We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Ireland!”
Review of Earls Court House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Earls Court House
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
“Best place in Ireland!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

In our 70's, and after years of traveling, we consider the Earls Court House Hotel in Killarney as the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed in. Our experience made it obvious that the the owners, Emer & Ray Moynihan, put their hearts and souls into their beautiful, antique filled house. Emer greeted us cheerfully every day and helped us with many aspects of our delightful stay in Killarney including calling and making me an appointment with her doctor when I needed a prescription. The breakfast was delicious and everything was very fresh. They serve tea and fresh baked goodies every afternoon and there is an excellent restaurant close to the hotel. In addition, they are happy to make a lunch or snack for you and serve you drinks in the homey, book filled living room. In their pursuit of excellence, the Moynihans have "raised the bar" to new heights that hopefully other hotels will attempt to emulate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MassachusettsSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    127
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
160
371
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If only all establishments could be as good as this. It is located close to the the city centre and the national park, but far enough away to avoid the noise and bustle. Rooms are large, tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean and have large ensuites. Staff are polite, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding. Public areas are large and comfortably furnished, with complimentary afternoon tea provided. There is ample free parking. The only (minor) drawback is the lack of a restaurant, but there is an excellent bar/bistro just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwin_AustraliaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our family stayed here for two nights in May. The hotel was very easy walking distance into town and the staff was extremely helpful in making recommendations and reservations. The rooms were big and the breakfast was great. For dinner, try Mareena's. Very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We book this hotel the day of, just coming off the Ring of Kerry, and were well accommodated as a group of 3. Nice rooms, very clean, friendly staff, plenty of parking, reasonable price. Easy walk to main street and to restaurants... a good distance to avoid city center traffic. Good breakfast w/ both continental items and made-to-order items from the menu are both included in the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reganrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

In Kerry for weekend stayed in Paknasilla for first two days on B & B basis, they were booked out for the third day so we ended up staying in Earls Court Hotel in Killarney on our last night. we were upgraded from the deluxe King to the four poster suite for free. The level of service was unbelievable, it was like being at home, the staff couldn't be more helpful. breakfast the following morning was the most enjoyable I've had in a hotel. while others may have a slightly more extensive selection, everything that was presented was fresh and tasty. We couldn't find any fault there.While Parknasilla was nice and had options like the spa, this was streets ahead in room quality, service and friendliness for the same price Will be booking it for 20th wedding anniversary next month

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at Earl's Court.
Great location on edge of Killarney allowing you to get on and off Ring if Kerry easily.
Rooms are newer with nice appointments. Great bathrooms with double sinks, large shower stall.
Lovely sitting room downstairs with loads of tourist information.
Beds OK, good linens.
Breakfast was in a large restaurant style room - good choices and seemed well done.
The only caution I'd provide is that if you are looking for an experience that feels through and through Irish, old Irish, this place may resemble too much a typical North American hotel for that. Great if you're looking to stay at home while in Ireland or for a large group. But, maybe our least Irish stay of a 14 night trip. Nevertheless a very nice spot.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DuffsWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just back from earls court after staying wite my wife for 3 nights. This is the best hotel i stayed i Ireland . The room and bathroom where a good size and spotless also the room has a balcony this was a big plus. The choice of food for breakfast was fantastic. Emer and her staff are so helpfull and friendly . I would recommend this hotel big time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,187 reviews
3.3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earls Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earls Court House

Property: Earls Court House
Address: Courtmurph House Muckross Road | Woodlawn Junction, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#5 Family Hotel in Killarney
#9 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Earls Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Earls Court House, Killarney in the south west of Ireland. Here you will enjoy the traditions of warm Irish hospitality. The Hotels splendid Victorian accommodation has been complimented with every modern comfort for your enjoyment and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Earls Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earls Court House Hotel Killarney
Earls Court Hotel
Earls Court Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing