We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality and friendly atmosphere.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleann Fia Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #18 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,761 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,160 helpful votes
“Hospitality and friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found Gleann Fia by serendipity and liked the place very much. We stayed three nights instead of one which was our initial plan. We enjoyed the country setting, the pretty surrounding, tasty food and good advice we received. We occupied 2 pleasant rooms, spent some time in a sitting room and used their honor system bar. The place is interesting and friendly. The hosts are very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Dear podrozniczka60

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of your stay with us. We are very pleased that you stayed over an extra 2 nights as there is so much to see and do in the Killarney / Kerry area and you enjoyed it.

We hope the remainder of your holiday was good for you and your family.

With every good wish for you all in the coming years.

Bridget and Conor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    50
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
61
102
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed two nights at Gleann Fia to see the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. This is a nice, quiet accommodation near upbeat Killarney. Conor is full of helpful information - he made dinner reservations for us at terrific restaurants both nights in town.

The accommodations were comfortable; breakfast was delicious and complete. We enjoyed meeting both Conor and Bridget and experiencing their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icemantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Dear icemantravel.

Thank you for your review and nice comments regarding your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland and had a safe journey home.

With our best wishes for you both and your families.

Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

As the name suggests this is a country house set in its own grounds and about 2km from Killarney centre. It would be possible to walk into town but probably not advisable. The drive is only 5 minutes and the car parks did not charge after 18.30. The location is very quiet.

Conor and Bridgit were very friendly and welcoming and gave us much detailed information on the area and which restaurants to consider. We were not disappointed with anything they suggested. They have obviously worked hard to develop a country house atmosphere with lots of books and ornaments around the place There was plenty of armchairs etc in which to sit if one wished to read the books.

Our bedroom was comfortable if perhaps a little old-fashioned. Some of the furniture, whilst supporting the country house image, had perhaps seen better days and it's a while since I've come across blankets on the bed. Nonetheless it was clean and tidy and more than met our needs.

Breakfast was nice but I wonder whether they need to "up their game" and offer a little more than just eggs and bacon for a cooked breakfast. The addition of sausage, baked beans or mushrooms? However it was freshly cooked and set us up for the day.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Dear Raymond S.

Thank you very much for your very comprehensive review of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write and note your comments.

Refurbishment is ongoing and we do our best to maintain the atmosphere of a Country House Guesthouse. I think you understand this very well.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland and hopefully one day in the future we will have the pleasure of your company again.

With our best wishes.
Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thank you Bridgit and Conor for our trip. We have visited your House a couple of times now, and there will certainly be many more visits (hopefully). You were both so helpful and friendly to us, and it was a pleasure to be able to stay in such a beautiful house. The food was wonderful, and the rooms were warm and inviting. We were also so lucky with the weather, which made our trip even better. Anyway Thank you both again. Aidan and Derron Troute.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Aidan T

Thank you for visiting us again along with your kind words regarding your recent stay with Bridget and I.

It was great to see you arrive on the bike and taking to the entertaining roads of County Kerry. November is rolling in, the nights getting longer but looking forward to seeing you both in the not too distant future.

Our very best wishes for you and your family this Christmas and New Year.

Conor and Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just visited Ireland with two other couples and enjoyed it very much. After driving the Ring of Kerry on a Sunday, and having a rather long day, we decided to pick up some lunch and refreshments before arrival to our accommodation at the Glenn Fia Country Lodge. However, at that time of evening, most stores were closed, but we managed to find enough food to help us get by until the next morning.
On arrival at Glenn Fia, we received a cool reception about bringing in our food and refreshments, but Coner agreed he would allow it for that one night under the circumstances. We were unaware that they had an Honor Bar System and most of us were not familiar with it. On retiring to the Conservatory, we decided that we would have one drink each to honor the system in place. This we done and wrote our purchases on a sticky note, so we could settle up next morning. We then consumed some of our own wine and had a very relaxing night, leaving the empty bottles by the garbage.
The following morning there was a lot of confusion over what we had consumed. It appears that instead of paying by the glass (e.g. wine) we should pay by the bottle, as they have no way of telling how big a glass of wine is consumed. In order to avoid this type of situation, there must be clearer rules on how the Honor System works and what is expected of those who participate in it. All in all a lovely B & B but it was too bad our reception and departure were a little cool, mostly due to misunderstanding and confusion.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Rita B.

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

Can I clarify please, on your arrival I welcomed you as 6 adult guests for the night. After you registered I set out to introduce you to the local attractions of Killarney and Co Kerry. I then informed you of the breakfast times and facilities for guests that is, the lounges for relaxing, availing of a tea coffee biscuits, our honor bar as to how it worked and gardens with river walks. Now I have to say over the years (10+) we have never had confusion with the honor bar, pour yourself a drink, write it and pay on departure.

Only then, one of your party told me that you all had a late lunch and you brought some sandwiches, beer and wine along with you for the evening.

You were in for the night and I gave you plates, napkins and cutlery. Perhaps you thought you were the only guests and I had to talk with you regarding the consumption of your food and drinks as other guests can find it uncomfortable to see people sitting at coffee tables eating food. In our experience they will leave the room. Please understand I have no problem with you having a sandwich however I have to think of all guests, their comfort along with yours.

On your departure next morning, you say there was confusion. I am told that there was a lot of empties and we were only asking what you had from the honor bar. I have no say on glasses or bottles.

Otherwise, we are very pleased that you had a relaxing evening and enjoyed your stay in our Guesthouse. We also hope that you enjoyed your visit to Ireland and traveled home safe and well.

Yours sincerely,
Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This lovely country house is a great setting for a b &b. The lovely rooms and relaxing sitting rooms made for a relaxing home from home stay. Hosts and staff were very nice and friendly. Breakfasts were really nice and definately set you up for the day. All that and It is just 5 mins drive from Killarney. Definately to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear LauraLa1

Thank you for your review and very positive kind words regarding your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us. You did a great deal while here and we hope the remainder of your Ireland visit was enjoyable.

We wish you both good health in the coming years.

Regards for now,

Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish in Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I came here with my daughter and we had a great time. . Meandering through the woodlands and adjoining river. We lit the fire with Bridget and shared fireside stories. A truly fantastical stay for when you want quality time with your family and friends and to get away from it all...and the added bonus is...pets are welcome. We just loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gannygab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear gannygab.

Thank you for your review and its nice that both you and Bridget had this quality time together by the fire. Its guests like you make good and memorable times for us and we thank you for choosing us.

You must return to walk the river and woodlands again and also enjoy the attractions of Killarney and Kerry.

Every good wish for you and your daughter.

Bridget and Conor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.7 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#16 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Property: Gleann Fia Country House
Address: Gleann Fia Gleann Fia Lower Coolcorcoran | Kilcummin Road, Killarney Latitude 52.07503 Longitude -9.50655, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing