We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed my stay very much!”
Review of Torc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torc Hotel
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“enjoyed my stay very much!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my boyfriend had the pleasure of staying 2 nights last week for my cousins wedding and were both pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay!

Rooms are clean, spacious and modern. Staff are friendly and accommodating in the breakfast area and also in the bar! The beds are comfy and there is minimal noise from other guest or the bar area, this surprised me as the hotel was packed and a wedding party was going on.

The wedding itself, the service for the meal was fantastic. There was plenty of staff and the service was speedy. the decoration of the hall was lovely.

The food for the wedding meal, bar food and the breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    55
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
53
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The nine of us from Llyn Bikers had a superb stay! The staff were very helpful and accomodating, food was good and reasonably priced as were the bar tariffs! The locals were very friendly adding to a great atmosphere. Room was excellentm, my only critism being that wifi is only available in the bar & reception areas at present. This I'm sure will be addressed in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hello to all at Darby O'Gills!
May I on behalf of all who stayed with you over the last weekend, thank you all, Eileen, Brendan, Mary, Michael, Chef and everyone else how looked after us so well! Chef for the great cake and feeding us so well! Brendan for turning in early I think so we could have an early breakfast on the day we were leaving and for being a gentleman throughout our stay. Everyone was just so friendly and kind to our group! Now I and the club want to thank Eileen especially for waiting for us when we arrived late on our first night and for being just wonderful and kind to us all weekend. Nothing was too much bother for you for which I would like to thank you personally!
The feedback from our guys & galls was nothing but very high praise where Darby's was concerned. I personally hope to be coming back to see you again in the future with another group and maybe a couple of this group too!
Until the next time, kindest regards.
Eifion Roberts
The Beicwyr llyn Bikers Club (Welsh Bikers)
North Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffith E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH151, General Manager at Torc Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am delight that you all enjoy your stay and I hope to see you again when you next visit the Kerry area.

kind regards

Brendan Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel recently. We had stayed here on a previous trip but noticed a huge improvement in the rooms this time. Meals where delicious and service was top quality. Staff where friendly in all areas of the hotel and we where greeted by one of the nicest and friendliest staff members at reception on arrival. It was a very enjoyable stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 810Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was adequate ,clean ,spacious family room,our newly done up family room was very nice.plenty of hot water,great breakfast on first morning,same on second morning but service was very poor.there seems to very little staff on to get help with any needs.The hotel in general is old fashioned nothing for kids,and too far from the town.

Room Tip: Get the new family rooms with flat screen tellys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and 8 month old has a room reserved for one night. On our arrival at 5.30pm the room was not ready as rooms were being refurbished. A room was offered but had not space for a travel cot. We were not offered any refreshments or baby changing/feeding facilities while we waited so we left to return at 9pm. The room was freshly painted and the fumes were overwhelming, dangerously so as the window could only be opened a fraction. The noise from the bar music allied with the fumes and heat meant we did not sleep well. Breakfast was an abysmal affair of cheap cereal, watered juices and toasting bread. The cooked breakfast was of poor quality and greasy. On a health and safety note there was no fire evacuation safety notice in the room neither were we verbally told of one. There was no hair dryer or information on the area in the room either On checkout I was struggling with baby and luggage as my husband had left earlier on a cycle, there were three staff members talking at reception as I stood waiting to check out. The receptionist rose her head to me and said you can leave your keys there and that was it. No plesantries, no enquiries as to how our stay was and no offer to help with our bags. I phoned the hotel on three occasions to talk about our experience and my calls were not returned. I will never visit this establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparky20132013, General Manager at Torc Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. At the moment we are renovating the hotel which in some small way did not allow us to cater for your needs. Hopefully you will return in 2014 when all work will have finished and you can enjoy what we have to offer.

Regards,
Brendan Downes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I dont understand previous good reviews.
I thought rooms were finished poorly and i felt ripped off given the price. Food in bar was grand however it felt odd to be given the bill without request after placing order for mains, what about further drinks desert tea coffee ! Desert menu looked promising but after that couldnt be bothered. Great example of irish hospitality for the foreigners joining us who were wondering was this normal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndcarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparky20132013, Manager at Torc Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel. This is very helpful for all future planning. From the start of 2013 we are in the process of renovating the complete hotel which will be finshed by early 2014. Hopefully you will return and enjoy the improvements we have made
Regards
Brendan Downes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
2.8 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torc Hotel

Property: Torc Hotel
Address: Torc Hotel Lissivgeen, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torc Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torc Hotel A warm welcome awaits. Conveniently situated on the outskirts of Killarney Town, offering Superior & Delux rooms. The Torc Hotel commands beautiful views Kerry countryside & Mangerton Mountain. Close to many visiter attractions and free on-site parking the hotel is ideal for families or couples looking for a relaxing break in the Kerry region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Torc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby o Gills Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing