We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one word- awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one word- awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2009

Just returned from a trip at this hotel. Had stayed here a few years back and had enjoyed it so I was looking forward to a return visit. Was I mistaken! O verall appearence of hotel is dirty and dated, could really do with a facelift. Room was ok but bathroom was filthy. Had dinner in the restaurant, completely overpriced, poor quality food and bad service. Complained to manager and his response was not to come back again. Really poor hotel with shockingly bad service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleneagleManagement, General Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2009
We are disappointed at having failed to reach this member’s expectations during their brief stay with us. Having taken into account the various comments and ratings it is apparent to us that The Gleneagle was not the appropriate choice of accommodation for this particular couple. We believe our sister hotel, The Brehon, which is located nearby, may have better suited their tastes. When this couple made their dissatisfaction known to management, having listened to the issues raised we offered to move them to The Brehon. Opened in 2004, this is a four-star luxury hotel, with elegantly styled rooms, exquisite dining options and a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere.

At the Gleneagle our aim is to provide our guests with everything they need under one roof, whether it is a concert in the INEC, a cabaret act in the Ballroom or activities to keep the children occupied come rain or shine. We pride ourselves on our events and extensive leisure facilities. Seventy percent of guests are actually repeat visitors who constantly convey how much they enjoy their time with us. These include a diverse spectrum of people from corporate clients to people attending our many special interest breaks.

Our sister hotel, The Brehon, places special emphasis on luxury, fine dining and pampering. It is home to the famed Angsana Spa, the Euorpean flagship of the celebrity worshipped Banyon Tree Spa in Thailand. We therefore believe it would have better suited this couple’s expectations. Should they wish to discuss this matter further I would encourage them to contact me directly.

Many thanks
John Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    344
    164
    123
    120
See reviews for
402
383
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

Very dissapointed! Having stayed at the Gleagle on 3 prior occasions we were looking forward to this trip. We went on a tour with ulsterbus. We thought that we were treated like children on a Sunday school outing by the hotel staff. When we complained about having to queqe up to be admitted into a dining area the reception staff were hostile, as if that is what you are getting. It was more like a holiday camp! The dining room we were put in was really cramped. The waiter swould not serve a table untill it was full.ie. if a table for 8 had 7 people sitting at it no orders were taken untill a single person turned up. Very frustating indeed! The waiters spent more time explaining the policy of the hotel than serving. The food was not great, very little choice.
There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms,Health and safety! What rubbish of an excuse. Tea or coffee was available from room service. A tray carried at least 10 minutes through the hotel, in and out of lifts etc.,(when they working) is not recommended, never mind the cost.
The rooms were adequate but the beds were not very comforable. Double beds were 2 singles pushed together, they didn't quite meet as one was higher than the other.
The promised entertainment was dissapointing. The room used was much too small and most people were left outside unable to gain entry. Other local events took priority over guests. There is a larger events room which was empty. The "Gala" evening was a big dissapoinment. There were too many squeezed in at the tables. The entermaintment was a mediocore one man band.
The tour itself was quite good but the hotel was a big, big, dissapoinment.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleneagleManagement, General Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2009
We would like to thank this member for taking the time to post their feedback. We would also like to use this opportunity to encourage any of our guests, who are unhappy with an element of our establishment, to make themselves known to management or our Guest Relations team during their stay. Perhaps we would then be able to address the issue before they depart.

Many thanks
John Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

We booked our stay at the Gleneagle back in November and from the website it looked fabulous, so we were really excited about staying there at the end of January. Myself and 3 friends stayed two of us being mums one has mild cerebal palsey and another due to be married were going for a relaxing night away. Were we let down big time. The first let down was when we checked in and not being offered a porter to help with our bags, especially seeing that one of couldn't carry a bag. Second was the state of our rooms i really thought i had walked back in time. For 70 euro each the standard of room was terrible, bad decor, a broken veranda door in January, the bathroom was unreal , i have three children and my own bathroom was in better shape.I understand they are going through renovations but to find out they had newly renovated rooms available and to be given da bad ones was disappointing. The staff were even extremely rude to us when we asked could we be changed to these rooms. I have to mention the new rooms are lovely . We all just came away feeling let down when we paid so much for one night away and we were treated really badly.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — run down and staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmurph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GleneagleManagement, General Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2009
We, at the Gleneagle Hotel, would like to take this opportunity to thank this Trip Advisor member for taking the time to provide us with their feedback. We welcome feedback of every nature and utilise it accordingly, as customer satisfaction is our utmost priority. We are very disappointed to learn that even after this guest has been moved to our newly refurbished rooms that they were still dissatisfied with their stay. Had they informed us of this we would have taken further steps to attend to their concerns.

Many thanks
John Dolan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

We stayed in the Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney a few weeks ago and had an absolutely lovely time. We were there as part of a tour group, which generally doesn't always get you the best rooms, food or service. But we couldn't have had a nicer room, bright and spacious, with floor to ceiling windows and a balcony, overlooking the fields and mountains, every morning a herd of deer were in the field opposite having their breakfast!! The staff were exceptional. Polite, smiling, ever-attentive, we felt like we were in the Ritz in London! (I imagine, never having stayed there!) The food in the evenings was top rate, we raved about it - really delicious, and beautifully served on good quality crockery. We were totally satisfied with our stay. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel - you really made a difference. (Just to add at the end - I assure you I'm not ususally that effusive in my write-ups - only where it is deserved!)

  • Liked — Size and smartness of room, huge windows, balcony., big bathroom.
  • Disliked — Needed to be a lot warmer in the room!. Needs tea and coffee making facilitis.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athy, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

We always like to have a wee break in mid-Jan to get over the post Christmas blues etc and go to Killarney cos we have family close by. Anyway, this is the first time we have stayed at the Gleneagle River Apartments and we were delighted with them.
You check in at the main hotel reception and the welcome we got was wonderful. Staff v friendly and helpful.

The apt itself was a gem, lovely big hallway, all mod cons kitchen and even a seperate utility room with washing machine and dryer etc. We were only there for 2 nights so didnt use them, but would be perfect for a longer stay, especially when travelling with 3 young children.

The bedrooms were spacious, the bathrooms were massive and the whole place was spotlessly clean. And the underfloor heating is to die for. When we arrived the fire was lit and the place was so cosy. Also, there was a lovely welcome of cereal, milk, tea, coffee, bread, butter and jam. Perfect!
My only gripe and its just a wee one, is that there is no bath. When we go away, I love to have a relax in the tub while hubby watches the kids, so missed that. But apart from that they were perfect.

We had dinner in the hotel bar on the first night, it was lovely and our waiter was great. We also had use of the pool which is one of the main reasons we booked here.

We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — clean and spacious and fab kitchen. And the underfloor heating!
  • Disliked — no bath
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank declansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

I stayed at the Gleneagle while attending a conference in the conference center at the same location. The conference included meals and I found the service to be excellent all around. I had an older room that needed refurbishing but it was a good size and I could access the internet from my room. It's true that they are lacking tea/coffee service in the room and I was puzzled by the use of a piece of paper as a bathmat. They are working on updating the hotel so your experience will probably depend on which room you are in. The hotel is a good 15-20 min walk into Killarney but they provide a shuttle service for a small fee. The hotel seemed to cater to big busloads of people which may mean getting a meal at the restaurant may be difficult. I ate a the bar one night and was pleased by the food and again, friendly service. I thought it was a good value for the price and when they are finished updating all the rooms it will be a nice place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and friendly service
  • Disliked — Does need rennovation
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

After looking at the official website for this hotel I was expecting great things but found it to be a bit less inspiring in real life. No kettle and t-bags in my room (absolute essential!) and some of the decor was a bit tired looking especially in the bathroom.An electrical problem cropped up in our room which was fixed fairly promptly but did cause a bit of inconvenience, probably the wiring is needing replaced too! The pool was a real plus point but is not exclusive to hotel residents so can get busy at times. It takes about 15 mins to walk in to town. There are hundreds of places to stay in Killarney so unless a swimming pool is an absolute must then you might get better value for money elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nice pool
  • Disliked — No tea in room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katstervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#22 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#25 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing