We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy in Killarney”
Review of Killarney Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Killarney Lodge
Ranked #6 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cozy in Killarney”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with a convenient location, comfortable beds, great breakfast, and a welcoming staff, then Killarney Lodge is the place for you. We loved Mary and Catherine who took such lovely care with us. Got laundry done for $12 Euro a bag...dropped off in the morning and done by afternoon. The breakfasts were among the best we enjoyed in Ireland during a 3 week trip. I'm still dreaming of their cinnamon toasts covered in banana and honey... The parlor was comfy and tea and biscuits at the ready anytime you had a hankering for them. The rooms and beds were clean and very comfy. The location so close to town made it easy to walk in for supper or shopping. The jaunty cars are just across the way. I'd come back to this charmer any time! Thanks Killarney Lodge...our stay with you was one of the highlights of our trip. Very hospitable to golfers! Enjoyed Muckross Estate, Killarney-Killeen Golf course, and the drive to Kenmare is beautiful. Also drove the Dingle Peninsula. Killarney is a great place to stay while you explore the Rings of Kerry and Dingle. Great restaurants, good shopping. Pub life was boisterous and fun and the music was among the best we enjoyed in Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall. It was quiet and comfortable. Rooms overlook the parking area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    33
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
104
194
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The location is great. Catherine and her staff are so helpful, friendly and welcoming. The home is just charming.

If you are looking for a place to be close to a fun town to shop, eat, people watch -- this is it.

If you are looking for a place to get to great golf courses -- this is it.

If you are looking for a place to get to see the Ring of Kerry/ Dingle -- This is it!!!

Stay here -- you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Specify number of you and types of beds you are interested in! Maybe ask for a room away from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Killarney Lodge is very convenient to downtown Killarney (we walked to dinner each night) and about 2 km to the Muckross Estate. The room was very nice with a sitting area looking out into the garden. Free wi-fi. Tea and coffee making facilities aren't in the room but in the common sitting area with a nice selection of biscuits.

We had to leave very early one morning and they made sure to have breakfast items for us. While we didn't get the full Irish breakfast, we had a great selection of breads and pastries, fruit, cereal and yogurt.

The staff was helpful with directions and restaurant recommends. Highly recommend this!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This lodge has a very good location just 5 minutes walk to downtown Killarney, ample parking, a gracious hostess, warm and clean and elegant and comfortable. We didn't want to leave...
Breakast included fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and also included the full Irish breakfast for your enjoyment, or other Hot breakfast choices. Breakfast is served in a sunny room with lots of windows overlooking the back patio - very nice, as was the staff.
Our bedroom was a triple for we had our 12 year old son with us as well.The room was spacious and well appointed, with a lovely sitting area with table, and toiletries included as well. Everything in very good shape and no wear and tear. You truly felt like you were in someone's home with all the love that went into the details and comfort of each room.
The entry hall was warm and inviting, and always saw at least one person enjoying their sitting area as well. Would have loved to have enjoyed a cup of tea there, but had so much to do in Killarney! You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Thank you, Killarney Lodge!

Room Tip: A triple room had a double and a single. Spacious - ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaCanadafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at Killarney Lodge for 6 nights and found the lodge to be:

1. Very good condition, clean and centrally located
2. In room amentities were very good (especially hair dryer, in-room safe, free wi-fi)
3. Good variety and quality breakfast
4. Most importantly, found Catherine and the entire staff helpful and friendly

Catherine and the staff were very flexible when making and changing reservations. They also were very helpful in providing local touring tips and in arranging day trips. We were more than satisfied with our visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reyw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Killarney Lodge during a memorable few days in Ireland. It was a wonderful base to explore the fantastic Killarney National Park and in very close walking distance to the lovely town of Killarney which was buzzing with a festive atmosphere the night we arrived. Catherine and her husband are lovely and very welcoming hosts. We had a very large double room overlooking the garden. The bathroom was huge with a nice bath! This is a nice place to stay and excellent value for money. Breakfast was good with a very large choice available on the hot breakfast menu. We were lucky enough to be in Killarney for the horse races and absolutely loved the very picturesque Killarney race course!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellynMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just arrived home after staying bank holiday weekend at Killarney lodge. Stayed before and it never disappoints. It's a 4 star guesthouse but I've given it 5 cos it's worth it. I cannot fault it in anyway from start to finish. Catherine, her husband and all the staff made it a very enjoyable weekend. Recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohamsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Property: Killarney Lodge
Address: Killarney Lodge Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney lodge is a large four star guesthouse conveniently located within walking distance of the Town Centre, Killarney Lakes and world renowned National Park. Owned and managed by the Treacy family, Killarney Lodge provides a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere which will make your stay truly memorable. Spacious air conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV, radio, hairdryer, and direct dial telephone and complimentary wireless internet access. Secure car parking is available on the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing