We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, great staff, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I have stayed at the Killarney Avenue many times over the years and keep going back. The rooms are comfortable and elegant with all of the usual facilities, the staff are friendly and accommodating and the location in Killarney is fantastic. Great buffet breakfast - and lively bar. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Some friends also stayed recently on their Honeymoon tour of Ireland and absolutely raved about it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Shanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

We attended my sisters wedding here- everything was wonderful - from the pre-wedding meal tasting that they provided - to the very well executed event. The whole extended family and our friends were all happy with service - and how friendly the staff were - the food was excellent. We would use the hotel again for any further events we might plan.
Liz & Tommy O'Connor - Castleisland

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzzynolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Myself and my wife booked into the Kilarney Ave Hotel for a weekend away during Aug and we found it to be a fantastic experience from start to finish. The hotel itself is beautiful and very well located - almost in the centre of the town. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful with a great local knowledge, which was exactly what we needed as we were both unfamiliar with the area. We were very happy with the dinner we had on the Sat night, there was great variety on the menu and the food was well presented and delicious. We came back to the resident bar early enough to catch the end of a really good trad session and the atmosphere in the bar was great for the rest of the night. Many thanks to the staff and management for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkCb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My patner and I stayed here the August weekend Sat 31st July and Sunday the 1st August. Total cost was €279 B&B + 1 dinner. Very poor service for our whole stay.
1. Room wasn't ready on arrival
2. Didn't have what we wanted to order for lunch. (2pm Saturday Bank Holiday weekend)
3. Sent to room with people in it.
4. Dinner extremely poor. Not 4 star by any means.
5. Room noisy, extractor fan outside window so the smell of a deep fat fryer circulated room.
6.Got accused of our friends drinking in the residents bar on our room number and they had to be removed by security. We were on our own didn't know anyone else in Killarney. We were there for The Irish Open Golf. The Manager got a staff member to confront us while he stood next to her. Made a complaint and got a cheap bottle of red wine!!!
7. Buffet breakfast was very poor. Dried out!

We were extremely dissappointed with our stay here. We have a young child so we don't get away much. We were glad we didn't spend much time in the hotel and we did have the golf to go to otherwise we would of left.

We definately won't ever stay here again or any of the O' Donoghue Ring group that is!(Kenmare Place, Killarney, Co. Kerry | Killarney Plaza Hotel & Spa | Killarney Towers Hotel River Island Hotel | Park Place Apartments Killarney )

4* Star ...NO WAY!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murphyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I have recently stayed in this hotel and must say that I am terribly disappointed given the amount paid. We had a voucher towards the cost but the hotel would not allow the full amount to be used once we arrived. The hotel had agreed over the telephone that the full voucher towards the total cost would be allowable. This all changed upon our arrival. We argued our case with a very nich employee (the manager remained out of sight and used the employee as an intermediary), but she could not change this. We were then charged an additional amount.
A group of us sat for a meal on the Saturday night (bigger fools us but teenagers were with us and we could not go to a pub after 9) and were given menues with no prices. As I was not particularly hungry I had a pasta dish as a main and a dessert. I was then charged €35.00, amounting to €17.50 for pasta and €17.50 for toffee cake!!! I will never again set foot inside this hotel. Very disappointed and almost ruined Killarney for us which is saying something as I always love going to Killarney.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LolaAnMadra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

First of all the hotel is gorgeous! I felt pampered during our stay there. Everything was sparkling clean, and beds were so comfortable. The staff was very helpful and they were among the most friendly I've encountered in a hotel. The dining room food was very nicely presented and it tickled our tastebuds!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AikenPhotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The decor is beautiful, especially in lobby/reception area. Heavy wooden timbers on the ceiling, thick carpeting, large comfortable seating. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were quite nice. This was my favorite hotel of the three we stayed at on our tour.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LStewart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Avenue Hotel

Address: East Avenue, Town Center, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £87 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Killarney Avenue Hotel offers guests a choice of 66 deluxe guest rooms over 3 floors. Our hotel accommodation in Killarney reflects the warm atmosphere of the hotel, offering a relaxing and comfortable haven for discerning travellers. The large windows allow abundant natural light and offer wonderful vistas of Kenmare Place while others overlook the Golden Gate entrance to Killarney National Park in Kerry. The Killarney Avenue is perfect for those seeking places for eating out in Killarney with its town centre location. Whether your looking for a place to grab a quick snack, to organise fine dining for a special occasion or enjoy a delicious meal in one of the leading Killarney restaurants you can be sure you will find a selection of menus to cater for your dining requirements. Guest staying within The Killarney Avenue also get complimentary use of our sister hotel leisure centre within The Killarney Towers Hotel ( 2 minute walk) The leisure facilities at the Killarney Towers hotel include: Sauna, Steam room,Whirlpool,15m Swimming pool and a newly refurbished gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Killarney Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing