We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Rooms leave a lot to be desired.”
Review of Failte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Failte Hotel
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed 10 August 2005

The benefit of staying at Failte Hotel was obvious from the moment my husband and I entered Killarney Town, LOCATION! The first major street we came to when rolling into town was College Street and a couple of blocks down, there was the Failte. It is located right in the heart of the town, within walking distance from everything and side by side to the colorful storefronts we had seen in the towns we travelled through on the way to Killarney.

However, outside of location, the Failte Hotel does not have a lot going for it. To get to the rooms, you must climb up to the third floor up a rather narrow staircase (not the easiest to navigate with luggage.) But, my main complaint was the lack of cleanliness. There was dried toothpaste on the wall above the sink. The carpet was visibly dirty with little pieces of something on it in several places. And, worse yet, the sheets were not clean. There were hairs and other little crumbs on them.

The room was decorated very plainly and somewhat outdated. The room was also very small with a shower so tiny your body nearly touched the walls while you were in it.

Another negative was that you were never really given the chance to interact with the staff as you do in other B&B's. There is not really a registration desk, you must go inside the restaurant to check in and out and it was unclear really who were the owners, etc.

Killarney is wonderful and very worth the visit. Do not miss eating at The Fresk and experiencing the sing-a-long music at The Danny Mann.

For those of you considering Killarney to drive the Ring of Kerry, drive the Ring of Kerry beginning at Killarney travelling through Kenmare and down to about Sneem. Then turn around. The vistas are not nearly as impressive on the other half of the drive and there is so much to see in Killarney your time would be better spent not driving the whole ring.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eggarcellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 105 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Saint Paul, Minnesota
112
Reviewed 14 August 2003

Great place to stay! Had a wonderful time at their 5 star restaurant, (the lamb is awesome!) many fun nights at the bar and good conversations with the owners. The location in town is very nice, in the middle of everything, as well as waking to a picturesque view of the town in the morning. Overall a wonderful stay and next time I go back, I'll stay nowhere else but the Failte!

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jfema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Restaurant moyen (hôtel pas testé)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Minimonde76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank akbar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.9 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#24 of 38 in Killarney
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
780 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Failte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Failte Hotel

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £68 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Failte Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Failte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing