We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Awkward”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night, and it was grand but terrible! Check in was grand, our massage and facial was perfect out room was nice. As mentioned before the bathroom toilet when flushed made an awful noise. Unfortunately i have rated it 1 and if i could rate it 0 i would.. We left the room and our door struggled to shut every time we did.. It got caught at the latch.. We had had showers and left our towels on the ground. When we came back to go into our room, our room was open, the door was pushed in, with no one in there! I was appalled. Someone could have stolen our stuff. When we checked our bathroom our dirty towels were gone and the other ones folded so we know it was accomodation. I have to say i wont be happy going back if people's doors are been left open as im sure if anything was taken the hotel wouldn't take blame ... No stay

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelL9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Past Guests,

We are sorry to hear you had a problem with the door to your room, I am unaware whether you brought this to our attention while you were here so we could have had someone look at it immediately. Sometimes it can happen that a door may have to be pulled closed however I can assure you the Accommodation staff always ensure the doors are closed behind them as they would not put guests belongings at risk like this.

Perhaps had you mentioned this to a Manager at the time we could have done an investigation and looked further into your issue with the door and put your minds at ease.

Apologies to you and should you ever decide you have the occasion to return please contact me and I will happily ensure you get a room you are fully happy with and that you have more positive feedback on your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    369
    171
    128
    124
See reviews for
446
403
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My Mam and I stayed in the Gleneagle for 3 nights midweek. I chose the hotel mainly for the night time entertainment for my Mam. We stayed in room 220. The carpet had some coffee stains on it but other than that we had no complaints. Breakfast was lovely and we ate in the hotel each night for convenience and dinner was also very nice. The hotel really is a good all rounder. It has a shop, ATM, nice leisure centre and had evening entertainment for kids and for adults. If the entertainment doesn't appeal, it also has a bar and the INEC is linked to it. While there we visited The National Park, drove the ring of Kerry making stop offs on the way and did a boat trip from Ross Castle. We also went to the Lake View Hotel for a coffee and cookies which has a beautiful view onto the lake. Overall, I think the Gleneagle is a good base for touring and would be good for families or for older age groups who like the night time entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
On behalf of all the Management & Staff here at the Gleneagle I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your feedback on your recent visit with us.

It is very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your Mother and got to see and do so much. Thank you for all the nice compliments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neetownards
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just had a mini break in gleneagle hotel and I could not fault one aspect of it. The hotel, surroundings, staff, food, leisure facilities and entertainment were excellent. I can highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totesamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our sincere thanks and gratitude to you for taking the time write this review. We hope you get to visit us soon again.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

When we arrived there was ample car parking spaces available. Check in was very efficient and friendly. The room was on the 4th floor and we had upgraded to a balcony room for an extra €10 per night. The room was spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. Everything in the room worked properly, lights, TV, sockets etc. The information booklet was very comprehensive and explained all about the services and facilities available in the hotel. The balcony overlooked the National Park, but also ovelooked the busy road.
We proceeded to dinner in the Flesk restaurant, which I have to admit was very disappointing. The dining room reminded me of a large bright cafe type venue. There was nothing intimate about the dining experience. I realise that this hotel primarily caters for families but they need to provide a more intimate dining experience for couples. The food was not good and was very assembly line produced. It was edible but nothing to write home about, we did not return. The entertainment facilities are fantastic. We would usually never stay around the hotel in the evening, but there was no need to go out. In the ballroom there was a Garth Brooks tribute band, in the bar was a terrific band until midnight. Then onto the residents bar and another good singer until 2am. Full marks on the in house entertainment.
The next morning we awoke early to the sound of Coaches in the car park below. There were four large (55 seater) coaches picking up passengers and heading off from the hotel. Luggage and loud voices on the go before 8:00am. It was only then that we noticed the large sliding door onto the balcony was single glazed. This is very poor compared with the high standard of the rest of the room, these balcony doors need ugrading to double glazed units, road noise can also be heard.
Breakfast was very good with a fine selection of cereals, juices, fruit and hot food in plentiful amounts. We then walked into Killarney, this stroll took us 20 minutes but you could do it in 15 minutes if you picked up the pace. Killarney is a gem of a town with lots to see and do. Always busy and bustling with tourists.
Back to the hotel and the leisure facilities are also very good. Later that evening we dined at their ODs Restaurant and although the food was better the venue has no real atmosphere and was not comfortable or suited to couples. The night time entertainment was also good on that evening and the over all stay at Gleneagles was very pleasant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel needs to address a few issues, noise in balcony bedrooms, dining facilities and venues, a in room fridge would be nice. I would stay here again but in a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests

We are very happy with this honest and well balanced review and wish to thank you for highlighting your opinions in a very fair and genuine manner.

I wish to apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy every aspect of your recent stay especially your dining experience. We are delighted you got enjoy the Entertainment and all we have to offer at the moment during our summer season and we wish to thank you for the lovely comments about the staff, breakfast and leisure centre.

We appreciate your all your negative comments and they will be shared at our Management Meeting. If I can be of any assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

just stopped one sunday night, very busy, lots of people, very friendly staff, nice bedroom, lots of entertainment going on, celtic entertainment night, music in bar, C&W in ballroom, and food excellent

Room Tip: worth a stay when in killarney, close to muckross house and national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests

Greta to hear you enjoyed your recent Sunday night with us and thank you so much for the lovely review and compliments on the food and entertainment.

Sunday nights for the summer is what we call our “Country Sundays” we have a country music dance every Sunday run by Billy Morrissey and some great acts lined up, it’s open to everyone and have a great atmosphere.

Hope you will get the chance to stop by soon again and enjoy all we have to offer here at the Gleneagle.

Thanking You

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July with family members, which included two 16year old teenagers.We were met at recetion on arrival by a most helpful young Gentleman, we asked to change our sleeping arrangements and the housekeep was present and she took us to the third floor to a beautiful spotlessly clean family room which we decided to take and the other room was on the fourth floor and again it was beautiful and spotlessly clean with a beautiful view of the mountains and its own balcony.
We had booked a meal for a special occassion in the dining room and the staff went above and beyond the call of duty.
We also ate in the upstairs bar on the Thursday night and again we could not fault the food, staff or service.
We had room service every day, its lovely to come back after a day out and to have your bed freshly made up.
We asked for more milk and it was delivered to our room immediately.
We used the Aquila club and everything was to our satisfaction, the teenagers used the Teen Room and really enjoyed their break.
I would have no problem recommending the Gleneagle hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: It is well worth booking the family room for light and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your positive review on your recent stay with us and we are delighted to hear your family all enjoyed themselves.

Thank you for the lovely comments about the staff who looked after you and we are so happy to hear that they were able to make your holiday special.

It is so nice when people take the time to share their positive comments and their experience with us and we are just delighted that you got to witness what the Gleneagle Hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

Looking forward to your return,

Many Thanks from all the Staff here at the Gleneagle.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Only home and have to say the the kids club was second to none I have three children and the entertainment was fantastic even at night they took the kids swimming every day and had stuff to do every evening!! Then the shows in the green room the girls loved Captain Jack, disco and the magic show there was something to see every night, they didn't want to leave they where sad leaving Ita aka (Minnie mouse) even though the rooms are a bit dated the everything else pulled up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests

So happy at reading your review and hearing what a wonderful time your girls had here, sounds like they really made the most of all the Kids Club activities and the Kiddies Shows in the evening.

These are all exclusive to our Residents only and we are getting so much fantastic feedback from all the families, it makes us very happy to hear such positive feedback.

We hope to see you again and please say a big hello to your girls from Minnie Mouse !!!

Many Thanks for the lovely Review

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing