We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't say enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't say enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night B&B +1D package. I couldn't give the staff of the Gleneagle enough praise. Every single one pleasant and helpful. We were traveling with our 6 month old and nothing was too much trouble. At dinner we were not made to feel inferior because it was included in our room rate (this has been our experience in other hotels). The food was excellent and plentiful. Our room was beautiful, clean and obviously recently refurbished. My only complaint was that we were unable to adjust the heating. Not ideal when travelling with a baby.
On a personal note, we hired a hotel babysitter as we were going to a concert in the INEC. She was fantastic I have never left my baby with a stranger but Claire felt like one of the family and immediately put our minds at ease.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your review. This is exactly what the Gleneagle is about and we are delighted you had such an amazing time and thank you so much for the very positive review and for the personal mention complimenting our Babysitter Claire. She really is one of the best you could ever get and is extremely popular during the summer months with the families, many of whom have been regular guests for some time and ring in advance to specially book Claire. We will certainly pass on your compliments to her, she will be delighted.

Hope you get to visit us soon again and please come say Hello and make yourself known to us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    340
    158
    122
    119
See reviews for
395
376
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our sons , we got a family room . Its was ok kids room tiny and two bunk beds , old dated tvs and only few stations , decor at front of hotel ok but corridors and rooms badly need new tvs carpets bathrooms and curtains and reallyyyy need new mattresses or softer I didn't sleep either night I was there the floor would of been softer. . Staff were amazing though extremely friendly , we gave our concerns to the manager he listened and was friendly but its an events hotel more than luxury but I still feel every hotel 1 star or 5 star should have comfortable beds , even my kids backs were sore and they would normally sleep anywhere.

Breakfast had great selection but needs to be fresher bacon was like rubber . It was 89.00 for first night and 149.00 for second which I felt after our experience and no sleep we would of got discount and on second night the room was the same and was still a week night . I would of had no problem paying that money , if it was comfortable and felt like we were away but I was delighted to be home to my soft bed lol .... leisure centre big and clean but lifeguards don't seem to be watching other swimmers or kids only who they are teaching . My husband went in with boys and I stalked for the couple of hours , housekeeping staff friendly and rooms spotless so really they deserve more credit because if it had of been dirty , it would of topped it for me ... no more to say really but after nearly 7hrs of a journey back home cant wait to sleep ...

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laurakiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Past Guests

I wish to thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff being so friendly in your review and also from reading your Comment Card that you filled out prior your departure.

We are disappointed however that you were not satisfied with your room, having spoken to your Husband on the phone just after you checked in, I did in fact explain to him that we had very kindly upgraded your room complimentary to a Family Suite with the extra room for the children for a little more privacy. I did explain to your Husband that would he prefer to have a look at a standard family room he was more than welcome but that these rooms did not have the separate room with the bunk beds and he agreed to stay in the Suite room. We have never received such feedback about these rooms or the beds being uncomfortable, perhaps they are just not to your required taste as your beds at home and for this we can only apologise.

We thank you for your comments about the Housekeeping Staff and that you found your room spotless wish to assure you that all our rooms and public areas are cleaned to a high standard therefore we feel it unnecessary to mention the fact that “had it been dirty” as it clearly was not the case.

We are sorry you were disappointed with the Bacon at Breakfast but delighted to read from your comment card you filled out that you found the dinner fabulous. We are a 3 star hotel and very happy that you did find some aspects of your stay worth the visit. Perhaps should you have the occasion to visit us in the future we can fully satisfy your needs and that we can the occasion to rectify the areas that we fell down for you on this occasion.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

On a whim we booked Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney just to get away for a weekend. We assumed it was going to one of these hotels where you checked in, got a meal similar to a good take-away and take-it-or-leave-it staff.

Were we wrong? We sure were. The weekend was one of those never ceasing heavy rainfall encounters. From arrival to departure the staff could not have been more helpful - we never left the hotel. The food was great and plenty of choice. The room was comfortable and a step better than your average hotel. The bar was excellent. The main entertainment was provided by Dickie Rock who now in his seventies rocked the place, jumped around the stage and on occasion jumped off it. Dickie still is one of Ireland's greatest entertainers.

The hotel bar had its own entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. This entertainment (singer with pre-recorded music) was good also. Where there were no seats, the staff provided seating without even being asked.

I know in many instances staff of hotels have outward signs of welcoming, but not in the Gleneagle where the staff had a genuine interest in making the weekend an entertaining and friendly one.

Room Tip: The management appear to have a policy that an unoccupied room is non profitable and I think they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leprosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guests,

We are honoured at reading your review and most grateful to you for your wonderful compliments and for highlighting the great team we have working here at the Gleneagle. We are delighted that you took the time and highlighted all aspects of your stay and more so of the fact that you so well looked after.

Your feedback is very welcomed and we are most thankful to you for sharing your experience on your recent stay and we certainly look forward to looking after you in the near future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards
From all the Management & Staff at the Gleneagle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in the Gleneagles Apartments and we loved them, they are very spacious and much more enjoyable than us all crammed into 1 hotel room. The Hotel itself was great for the kids, the swimming pool was very clean and the kids club was good. The entertainment at night time was nothing crazy but just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatsDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Great to hear you and your children enjoyed your recent visit to our Riverside Apartments. The apartments are indeed a fantastic choice for Families, providing that extra space and option of cooking while still enjoying the use of all the Hotel facilities and Kids Clubs that are on during family holiday periods.

Thank you for your kind compliments and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent last week in hotel. Great value for money. Warm and welcoming. Great entertainment every night. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Yolanda who kept a good eye on house keeping and had a friendly hi each morning and rob the friendly bar man. great menu choice and food available round the clock. Finally a big thank you to Martin whom we met and spoke to he was very friendly and we look forward to returning to this hotel again shortly. We make at least 4 to 5 trips here each year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelleembroidery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, it really means a lot to us and we are delighted that you had such a great stay and enjoyed the food so much.

A special thank you also from Yolanda, Rob and Martin who were delighted with the personal mention and very grateful to you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We all look forward to your next visit and if we can be of any assistance please feel free to contact us in advance.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Thought we would mark the occasion with something special, and special it was. what a stunning restaurant, quaint, candlelit, with friendly staff who would bend over backwards to accomodate you. we were greeted by a friendly host and two glasses of champage, fab, then we were seated in a friendly comfortable atmosphere and then for the star of the show the food, WOW, the best meal i have ever had by far, it started with homemade brown bread and delish bread rolls, followed with an abundance of cheese, (four different kinds delish) pate, hummous, sun dried tomato paste, salami, choritzo, olives, peppers, yum, all perfectly presented and delicious, followed by the most amazing prawn tempura with a tantalising taste bud extravaganza sauce, YUM is all i can say the best prawns ever, then for the mains, wow amazing, cod in a pea and sage broth, has to be eaten to be believed, i have never tasted anything as good, amazing compliments to the chef (and that's understated) it really was amazing fondant potatoes, creamy cod, unreal, and my boyfriend had the steak. wow, cooked perfectly, medium rare as requested, and the sauce, i thought it a bit rude to pick up the plate and lick it, but wow it took all my best efforts not to, amazing, what a chef/team of them. Dessert fabulous, black forest gateaux with mirangue crumbled in a delight to all black forest fans, cherry, chocolate, could you ask for more. overall the Gleneagle and O'ds restaurant was the most spectacular dining experience i have ever had, can't wait to go back, im actually getting hungry just thinking about it, applause for the chefs and the staff and thank you for a wonderful memorable experience, ye really made my valentines special X

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbiegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this wonderful complimentary review on your special Valentine’s evening. We are very grateful and so happy you had such amazing feedback.

The Staff in OD’s are were thrilled to read your comments and the Chefs especially with your descriptive review on their delicious food that they put such great effort into and are still talking about the amazing feedback that you took the time to post. We are just delighted to have been able to make your Valentine’s so special and we hope we et to welcome you in the near future again.

Many Thanks & Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin and All the Team here at the Gleneagle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hotel was nice a clean, staff were very nice, rooms really dated. Also we were on the top floor, the wall were paper thin, and we could hear everything.

We stayed there in February, and at 41 we were the youngest by at least 20 years, staying there. They cater for the "Golden Oldies", and they do it exceptionally well, so many glamorous ladies and dapper gentlemen.

Room Tip: Do not ask for the top floor! We stayed there during storm "Darwin".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rraine39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guests,

Just want to say thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for highlighting how nice the staff are here. We cater for many age groups here at the Gleneagle and very proud of the fact that during a wet windy February week we manage to have a high occupancy of guests.

The cliental vary from week to week depending on what events and special offers we have on in the hotel. The hotel could be full of young people all here to enjoy a show or concert or the following week could be full of corporate clients all attending a conference here at our Convention Centre within the hotel or likewise during summer months full of families all enjoying the range of Kids Club programmes and activities .

We would be delighted if you chose to come back and visit us in the future possibly and should I be of any assistance p lease contact me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated a newly refurbished room.

With Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#19 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing