We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we arrived there was ample car parking spaces available. Check in was very efficient and friendly. The room was on the 4th floor and we had upgraded to a balcony room for an extra €10 per night. The room was spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. Everything in the room worked properly, lights, TV, sockets etc. The information booklet was very comprehensive and explained all about the services and facilities available in the hotel. The balcony overlooked the National Park, but also ovelooked the busy road.
We proceeded to dinner in the Flesk restaurant, which I have to admit was very disappointing. The dining room reminded me of a large bright cafe type venue. There was nothing intimate about the dining experience. I realise that this hotel primarily caters for families but they need to provide a more intimate dining experience for couples. The food was not good and was very assembly line produced. It was edible but nothing to write home about, we did not return. The entertainment facilities are fantastic. We would usually never stay around the hotel in the evening, but there was no need to go out. In the ballroom there was a Garth Brooks tribute band, in the bar was a terrific band until midnight. Then onto the residents bar and another good singer until 2am. Full marks on the in house entertainment.
The next morning we awoke early to the sound of Coaches in the car park below. There were four large (55 seater) coaches picking up passengers and heading off from the hotel. Luggage and loud voices on the go before 8:00am. It was only then that we noticed the large sliding door onto the balcony was single glazed. This is very poor compared with the high standard of the rest of the room, these balcony doors need ugrading to double glazed units, road noise can also be heard.
Breakfast was very good with a fine selection of cereals, juices, fruit and hot food in plentiful amounts. We then walked into Killarney, this stroll took us 20 minutes but you could do it in 15 minutes if you picked up the pace. Killarney is a gem of a town with lots to see and do. Always busy and bustling with tourists.
Back to the hotel and the leisure facilities are also very good. Later that evening we dined at their ODs Restaurant and although the food was better the venue has no real atmosphere and was not comfortable or suited to couples. The night time entertainment was also good on that evening and the over all stay at Gleneagles was very pleasant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel needs to address a few issues, noise in balcony bedrooms, dining facilities and venues, a in room fridge would be nice. I would stay here again but in a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests

We are very happy with this honest and well balanced review and wish to thank you for highlighting your opinions in a very fair and genuine manner.

I wish to apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy every aspect of your recent stay especially your dining experience. We are delighted you got enjoy the Entertainment and all we have to offer at the moment during our summer season and we wish to thank you for the lovely comments about the staff, breakfast and leisure centre.

We appreciate your all your negative comments and they will be shared at our Management Meeting. If I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    348
    164
    123
    121
See reviews for
404
387
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

just stopped one sunday night, very busy, lots of people, very friendly staff, nice bedroom, lots of entertainment going on, celtic entertainment night, music in bar, C&W in ballroom, and food excellent

Room Tip: worth a stay when in killarney, close to muckross house and national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests

Greta to hear you enjoyed your recent Sunday night with us and thank you so much for the lovely review and compliments on the food and entertainment.

Sunday nights for the summer is what we call our “Country Sundays” we have a country music dance every Sunday run by Billy Morrissey and some great acts lined up, it’s open to everyone and have a great atmosphere.

Hope you will get the chance to stop by soon again and enjoy all we have to offer here at the Gleneagle.

Thanking You

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July with family members, which included two 16year old teenagers.We were met at recetion on arrival by a most helpful young Gentleman, we asked to change our sleeping arrangements and the housekeep was present and she took us to the third floor to a beautiful spotlessly clean family room which we decided to take and the other room was on the fourth floor and again it was beautiful and spotlessly clean with a beautiful view of the mountains and its own balcony.
We had booked a meal for a special occassion in the dining room and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty.
We also ate in the upstairs bar on the Thursday night and again we could not fault the food, staff or service.
We had room service every day, its lovely to come back after a day out and to have your bed freshly made up.
We asked for more milk and it was delivered to our room immediately.
We used the Aquila club and everything was to our satisfaction, the teenagers used the Teen Room and really enjoyed their break.
I would have no problem recommending the Gleneagle hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: It is well worth booking the family room for light and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive review on your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear your family all enjoyed themselves.

Thank you for the lovely comments about the staff who looked after you and we are so happy to hear that they were able to make your holiday special.

It is so nice when people take the time to share their positive comments and their experience with us and we are just delighted that you got to witness what the Gleneagle Hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

Looking forward to your return,

Many Thanks from all the Staff here at the Gleneagle.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Only home and have to say the the kids club was second to none I have three children and the entertainment was fantastic even at night they took the kids swimming every day and had stuff to do every evening!! Then the shows in the green room the girls loved Captain Jack, disco and the magic show there was something to see every night, they didn't want to leave they where sad leaving Ita aka (Minnie mouse) even though the rooms are a bit dated the everything else pulled up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests

So happy at reading your review and hearing what a wonderful time your girls had here, sounds like they really made the most of all the Kids Club activities and the Kiddies Shows in the evening.

These are all exclusive to our Residents only and we are getting so much fantastic feedback from all the families, it makes us very happy to hear such positive feedback.

We hope to see you again and please say a big hello to your girls from Minnie Mouse !!!

Many Thanks for the lovely Review

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a coach trip. Usually the hotels these coach firms use are dated and often not all that clean. Gleneagle Hotel surpassed itself in cleanliness, excellent food and welcome. Usually I am quite happy to return home after a few days away but I was very sad indeed to leave this hotel as we enjoyed it so much. Just as well we were only there for a short period of time as I would have put on a serious amount of weight. The INEC next door was very convenient and put on a great show. There was also something going on every evening we were there and at a reduced or free charge for entry. A couple of things would have just made it perfect - sweeteners provided in sugar basins and perhaps an iron in room although they may well have supplied an iron/ironing room if I had enquired. All in all a great place to holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you so much on behalf of all the team here at the Gleneagle for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay. It is very much appreciated and means a lot to us.

Just so you are aware, we have a stock of Sweetners instead of Sugar and also a stock of Irons & Ironing boards available when requested.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully one day will return to visit us again and if you do please feel free to ask us for anything, if we can help and provide whatever it is you may need we will only be too happy to assist.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

After booking requesting a modern bedroom with view if possible, we set of on or 6 hour drive to begin a holiday in Killarney. Excited & looking forward to the break in a fantastic premises, we discussed about attending a show, enjoying the entertainment & gym facilities and relaxing in a vibrant location. Sounds positive I hear you say !!... Until arrival @ a dates stairwell with entrance covered in cigarette buts and rubbish. Taking on board volume of people around we brushed this aside & made or way along a grubby corridor to reception. on checkin we asked if it was a modern room - reassured totally of course, made feel as why ask such a question. On taking the full 4 nights payment up front it was repeated if we had any problem with room. Come straight back down. On this we asked again, if modern & clean would do us.
Once out of lift on 5th floor - the grubby skirting boards, flaking painted swing doors & filthy carpet on corridor caused concern ! .. On approach to room 503 the stains on carpet & smell were starting to turn or holiday into a nightmare. The key seemed unprogrammed for the door After a 20 min wait a
porter fixed the door handle & we entered. Gasped to believe such a dated unclean room was even on sale. The windows were impossible to see out of due to the dirt, to express each and every issue with the room, well I will leave as explained as still actually can not put in words what we experienced.
On returning to reception, in fairness the receptions automatically gave a different room ... Discussing with a college who expressed we would need to pay an extra €10 per night, on arrival of the 2nd room well why the 3rd floor was slightly better decor that the 5th the disappointment just spiralled. Drawer fronts hanging off broken tiles in the bathroom grubby bed lined, dirty windows & make shift refurbur's saw us expression or reasons for a refund. we were greeted by " sorry your expectations weren't meet, money will be in your account in 7 days". So awaiting €558 to be credited we left glenagles gutted, deflated & disappointed. Cutting or time in
Killarney short.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Livelaughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Past Guests,

Firstly I just wish to say that we are so sorry that we were not what you expected and that you found the hotel to be of this opinion and felt the need to check out immediately.

I am aware of the Reception staff member that spoke to you prior to your departure and they genuinely felt sorry that we were unable to meet your requirements and simply was informing you that the refund would take a few days as this has to be processed through the bank, this delay is not caused by us and if it was a cash payment this would have been refunded immediately. They did not in any way mean to sound rude was simply just informing you of the process.

We are a 3 star Hotel with offering great facilities and entertainment and we appreciate that we will not always meet every single person’s expectations however we are very popular with so many Guests that choose to come here on a regular basis and return year after year. We have excellent facilities that suit a wide variety of customers and fantastic Kids Clubs for the Familes.

It is very unfortunate that we were just unsuitable to your requirements and satisfaction on this occasion and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay at the 4 star property that you choose instead.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my 9 year old son. The staff at the Aquila Club were so friendly and helpful. Up to three life Guards were on duty at all times. My son was able to join in in all the activities that were put on by the staff there including Lisa who was so helpful. A+ to Lisa !!
At night my son went to the Teen's Room where he enjoyed playing Air Hockey, X box, PlayStation, Wii and board games until 11pm where Mark another member of staff kept a watchful eye on everyone. Another A+ to Mark !!
Thanks everyone at the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney Co. Kerry

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Màirèad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks so much for your review and lovely compliments about our staff at the Aquila Club Leisure, your kind words have been shared with Lisa and Mark who do an amazing job all summer with the Kiddies in the Kids Club and Teen Zone as do all the staff. It’s great that your son enjoyed all the activities and made the most of all we have to offer.

We hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future,

With Many Thanks

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing