We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McSweeney Arms Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at the McSweeney Arms for a weekend get away. Excellent! Our room was large, exceptionally clean and looked inviting. The bed was very comfortable and had extra pillows. The bathroom had nice fluffy towels. Did not have breakfast but did enjoy a pint in the pub. Short walking distance to everything in the city, 5 minute walk to the bus station, friendly and helpful staff - overall excellent stay - would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noname12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Owner at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at McSweeney Arms Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. I will be sure the pass on your compliments to my team here.
If you happen to visit Killarney again we would be delighted to have you stay at McSweeney Arms Hotel.

Thank You
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

McSweeney's is must stop for anyone looking to catch a bit of the match and great food too. The atmosphere is alive with both local golfers and international matches televised on screens throughout both the pub and restaurant. I found it to be a good balance with your choice to eat in either the restaurant or the adjacent bar with an open floor plan. The decor and feel of the place is welcoming to both singles and families. Found the service and staff to be some of the best experienced in Killarney. Seafood lovers should try the Seafood trio plate. On a different occasion I found the steak to hit the mark too. I highly recommend McSweeney's as a must stop for both the chat with the locals and a delicious meal - lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osagegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The group I was travelling with decided not to book rooms in advance on our trip, which meant that we'd have to go hotel-hunting when we arrived in each city. After scouting out several hotels in the heart of Killarney, we were about to settle on one of the places we had already seen when I wanted to check out one more I had spotted—the McSweeney Arms Hotel. We were greeted at the desk by a lovely young lady who was very accommodating to a group of Yanks that needed three rooms, sort of last-minute. I could not believe how nice and spacious our room was for the price, and the view of the city from the third floor was fantastic. We stayed for two nights and had a blast. The hotel was in an ideal location. The lot we parked in was just around the corner, and there was an abundance of pubs, shops, and other attractions within walking distance. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the hotel and speaking with him on a number of occasions during our stay. Mr. McSweeney was a delight to talk to and he made great suggestions on places to see in the time we had. The pub located on the ground floor of the hotel had good chowder and the bartenders provided fine service. If I ever find myself back in Killarney, I know I will be staying again at the McSweeney Arms.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the top floor for the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Owner at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Good Afternoon Sean C,

Wow thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. I remember when you all walked into the lobby and I was delighted I was able to accommodate all of you.

I love the photo of our key that you took, they are so vintage but it's true for you you'll never lose one!!

If you ever find yourself in Killarney again, be sure to call in.
We would be delighted to see you.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We are on a car drive around Ireland and stayed last night in McSweenys hotel. What a fantastic welcome from Tony. I asked for a quiet room and he obliged. The room was spotless and spacious and was quiet. The breakfast was very large and beautifully presented. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, not to be faulted but fantastic.will be back. Thanks Tony.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianMac103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Hello Mr Mac,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am delighted that you were able to get a good nights sleep. Tony remembers you both and he looks forward to seeing you again. He's not too equipped with technology so he has asked me to thank you for taking the time to write this superb review.

Thank you kindly.
Hope to see ye soon.
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My bother sister and my self booked into the hotel on the 11th June and as soon as we did the welcome we received was superb.Great place to base your self for kilarney and the ring of Kerry.hotel,bar.food.and people top notch.we come and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Kian2,

I must admit when I saw your heading "The welcome was" I got a slight fright!! However as I started reading your review the smile came back onto my face. The simple words "stay again" makes me a very happy manager and I will be passing on your kind words to all staff members who made your stay so memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We actually stayed in another Killarney hotel and I really wish we had stayed here. Particularly after reading the other reviews. I can only review the pub as we popped in to watch the England-Ireland friendly at the end of May. It was a great choice. The food was good, the bartender was spot on top of everything and the atmosphere was great. You could tell everyone was having a good time, including a few locals I think were hiding amongst the tourists. Definitely stop by, even if it's just to wet your whistle, while in Killarney.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sseaton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Sseaton68,

Thank you for your compliments about our bar and restaurant. We take great pride in our food and try our best to ensure that our customers have the best experience possible while with us.

We hope that if you make it back to Killarney again that you will stay with us.

Thank you for the review, I really appreciate it.

Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. Nice rooms, very clean and spacious. The bar and restaurant downstairs serve superb food at very reasonable prices. Bottles of water free of charge available in room. No coffee/tea making facilities in room, but available via kitchen/reception free of charge. Very friendly family run hotel, restaurant and bar. Biker friendly! Well worth a visit, conveniently located in Killarney centre.

Thank Arnie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,492 reviews
0 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
1,496 reviews
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McSweeney Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McSweeney Arms Hotel

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £107 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — McSweeney Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McSweeney Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the center of Irelands most famous tourist town Killarney. McSweeney Arms hotel is a three star family run hotel with a unique and friendly atmosphere. We hope that your next visit will be with us here personally in Killarney.Our bedrooms at McSweeney Arms Hotel are a home away from home. Comfort, quality and relaxation are essential to a good nights sleep, therefore at McSweeney Arms Hotel we promise to ensure all guests the best nights sleep possible. Each room has a unique style and loving touch. Perfect for a few nights away to explore the treasures of Killarney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your McSweeney Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing