suite went down a treat with the kids.

I wish to apologise for disappointment with the pool however we have to abide by rules of Health & Safety of children under 16 years of age however during Holiday periods like Summer, Easter, Half Term etc when we have our Kids Clubs programmes running the Leisure Centre offer specific supervised swim times where parents or guardians do not have to be in t he pool also as it is fully supervised by Staff in the pool with the children.

I certainly hope this does not prevent you and your family from returning to us in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting us.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

just spent 3 days here for the munster irish dance championships, i have to say the staff and service we received while staying here were second to none. on arrival the hotel was VERY busy but there was a lovely warm welcome with Christmas decorations and a nice atmosphere. while i agree some of the bedrooms are a bit tired the ones that have been refurbished are divine! overall the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the chamber girls were nice and friendly when you passed in the halls.the staff in O'Ds restaurant are the most courteous and helpful i have ever come across even though at times the restaurant was very busy. the staff in the bar were the same and our group found one barman David to be especially good considering how busy they were and there were kids EVERYWHERE! while the food was only average the fact that the hotel carvery kept serving after hours because the competitions ran over was wonderful. the only bad thing i would say is that the manager of the early evening eating/breakfast restaurant was not as accommodating as all the others, this is probably because the hotel was so busy, but i tried to have diner in the Flesk on one evening at 8.45pm and was told by the manager it was closed even though the stated hours are until 9pm. the following morning we went in to breakfast at 10.45, waited for a table,and was then told by the manager to 'see whats left', we went to get food and they had already begun to clear the food away so breakfast was 2 slices of toast and a sausage, all fruit, cereals and bread had been removed! when we went back to sit down i was told to move to the other end of the restaurant because the waiter had closed this section, it was just annoying, no more than that, it does not take from the overall feel you get when you stay here, its a wonderful, clean and welcoming hotel and i look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EILEEN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your balanced and honest opinions on your visit with us in November. I am delighted to hear you had so much positive feedback about so many aspects of your stay and that you found so many of the staff so courteous and welcoming however I am disappointed at hearing about one of the team that let us down on this occasion and who did not live up to our usual standard.

You have highlighted some very valuable points in your review and I can assure you all aspects have been addressed with the relevant team members and departmental Managers and refresher training on all aspects of the Customer Experience has been highlighted and brought to their attention.

This is, as I mentioned, not our usual standard and it lets the whole Team down as a result however it is important for us to get such valued feedback and once again I wish to Thank You for conveying this to us.

We always welcome customer feedback and take all comments on board as this is what helps us grow and learn from our mistakes.

Should I be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

23 of us had a good trip down with Ulsterbus. Some found rooms a little tired,others found rooms had been refurbished all rooms were clean. Food was excellent, entertainment good most evenings. Fantastic swiming complex some of us used. We all found this 4 night break excellent value for money for the 2nd year running.
Poyntzpass Village Club.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdbdNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for this review and for all the lovely compliments. We really appreciate that you took the time to post your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor and that you all enjoyed your second visit to us, we certainly hope to see you in the upcoming year ahead also.

Many Thanks and Merry Christmas

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night to see Pat Short checked into room before show and dropped our bags went to bar for food but when returned after the show went to go to the toilet to discover the toilet was leaking and slipped on the bathroom floor reported the problem to reception but the only option cause their no1 was no other rooms available or a handy man to fix it the only option was to put towels around it and could not even flush the toilet when suggested to be moved to an apartment was told that it was not possible as the water was being turned off on the sunday morning. He would leave a note for the manager to check in on us the next morning but that did not happen we went for our at 10am the next morning had to Que. After we gave our room no to the manager on duty we ate breakfast half an hour later and waiting over 10 mins for toast after breakfast we checked out about to leave and then we decided we would look for the manager who told us that he rang to the room to enquire which was lies. Asked Christine at reception had we went to breakfast which she replies we had checked out he told us next time we wished to stay that he would upgrade our room to a suite. That was the most poor and none considerate customer service iv ever received. Was so looking forward to this night away to mark our 11 year anniversary and ended in a nightmare

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulmidleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
In response to this review the Management of the Hotel wish to state that this has been dealt with directly with the Guest (prior to this review being posted) and at the time were very happy with the outcome, therefore we cannot understand why after a follow up conversation with a Member of Management that they choose to post this review on this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just back from the Ballroom Dancing event , held over 5 nights at Gleneagle Hotel which was so very enjoyable we would definitely return again next year.
The hotel staff were so friendly, caring and helpful, the food absolutely great; the leisure facilities superb and although we had a set- back one of the nights when the band ( Donnie Walsh ?? ) failed to show, this was overcome when one of the event- participants came to the rescue with his own music. The hotel as a recompense-gesture brought in a young but very talented singer to entertain us in the restaurant whilst we ate our meal the following evening.
All in all we had a fabulous time & would definitely recommend the hotel ( & the event for those perhaps interested in improving their social dancing )

Room Tip: We requested a room 'away from the noise of lifts etc'. and were allocated an extremely qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear John,

Just wish to thank you sincerely for this wonderful review on recent with us just last week especially for the fabulous comments on the staff the food and the leisure facilities. We had some great feedback from the Ballroom Dancers overall and once again I wish to offer sincere apologies for the set back with the Entertainment on Wednesday night. I can assure you this is not something that happens very often here and as a gesture of goodwill we had young Jack Healy come in on Thursday evening to entertain everyone during dinner and got a great reception.

I wish to Thank you for your understanding on this situation and delighted to hear that you would definitely recommend or hotel if I can be of any assistance to you in the future please feel free to contact me directly and I will be delighted to help in any way possible.

With Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing