We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel in Killarney, ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
McSweeney Arms Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family run hotel in Killarney, ireland”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Myself and 11 golfers stayed for 5 nights in June 21014. The accommodations, service, food and pub were excellent in every respect. Tony the owner helped me track my lost luggage, Kelly his daughter is sweet, competent and a joy at breakfast. the fresh fruit and Irish breakfast cannot be beat. All of this at an affordable price.The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants, pubs and all sorts of shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. It was great fun having you guys stay with us.

Hope to see you soon again.
Thank you
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    39
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
86
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved our 3 night stay at the McSweeney Arms Hotel. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given a room upgrade because we were staying for 3 nights. Our room was lovely, it was very large with a huge comfy bed and I loved the view of the street below.
The bar is a very nice space with wood panelled walls and stacks of sporting memorabilia. All the staff were outstanding, it really has that personal feeling you only get from a good family run hotel.
We ate our evening meals there all 3 nights, the food was that good. On the second night we lost track of time and returned after the restaurant had closed, Kate was wonderful and offered to get us soup and sandwiches which was delicious and very much appreciated.
I was so glad I chose this hotel, it had a good mix of locals and travellers in the bar. It is on the edge of town but a very short walk to the centre where there a more bars and restaurants. This area can be very noisy as it also caters for the young nightclub set.
If you plan to stay in Killarney this hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boingoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking to the time to write such a lovely detailed review. I remember that evening when you came in late, it was my pleasure to rustle up some sandwiches and soup for you both. We pride ourselves on being a family run hotel which has a personal touch therefore your review makes me very happy.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great spot with wonderful, friendly staff. So near the bars and shopping you'll want to visit yet just far enough away to not have to hear the partying noise. Good restaurant with a friendly bar. Super breakfast too. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for a great review. It is wonderful to hear such pleasant feedback. Yes our breakfast is pretty special. I think one morning Pauline counted 14 different fresh fruits on the buffet table..

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Springs, WY
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly located--a three minute walk to the train station, on the edge of downtown, close to fine pubs, restaurants, shops, and the TI. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a bird's eye view of the busy street below. One staff person took our luggage to our room, after giving us a room update (for staying 3 nights)--such a caring, responsive, hard-working guy...I wish I could recall his name. And the manager let my partner use his phone for a long distance call. He also immediately responded to a problem we had with the TV (due to our own ignorance, not the TV). He seemed to be on-duty at all times, and even did breakfast room duties. The housekeeping staff was excellent. The bar staff was friendly. In short, the McSweeney Arms Hotel was the best place we stayed during our 15 days of wandering around Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Wow what a great review. Thank you so much. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful day with us. Tony is a great hands on owner and he is more than happy to help guests with any issues.
Thank you
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cetnral Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very comfortable pub hotel in the center of Kilarney. The staff were exceptional in making us feel welcome and sharing touring tips in what turned out to be a very busy weekend. Unknowingly we had booked in the middle of the Rally of the Lakes. The cars, drivers, and fans turned the town into an exciting mix of Mardi Gras and spring break...a great festival atmosphere! A little noisy, but fun even at our age. Had an excellent dinner in the pub. Early the next morning we were on our way to enjoy the Ring of Kerry (armed with very helpful travel tips from the owners).

Room Tip: Don't miss the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penntraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I love your description of the Rally of the Lakes. I must say Tony is very good with his travel tips of the Ring of Kerry.

You will have to come back when it is a little quieter.

Thank you
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night,the hotel rooms and toilets are very clean,staff is good.Bit noisy in the night as the street is just outside so you may not get a good sleep.It is very near station and all tour buses depart near by.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony,room no 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girish Chandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Girish,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. I am thrilled you had a good stay with us. 304 is a lovely room with a great view of Killarney town. It is true the streets can get a little noisy mostly on a Saturday night when Killarney tends to turn into Bourbon Street New Orleans. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and we had outstanding hospitality from the start. Everyone made us feel extremely welcome and we had lots of laughs with the owners and the staff. The two rooms we were allocated had two double beds each and were roomy and well fitted out. Far roomier than these two golf guys usually expect! The hotel is slap bang in the middle of Killarney with everything in walking distance. The lack of hotel parking was not a problem as there was a huge car park across the road.

The shower was simple to use (for many hotels you need a degree in physics to get the right heat!) and powerful and the bath was large. The complimentary bath foams, soaps etc were plentiful and there was complimentary mineral waters alongside the usual teas, coffees, biscuits etc in the bedroom itself.

The hotel had a superb bar on one side and a stand alone restaurant on the other. Excellent food could be had in both. A superb choice of breakfast was served in the restaurant which looked brand new, bright and modern. As golfers who like a drink, the hearty Irish cooked breakfast was our first point of call every morning but there options for every taste.

This is a place I will come back to. Every famous golf course (Killarney, Waterville, Dooks, Ballybunion, Tralee et al) were all less than an hours drive away.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked good. Ireland is not a place for early starts so the traffic didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinneyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly Ann M, Manager at McSweeney Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Good Afternoon Mr Quinn

WOW Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am delighted you had such a great time. It was a pleasure to get to know you.

Hope to see you both again soon.
Thanks again
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McSweeney Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McSweeney Arms Hotel

Property: McSweeney Arms Hotel
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — McSweeney Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McSweeney Arms Hotel is ideally situated in the center of Irelands most famous tourist town Killarney. McSweeney Arms hotel is a three star family run hotel with a unique and friendly atmosphere. We hope that your next visit will be with us here personally in Killarney.Our bedrooms at McSweeney Arms Hotel are a home away from home. Comfort, quality and relaxation are essential to a good nights sleep, therefore at McSweeney Arms Hotel we promise to ensure all guests the best nights sleep possible. Each room has a unique style and loving touch. Perfect for a few nights away to explore the treasures of Killarney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your McSweeney Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing