We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Darby O'gill's Country house Hotel very enjoyable, highly recommend it”
Review of Torc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torc Hotel
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend in Darby O'gill's Country house Hotel very enjoyable, highly recommend it”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Myself and my husband have just arrived back from a week-end in Darby's. We were very impressed with both staff and management. Our room was bright, warm, clean,very comfortable bed. Delicious food and friendly service, bar staff friendly and helpful,a few minutes drive from centre of Killarney. It's really quiet, relaxed, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. We highly recommend it and will definitely return in early 2014.

Room Tip: Always check your room first before you check in for noise from outside, also inspect the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    55
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
53
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had the pleasure of celebrating the most important day of our lives here.In fact we were so looked after we stayed 3 nights.
We celebrated our wedding her on October the 3rd 2013.From start to finish the staff here did nothing but cater to our needs to the best of our abilities.They are all polite, friendly, kind and very accomodating.The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations, ok it is a slight bit dated but its kept spotless!The food is second to none, all of our guests raved about our wedding meal.It was hot, fresh and delicious.The breakfast is the exact same, cooked to order and from fresh.The staff were kept up a few lates nights with us after taking over most of the hotel for the first 2 nights at least and did not complain once or show any sign that they were tired of us.The manager Brendan is extremly helpful, efficient and knows his stuff.He literally thought of every little detail, stuff I hadnt thought of myself and was very very helpful towards me, the bride on my wedding day.He kept everybody happy!Eileen on reception is one of the nicest receptionist you will meet.She also is very good at her job!She had the pleasure of organising all the rooms for the 3 days and with a lot of chopping and changing, never once made me feel that there would be a problem.Id say I had to phone her about 20 times to change and add people, put people on the same floor. Make sure people were in right location in hotel for their needs and Eileen took this task in her stride.All in all we were delighted we picked this hotel as our wedding venue.The friendly, homely atmosphere made for a pleasant stay and really lovely wedding.We had our ceremony here too and that made things so at ease for the rest of the day as it minused travel so our guests got set up nicely with a bit of music and reception while we took off only down the road to Muckross, Ross Castle direction for a few snaps.I would reccommend this hotel for any kind of stay.The staff will make you feel at home in the cosy atmosphere of this lovely friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatKH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

when you are having fun at a set dancing weekend, you are prepared to put up with a lot, but this year, you cannot fault this beautifully located Killarney hotel. Under the new management, things run to perfection. Obliging staff, delicious food served promptly, lovely new rooms, and all punches pulled to keep all customers happy. . If only I could find a way to pack my wonderful, had-made, double-sprung bed in my suitcase: never slept so well. And I hear they are planning more improvements. Definitely THE place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limerickbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked it because being the cheapest option in an amazing area, looked quite alike to the more expensive options. And so it was. It's obviously not a posh fancy hotel. But it's clean and friendly (in my experience), comfortable overall. With a reasonable priced breakfast until 12 and a convenient (but not awesome) pub with food (just ok) and live music.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haidee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my boyfriend had the pleasure of staying 2 nights last week for my cousins wedding and were both pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay!

Rooms are clean, spacious and modern. Staff are friendly and accommodating in the breakfast area and also in the bar! The beds are comfy and there is minimal noise from other guest or the bar area, this surprised me as the hotel was packed and a wedding party was going on.

The wedding itself, the service for the meal was fantastic. There was plenty of staff and the service was speedy. the decoration of the hall was lovely.

The food for the wedding meal, bar food and the breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The nine of us from Llyn Bikers had a superb stay! The staff were very helpful and accomodating, food was good and reasonably priced as were the bar tariffs! The locals were very friendly adding to a great atmosphere. Room was excellentm, my only critism being that wifi is only available in the bar & reception areas at present. This I'm sure will be addressed in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hello to all at Darby O'Gills!
May I on behalf of all who stayed with you over the last weekend, thank you all, Eileen, Brendan, Mary, Michael, Chef and everyone else how looked after us so well! Chef for the great cake and feeding us so well! Brendan for turning in early I think so we could have an early breakfast on the day we were leaving and for being a gentleman throughout our stay. Everyone was just so friendly and kind to our group! Now I and the club want to thank Eileen especially for waiting for us when we arrived late on our first night and for being just wonderful and kind to us all weekend. Nothing was too much bother for you for which I would like to thank you personally!
The feedback from our guys & galls was nothing but very high praise where Darby's was concerned. I personally hope to be coming back to see you again in the future with another group and maybe a couple of this group too!
Until the next time, kindest regards.
Eifion Roberts
The Beicwyr llyn Bikers Club (Welsh Bikers)
North Wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffith E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IH151, General Manager at Torc Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am delight that you all enjoy your stay and I hope to see you again when you next visit the Kerry area.

kind regards

Brendan Downes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
394 reviews
2.2 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
2.8 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torc Hotel

Property: Torc Hotel
Address: Torc Hotel Lissivgeen, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torc Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torc Hotel A warm welcome awaits. Conveniently situated on the outskirts of Killarney Town, offering Superior & Delux rooms. The Torc Hotel commands beautiful views Kerry countryside & Mangerton Mountain. Close to many visiter attractions and free on-site parking the hotel is ideal for families or couples looking for a relaxing break in the Kerry region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Torc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby o Gills Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing