We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great country stay in near Killarney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #18 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Marys, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great country stay in near Killarney”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We really enjoyed a 2 day stay at Gleann Fia in May. Connor & Bridget are full of information about the area and were really helpful.
Gleann Fia sits in a beautiful place in the country, surrounded by many flowers in May, and has a fabulous babbling brook running right next to it.
Our room was large and had a very large bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor so we had 29 steps to negotiate, but it wasn't bad at all. The house has a lot of charm and the breakfast area and solarium are a truly great place to enjoy their full Irish breakfasts.
They also have a pretty complete honor bar in the solarium.
Connor's suggestion that we drive the Ring of Kerry vs taking a bus was much appreciated. So was the advice to take the ferry to Valentia Island during the drive. It was the best part of the Ring of Kerry drive. If I return to Ireland, and I probably will, Gleann Fia will be one of the places I'll book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear jerryott.

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us and your experience of Killarney, Ring of Kerry and the County.

You did a great deal of sightseeing in the 2 days you were with us and we hope you had a safe trip home.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

Our best wishes,
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    51
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
109
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ok... I visited Killarney with People to People Student Ambassadors in 1997. I realize 17 years has lapsed, but I have thought about the Gleann Fia ever since. The beds were so warm and cozy and I love the room with the tub by the window! The food was fantastic and we were treated like family. There were 30 teenagers in this country house and the host and hostess were like our Grandparents. I will always have a place in my heart for this bed and breakfast. If I ever have another chance to visit Ireland I will definitely be making reservations at Gleann Fia!

ps. Is there still a donkey in the front yard? He was fabulous too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCJohnson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear SCJohnson82

Better late than never and you write after 17 years. This must be a record and I am sure the Irish Tourist board would love to hear from you.

Your memories are lovely and nice to read. The donkey had to go as he was getting old and a little cross with people feeding him and giving him all the attention.

You should plan a return visit - sure you will see change but I think all for the better for our Country and people.

Good wishes for you and greetings from Killarney and Gleann Fia.

Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were in two couples. Me, my girfriend and other friends. We were really well received by the frendly Connor. We had not decided what to do in Killarney, but Connor had really good tips about the city and the Ring of Kerry. We put his ideas in pratice and we do not regret.

We enjoyed the rooms and the place, which is very beatiful. I believe that was the first time I ate real "homemade" irish breakfast. It was incrediable, I really recomend. Bridget (also a host) is lovely and we had very good talks, it was a really wonderful time.

Unfortunately we got some rain, but we promissed we're back on summer. I don't even have in mind to look for another accommodation in Killarney.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grnmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear grnmeira

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you all and advise you on the activities in Killarney.

You are not too far away, so you might decide to visit us again in the summer months.

Our best wishes for you,
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The B&B is only a few kilometers north Killarney and in a truly beautiful country setting (wooded with small river.) The accommodations were, in every respect, excellent. Our host were extremely helpful in directing us to out-of-the-way/less visited places of interest and the traditional Irish breakfast was "traditional," i.e. outstanding! It also helped that my wife "fell in love" with the pastured horse across the road fro Gleann Fia. She even brought it an apple or two!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Jim M

Thank you for your review of your stay with us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit. As for the horse across the road he has moved on but we are still here and looking forward to a busy summer.
Best wishes for you and your family.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Gleann Fia Country House that was a key component to a perfect holiday. This is operated on a five star level where the guests lack for nothing. It is a serene setting complete with rushing stream and lovely landscape. Conor and Bridgette are perfect hosts and excellent advisors for trip plans. If you need to know anything from tour advice to even music selection in the very comfortable day room, just ask. The rooms are of course clean and well appointed. The food I is perfectly prepared with quite a variety of selection. The local area is an excellent spot from which to launch many trips in different directions. I hope to be fortunate enough to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear astbear

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are happy that you were comfortable and we also enjoyed your company.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Ireland and travelled home safe. Perhaps one day we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Gleann Fia.

Best wishes.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Whilst the weather conditions were not ideal in Killarney and the Ring of Kerry, the accommodatlon and our friendly hosts more tha compensated.

Our room was warm and welcoming and Connor (the host) was full of local information on the Ring as well as on the sights further North such as The Rock of Cashel.
The food was superb - from the daily homemade bread to the preserves. We couldn't have wished for more.

Gleann Fias is set in superb grounds, next to a river - making it a peaceful location but close enough to Killarney to access the restaurants and pubs. It is a ideal location from which to explore the Ring of Kerry and local sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Maureen B

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in December of 2013 and sorry for the delay with our reply.
Yes December is a quiet month for visitors but all locals are looking forward to Christmas / New Year with family coming home to visit.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Ireland and travelled home safe. thank you again for staying with us and you never know maybe one day you will find yourself in Killarney again.

Best wishes,
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here recently while on a two day photography course in Kerry, the guest house was part of the package so we had no say in choosing it, but what a lucky find......from the time we arrived we had such a welcome from Conor who was informative and helpful, and a good cook also. Sadly we never met Brigid on this occasion, but maybe next time. We will definately come back. The bedroom was clean with plenty hanging and drawer space,and en suite. The downstairs rooms comfortable with a welcoming fire to greet us when we arrived in wet and chilled to the bone. And the honesty bar worked very well with plenty of choice. Thank you Conor

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Travellor60.

Thank you very much for your kind words and comments regarding your stay with us. I remember your photography party very well. October can be damp and unfortunately the weather was not kind that weekend. If I recall the flight from Kerry was also questioned due to the sudden downturn in the weather.

Hopefully you will return for another shoot and enjoy a more pleasant weather weekend.

Best wishes always.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
942 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#25 of 140 in Killarney
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#14 of 140 in Killarney
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Property: Gleann Fia Country House
Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing