We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney with my sister on the 28th July for five days. Have to say we really enjoyed our stay. All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Room was clean, spacious and the beds were comfortable. Food was excellent, breakfast was lovely and you could get a four course evening meal for €20, great value. Leisure facilities were very good. There was entertainment every night. The location is great, can walk into town if you like and if not you can get the shuttle bus for just €2. Well worth staying there and hope to go back again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IrelandTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests

We are delighted that you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable and that you took the time to post your comments. We hope you get the opportunity to return in the near future and that we continue to please and be the best we can Thank you again for your review, it is very much appreciated.


Kind Regards
Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked this hotel for a concert by Aslan. Stayed a second night and enjoyed a pleasant evening of music and dancing. Great venue for those who like to enjoy in-house entertainment . Plenty of options for both eating and entertainment.

Room Tip: Difficult to say. We had a room which overlooked the carpark - only noise we experienced was from g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself so much and decided to stay on an extra night to take advantage of and avail of all we have to offer. There is something different on every night and we try our best to cater for all ages here at the Gleneagle.

The family shows are proving a huge success with the Kiddies and the Cabaret acts on in the Ballroom and the amazing Celtic Steps show running 5 nights a week, there really is plenty to choose from. I hope you had a great time at the Aslan Concert and that you come back to visit us real soon again.

Many thanks for your lovely review,

Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in the apartments attached to the hotel and they were amazing. Well fitted out and spacious. Facilites at hotel were very good and the location was super. There was pitch and putt and tennis courts outside but as the weather was so nice we were off exploring the tourist sights. We didnt eat at the hotel as we used the self catering facility but there were good offers to be had on the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverliningIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

This is fantastic … Thank you for this amazing review and thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so happy that you got to make the most of all facilities and found us to be a great base for exploring all the great sights and tourist attractions Killarney has to offer.

We hope you get the chance to return in the future and maybe next time get to try out some of our wide variety of dining options.


Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I cant praise this hotel enough..Staff are very friendly and kids club and teen zone is very good.. Idel for a great family holiday..Food is lovely and great entertainment for all in the night. This hotel is very clean and in a great location.. I would recommend to everyone. Will be returning next year.. A 1

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review and for all the lovely compliments. We really appreciate that you took the time to post your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor and that you would highly recommend our Hotel, this is fantastic and we cant thank you enough.
We hope you get to visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I don't even want to give one star. SHOCKING service. We arrived at three in the afternoon and the receptionist was on the phone to someone while serving us. Room wasn't even ready so we had to wait an hour. The rooms are very dated and very basic for the price they charge.
We then went to have some food and were waiting nearly an hour before someone served us, and only because I had to go and ask the waiter if we can please be served by someone. When the food eventually came I couldn't eat my sandwich as the meat tasted gone off.
The next morning we went down for breakfast and there were around 30 people outside the restaurant waiting to be seated. No one was organising us and eventually, after being informed by another guest, we had to go up to a woman, give her our room number and amount of people, and when a seat was ready she would shout our room number to go in. 15 minutes we waited, standing outside the room, before we got to eat.
Not that the food was worth the wait. It was as if I was in a prison the way the woman smashed the food onto my plate. Her clothes were dirty from splatters because beans, eggs etc, she threw them onto the plate it was sloppy service and bad food. And because of this we were made felt very rushed. As if she was throwing the food onto the plate to get us out of the way quicker. She was also wiping her nose on her sleeve. Horrible.
None of the staff have any hospitality skills. While walking to our seats, staff were rushing passed us, not allowing us to go ahead of them, which in a hotel you would expect as a guest. Dated building, understaffed and under resourced and the staff they do have are sloppy and rude and seriously need a lesson in hospitality.
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Róisín N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to express my concerns over this review on your recent stay with us. This is not a regular occurrence here as we are used to catering for extremely large numbers here and it normally is never a problem and we have received some amazing reviews lately from many other guests that have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us.

It is always disappointing for us to hear of negative feedback but more so to read it on Trip Advisor without having had the opportunity to discuss these comments and issues directly during a guests stay so we can look into and offer an apology directly and more to take corrective action where we feel necessary.

We are sorry to hear that you felt this way about our hotel and that you choose not to discus with us while you were staying. Should you ever change your mind or have the opportunity to give us a 2nd chance in the future please contact me directly and I will be delighted to discuss these issues and to try ensure that you leave on a more positive note on your visit.

Sincere Apologies

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed from Monday to Friday as a part of a coach holiday with my family and I must say that it exceeded my expectations. General appearance from the inside and outside was very nice and smart whilst also being welcoming as the Brehorn next door appeared to be slightly too formal for my liking.
Good Points:
- The Flesk Restaurant was amazing, had breakfast and dinner there and the staff truly couldn't have given more effort to ensuring we had a pleasurable experience than they already did. Me and my brother were offered freshly made pancakes as we aren't fans of a Full Irish and loved them and the three course in the evening had plenty of choice and were well presented. Cannot express enough the praise to be given for this place, an asset to the hotel - especially its staff.
- The rooms were spacious (twin room had a single and a double bed). Everything was clean and although view of car park was disappointing it didn't matter too much.
- Great facilities (i.e. pool and gym) and reception staff even stretched to charge my phone with no hassle when I mentioned that I'd forgotten my charger at home. Plenty of spaces to sit around and relax in the hotel too.



Points to improve on:

- Entertainment was very limited to the 60+ market and was shocked to hear it was nothing but cabaret singing all through July and August - why not some Irish humor?
-Promised free entertainment at the ballroom every night as we were residents however there was a £10 fee for Wednesday's act, misleading and were instead put with the free entertainment a crowd of miserable Irish men.]
- Rooms very hot with no air con and very thick quilts did not help either.
-Bit of a walk to the town centre but I guess they can't help that!



As a whole it was a very enjoyable stay and the atmosphere presented by the staff was very warming and had a lasting impression, contributing greatly towards the enjoyment of our stay in Ireland!

Room Tip: If staying as a couple request the balcony rooms as although we didn't stay in them the people o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sionedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guests

I would like to thank you on behalf of all our team here at the Gleneagle for taking the time for posting your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting the food and staff and entertainment.

I just want to highlight that the rooms with the Balconies have a supplement of €10 per night on them but the 5th Floor do not have a balcony so no extra supplement but also have the lovely view of the national park.

We hope you get the opportunity to come stay with us in the near future again,
Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at Gleneagle for 4 nights Sunday-Thursday in a family room with my other half and 3 children aged 8,11 and 15yrs. Room was lovely on 3rd floor and newly renovated, bathroom had a bit more wear but perfectly clean. The only downfall was the extreme heat in room with no air-con which made sleeping very uncomfortable. The kids club and older kids room was thoroughly enjoyed by 2 youngest children. The kids entertainment is great fun in the green room in the evening and we also ate their one night which was fairly decent. We also used the pool everyday which was great. All staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast time is chaotic but hats off to the team for their efficient handling of it. Lady with blonde hair that seems to be in charge still has time for a smile and friendly chat while coping with a busy period. I would return to the hotel as it is perfect for families. A bonus would be some air con the next time!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyderrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest

We are very grateful for this complimentary review and for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for your lovely comments on your holiday, the entertainment and the Kids Clubs.

We are delighted you’re Family all enjoyed themselves and got to experience all aspects of what we have to offer. I am sorry that we do not have air con in the rooms, and I know with the recent humid weather this does make it uncomfortable at times, however we have a limited number of fans in stock which are available upon request, so if you are staying with us again and have this problem please just ask and we will provide a fan to you.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we certainly hope we get to welcome you back next year.

Many Thanks
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
429 reviews
1.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £85 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing