We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke smelling room”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The bedroom smelled of stale cigarette smoke, the duvet cover had blood spots on it up near the top which I didn't spot until the next morning as it was tucked under the pillow, not a nice thought after sleeping under it that night. The €20 meal had poor choice and small portions but I suppose you get what you pay for. The breakfast choice was limited, fine if you wanted the traditional Irish but not very suitable to other tastes. The entertainment in the Front bar was excellent but didn't start until around 12 which meant that you had to go to one of the main venues if you wanted music. Staff not as friendly as other visits and as usual the door keys never work on the checking in.

Room Tip: Ask for Non Smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests,

We are extremely disappointed at reading your feedback on your recent stay with us and that these issues were not brought to the attention of one of the Management Team while you were here so we could have fully investigated your comments in relation to your room. This is not the norm here and I can only apologise for our usual the fall in our usual high standard.

In relation to your dining experiences, our 4 course Menu for €20 is one area we get so much positive feedback on, it is a huge success and has a choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses (including a vegetarian option) and choice of Desserts with Tea or Coffee, all of which change on a daily basis. At Breakfast we offer the Full Irish however have many other items on the Buffet and we cater to all special requests that are made. Our Chefs are always more than happy to cater for any requirements but this must be brought to the attention of your server.

We can only apologise if you feel you did not fully enjoy you stay on this occasion as you have done on previous visits. Should you have any special requests or feel the need to talk to us in the future please feel free to talk to us and we will do our best to ensure you are fully satisfied on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed in the Gleneagle Hotel last week during the World Irish Dancing Championships and was very pleasantly surprised. I was expecting things to be very busy and a bit hectic but the hotel was run very efficiently and customer service was delivered with a smile every time, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor towards the end of the corridor and overlooking the road with a 'distant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests

I would like to say a very big thank you to you for such a lovely report on their recent visit for the World Irish Dancing Championships.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review and for your complimentary comments in relation to the staff.

Hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed with our 6 year old triplets for three nights over Easter. The apartments were spacious and had everything we needed for our 4 day stay. The children were involved in the kids club each day and loved it. It was also a great break for us as well. Lisa and Samantha did a fantastic job with the kids. We decided to change our next family long weekend trip in July that was booked for Trabolgan to revisit Gleneagle again. Looking forward to another 3 nights at the Gleneagle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvarner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guests,

This is fantastic … Thank you for this amazing review and thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so delighted that you have chosen to come back to us in July instead I’m sure you will have a great time, let’s just hope we get the sunshine too to top it off.

If we can be of any assistance to you in the future please feel free to contact me prior to your arrival.

Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Gleneagle hotel for the easter weekend the 19th and 20th of April. This was our second stay as we stayed last August for 3 nights but this time We stayed im the self catering apartment they are very spacious with a kitchen dining area 2 bedrooms bedroom one had a double and a single bed bedroom two had 3 single beds with an ensuite and also a main bathroom.
The kids attended the kids club they really enjoyed it, they went from 11am to 1pm in the morning and 4pm to 7pm in the evening I would like to give a mention to the girls who run the club Lisa and Samantha the kids really enjoyed their time with you.
There is entertainment in many areas of the hotel, there was country music in the ballroom my only complaint regarding the entertainment is that the music in the green room did not start til 12.30am on the Saturday and Sunday evening it would be nice to have some music earlier in this bar, I know there is the backstage bar but it would be nice to have music earlier where u can bring the kids in, even a kids disco from 8 to 10pm or something.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel we will be booking again for 3 nights for New years eve.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the hotel itself I would recommend to book one of the newer rooms as the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Past Guests,

Thank so much for your very positive review on our Gleneagle Riverside Apartments. The apartments are lovely and spacious and the great part is you get to avail of the hotel facilities and the resident’s entertainment. They are very popular with families and the Kids Clubs are great . The staff in the Leisure centre are fantastic with the children and we have received great comments about Lisa & Samantha, so many thanks to you also for highlighting them.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall and thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back for the New Year.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently had a holiday camping just near this hotel so went several times for drinks and food. It was very busy due the Irish World dancing competition being on, but I get the feeling it's a busy place anyway - lots going on. We drank several times outside the ODs bar and restaurant which is quite a nice bar, but one night we ate there and were very disappointed. The food was not the best and was very overpriced. If you want to eat I would walk over the car park to the Brehon Hotel and eat in the bar, the food looked far better there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pauladoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly and efficient check in. The apartments were very spacious and clean and had all mod cons. Ideal for families and group gatherings. The pool was lovely and warm and the food in the Brehon was delicious with very family friendly service. A great base to explore Killarney and surrounding areas.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Joeandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Past Guests,

We would like to thank for your positive comments on your recent stay the Apartments are lovely and spacious and the good part is you get the use of the Hotel Facilities and the Residents Entertainment each night. They are very popular with families especially in Summer time with a Fab Kids Club & activities.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for your lovely warm comments and we hope you decide to return soon again.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights on 5th floor. Very old decor and was told we had to hire towels for €5 each! Adding insult to injury we had to physically bring towels back on departure to reception for return of deposit once towels weren't soiled. Some staff unhelpful and borderline rude. Needs updating. Would not recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biddy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guests,

In response to your review we do not usually charge a towel deposit however the event that you were here for, The Hip Hop Spectrum Event had arranged this policy with the Hotel due to the fact that with over 800 people attending the event the hotel in the past suffered huge losses of money for towels due to damage.

This is not the normal policy of the everyday running of the hotel it was just implemented over this particular weekend however we are looking at alternative options for next year’s event .

I am not sure what staff you came across that you claim were rude and without further information it is difficult for us to investigate this further. We normally only ever receive nothing but positive comments and feedback about our staff so are really surprised at hearing this feedback.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £85 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing