We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartments great place for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Westmeath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Apartments great place for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at the apartments attached to the Gleneagle with our two young children and our au pair and it was the ideal place to stay with a family. The apartments was extremely spacious with plenty of room for everyone, two very large bedrooms, large living area/kitchen and two bathrooms. The accommodation was well equipped and nicely decorated and standard of cleanliness excellent, the apartment was serviced three times during our stay. There was some food in the apartment on arrival such as bread milk etc. The best thing about these apartments is that they are located within the Gleneagle/INEC/Brehon complex and you can use all of the facilities. We used the pool, play area etc and also attended events at night in the INEC, our little boy also attended the Barney show during the day and loved it. We ate bar food in the Brehon quite a lot and it was really excellent. We have stayed in the Brehon many times before but with the family in tow the apartments were ideal. Our au pair used the shuttle bus to Killarney from the main hotel which was very handy. All in all we had a fantastic family holiday with something to suit all ages and will definitely be back. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful and it was probably the most child friendly place we have ever stayed. It was nice to have the options of a nice drink in the Brehon on our door step in the evening of a show in the INEC yet still have the freedom and flexibility of self catering.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARPADJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    340
    158
    122
    119
See reviews for
395
376
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Negatives: Bedrooms in dire need of upgrade and dirty, on arrival given wrong room, had to order iron and ironing board 3 times before it arrived. Breakfast served until 11am, on 2 occasions, we arrived at 10:50am and told had to wait for free table, was called at 11:10, then buffet cleared at 11:15. When we mentioned this at check out, the Manager said "You got fed didn't you".
Buckets dotted around hotel to collect rainwater coming through roof.
Woken at 2:15am on Sunday night by two other female guests screaming at each other in corridor.
Positives: Leisure centre, childrens club and some staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank farmlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

My stay was with my wife, a few nights away to relax. From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff i was delighted with our room it was very clean,comfortable and when we needed anything the housekeeping staff were very helpfull, the resturant was great we were both very happy with the food. Having a shop in the hotel very handy was easy to get my hand on the paper, lesuire facilitlys were very clean and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights with family for a relatives wedding early 2009 which was held in the hotel. The rooms were nice and comfortable but I did feel there was something lacking. I do remember the weather was really bad so this could have been a lot to do with it and it being really quite that time of year. The breakfast was lovely everything you would want and it tasted great but I would go in to the town of Killarney for dinner, as the town has some great resturants for anyones fancy. The pool was fantastic, when I have kids I will be back because I found it was ideal for familys rather than a couples break but overall the hotel was lovely and think maybe I'll wait for kids to come along before I go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

My stay was for the scooby doo show, it was brillant the kids had a great time it was very enjoyable.Our family room was very clean,cosy and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpfull i am looking forward to see what show's will be there next year as i will definitly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephineCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
here
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Eew! My Wife and I spent time here in Aug. / Sept. '09. At the end of our stay, we stripped the bed ourselves, as a courtesy to the housekeeping staff. Imagine our horror when we found the bottom sheet had a ghastly BLOODSTAIN on the underside. It quickly became apparent that our sheets had been used by the previous occupant(s). In this day of AIDS and many other Blood diseases, (apart from feeling like we had slept in a public lavatory), we left feeling unclean. We spoke to Olivier Papin & Noreen O'Gorman (HEAD Housekeeper!) and received a letter dated, 04/09/09 which apologised for the lack of professionalism of the housekeeping staff...should you have occasion to visit us again in the future, ...I will arrange a FAVOURABLE rate...and an upgraded room IF AVAILABLE. Wow! This guy really bent over backwards to rectify the situation, didn't he?! NOT impressed. NOT returning to catch a nasty disease from their DIRTY, UNWASHED, SOILED, PREVIOUSLY USED ...AS IN IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE LAST OCCUPANT, FILTHY SHEETS. Mr. Papin, if you are reading this, please consider refunding my money, as I paid it in the belief that I would have clean bedding to sleep on. I still do not feel clean after my horrid discovery.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank menotyouHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

stayed with two siblings, in triple room. got good deal €120 a night for B&B thats for three of us. Nice room, very basic. no tea facilites. TV ok only few channels. only one key given between 3 of us, bit annoying. old fashioned decor, but clean. pool was nice and avl for ppl staying in hotel till 9 at night. nice lge pool, also steam room, sauna, and whirl pool. nice to relax after travelling all day. bit out of town, long walk in, but taxi not to dear. car parking is free. hotel is fancy enuf at reception. free entertainment at night for older people. buffet breakfast has everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#19 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing