We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartments for our family stay”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Fethard, Ireland
1 review
“Great Apartments for our family stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed with our 6 year old triplets for three nights over Easter. The apartments were spacious and had everything we needed for our 4 day stay. The children were involved in the kids club each day and loved it. It was also a great break for us as well. Lisa and Samantha did a fantastic job with the kids. We decided to change our next family long weekend trip in July that was booked for Trabolgan to revisit Gleneagle again. Looking forward to another 3 nights at the Gleneagle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvarner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guests,

This is fantastic … Thank you for this amazing review and thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so delighted that you have chosen to come back to us in July instead I’m sure you will have a great time, let’s just hope we get the sunshine too to top it off.

If we can be of any assistance to you in the future please feel free to contact me prior to your arrival.

Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    357
    165
    124
    122
See reviews for
416
393
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Gleneagle hotel for the easter weekend the 19th and 20th of April. This was our second stay as we stayed last August for 3 nights but this time We stayed im the self catering apartment they are very spacious with a kitchen dining area 2 bedrooms bedroom one had a double and a single bed bedroom two had 3 single beds with an ensuite and also a main bathroom.
The kids attended the kids club they really enjoyed it, they went from 11am to 1pm in the morning and 4pm to 7pm in the evening I would like to give a mention to the girls who run the club Lisa and Samantha the kids really enjoyed their time with you.
There is entertainment in many areas of the hotel, there was country music in the ballroom my only complaint regarding the entertainment is that the music in the green room did not start til 12.30am on the Saturday and Sunday evening it would be nice to have some music earlier in this bar, I know there is the backstage bar but it would be nice to have music earlier where u can bring the kids in, even a kids disco from 8 to 10pm or something.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel we will be booking again for 3 nights for New years eve.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the hotel itself I would recommend to book one of the newer rooms as the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Past Guests,

Thank so much for your very positive review on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. The apartments are lovely and spacious and the great part is you get to avail of the hotel facilities and the resident’s entertainment. They are very popular with families and the Kids Clubs are great . The staff in the Leisure centre are fantastic with the children and we have received great comments about Lisa & Samantha, so many thanks to you also for highlighting them.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall and thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for the New Year.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently had a holiday camping just near this hotel so went several times for drinks and food. It was very busy due the Irish World dancing competition being on, but I get the feeling it's a busy place anyway - lots going on. We drank several times outside the ODs bar and restaurant which is quite a nice bar, but one night we ate there and were very disappointed. The food was not the best and was very overpriced. If you want to eat I would walk over the car park to the Brehon Hotel and eat in the bar, the food looked far better there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly and efficient check in. The apartments were very spacious and clean and had all mod cons. Ideal for families and group gatherings. The pool was lovely and warm and the food in the Brehon was delicious with very family friendly service. A great base to explore Killarney and surrounding areas.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joeandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Past Guests,

We would like to thank for your positive comments on your recent stay the Apartments are lovely and spacious and the good part is you get the use of the Hotel Facilities and the Residents Entertainment each night. They are very popular with families especially in Summer time with a Fab Kids Club & activities.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for your lovely warm comments and we hope you decide to return soon again.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights on 5th floor. Very old decor and was told we had to hire towels for €5 each! Adding insult to injury we had to physically bring towels back on departure to reception for return of deposit once towels weren't soiled. Some staff unhelpful and borderline rude. Needs updating. Would not recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guests,

In response to your review we do not usually charge a towel deposit however the event that you were here for, The Hip Hop Spectrum Event had arranged this policy with the Hotel due to the fact that with over 800 people attending the event the hotel in the past suffered huge losses of money for towels due to damage.

This is not the normal policy of the everyday running of the hotel it was just implemented over this particular weekend however we are looking at alternative options for next year’s event .

I am not sure what staff you came across that you claim were rude and without further information it is difficult for us to investigate this further. We normally only ever receive nothing but positive comments and feedback about our staff so are really surprised at hearing this feedback.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscrea, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Staff all around very good , but the beds were terrible , pillows worse, a white sheet with 1970s dusty hairy blankets and a throw over them that looked and felt filthy. My eyes and nose streamed all night with the dust off the blankets never slept for one hour , never ever again .

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for the compliments about the staff, it’s a shame you never reported to us that you had an allergy to blankets as we would have changed them and offered a duvet instead.

I can assure you the blankets are not filthy as we would by no means put dirty blankets on our clean beds, this is not our standard and we can only apologise if our bed was not to your satisfaction and the pillows, this is not a common complaint and to be honest cold have been easily rectified if it had been brought to our attention.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehouse, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The rooms were ok, the food not bad, but the wait staff were rude, unaccommodating, even a little nasty...for both breakfast and dinner. The lobby staff were nice, had a good time at the bar, good music...lobby plumbing needed some assistance. LOVED the town, wish we could have spend more time there

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you have some very positive feedback on our Front Desk Team & Bar.

Our main concern however is your comments in relation to the waiting Staff. We would have very much appreciated if you had discussed this with us prior to your departure so we could have looked into this in more detail so we could have found out which member of the team let us down on this occasion.

We can only apologise for this and hope that you decide to return to us in the future.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing