We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly we will be back on summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #18 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Certainly we will be back on summer”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were in two couples. Me, my girfriend and other friends. We were really well received by the frendly Connor. We had not decided what to do in Killarney, but Connor had really good tips about the city and the Ring of Kerry. We put his ideas in pratice and we do not regret.

We enjoyed the rooms and the place, which is very beatiful. I believe that was the first time I ate real "homemade" irish breakfast. It was incrediable, I really recomend. Bridget (also a host) is lovely and we had very good talks, it was a really wonderful time.

Unfortunately we got some rain, but we promissed we're back on summer. I don't even have in mind to look for another accommodation in Killarney.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grnmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear grnmeira

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you all and advise you on the activities in Killarney.

You are not too far away, so you might decide to visit us again in the summer months.

Our best wishes for you,
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    51
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
105
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The B&B is only a few kilometers north Killarney and in a truly beautiful country setting (wooded with small river.) The accommodations were, in every respect, excellent. Our host were extremely helpful in directing us to out-of-the-way/less visited places of interest and the traditional Irish breakfast was "traditional," i.e. outstanding! It also helped that my wife "fell in love" with the pastured horse across the road fro Gleann Fia. She even brought it an apple or two!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Jim M

Thank you for your review of your stay with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit. As for the horse across the road he has moved on but we are still here and looking forward to a busy summer.
Best wishes for you and your family.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Gleann Fia Country House that was a key component to a perfect holiday. This is operated on a five star level where the guests lack for nothing. It is a serene setting complete with rushing stream and lovely landscape. Conor and Bridgette are perfect hosts and excellent advisors for trip plans. If you need to know anything from tour advice to even music selection in the very comfortable day room, just ask. The rooms are of course clean and well appointed. The food I is perfectly prepared with quite a variety of selection. The local area is an excellent spot from which to launch many trips in different directions. I hope to be fortunate enough to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear astbear

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are happy that you were comfortable and we also enjoyed your company.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Ireland and travelled home safe. Perhaps one day we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Gleann Fia.

Best wishes.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Whilst the weather conditions were not ideal in Killarney and the Ring of Kerry, the accommodatlon and our friendly hosts more tha compensated.

Our room was warm and welcoming and Connor (the host) was full of local information on the Ring as well as on the sights further North such as The Rock of Cashel.
The food was superb - from the daily homemade bread to the preserves. We couldn't have wished for more.

Gleann Fias is set in superb grounds, next to a river - making it a peaceful location but close enough to Killarney to access the restaurants and pubs. It is a ideal location from which to explore the Ring of Kerry and local sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Maureen B

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in December of 2013 and sorry for the delay with our reply.
Yes December is a quiet month for visitors but all locals are looking forward to Christmas / New Year with family coming home to visit.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Ireland and travelled home safe. thank you again for staying with us and you never know maybe one day you will find yourself in Killarney again.

Best wishes,
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here recently while on a two day photography course in Kerry, the guest house was part of the package so we had no say in choosing it, but what a lucky find......from the time we arrived we had such a welcome from Conor who was informative and helpful, and a good cook also. Sadly we never met Brigid on this occasion, but maybe next time. We will definately come back. The bedroom was clean with plenty hanging and drawer space,and en suite. The downstairs rooms comfortable with a welcoming fire to greet us when we arrived in wet and chilled to the bone. And the honesty bar worked very well with plenty of choice. Thank you Conor

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Travellor60.

Thank you very much for your kind words and comments regarding your stay with us. I remember your photography party very well. October can be damp and unfortunately the weather was not kind that weekend. If I recall the flight from Kerry was also questioned due to the sudden downturn in the weather.

Hopefully you will return for another shoot and enjoy a more pleasant weather weekend.

Best wishes always.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I found this lovely B&B on the Internet and it was exactly what I pictured it to be! It is beautiful, charming, relaxing, and my family felt so comfortable there we only wished we had planned to stay longer! Connor and Bridget were so friendly and helpful. When we were leaving I felt sad to say goodbye, as if they were our relatives we had come to visit. The breakfast was delicious and eating by the fire was so relaxing. The perfect way to start the day. In the evening our family relaxed in the sitting room and enjoyed some hot tea and conversation before retreating to our lovely room. Connor even went out of his way to help us with an issue we had with a hotel we had booked in Dublin for the end if the week. He even went as far as speaking with the hotel directly and negotiating for us to get a room upgrade at no cost! We are so thankful to Connor and Bridget for making our first trip to Ireland a wonderful experience we will never forget! By the way, we had our four young children with us and they went out of their way to make our kiddos feel right at home. I want to plan a trip to come back to Ireland just to stay at the Gleann Fia again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicmommy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear musicmommy4

What a nice review to get from a lovely, friendly and gracious family. We were so lucky that you found us and delighted to assist you with a very small issue with your accommodations in Dublin.
I know its October of 2013 that you were with us but I do recall your time with us with a fond memory. I hope that one day you all will find the time to visit again and until then you are in our top ten.

Best always for your family,

Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Great charm and lovely setting for this well needed respite. Close to town and filled with plenty of suggestions for things to do as well as maps too. Connor was more Han helpful and a great chef w breakfast too! And really saved us when we realized we had the wrong adapters for our electronics!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlnyc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear travelgirlnyc25

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay with us in October. Indeed I recall your adventure with the electrics and happy to help out.

We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in Ireland and got home safe and well.
With our best wishes for you and your family,

Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#11 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Property: Gleann Fia Country House
Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing