We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel with great bar and very good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value hotel with great bar and very good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here with some friends and had a very comfortable stay. Easy to find and a big car park. Rooms are spacious. The only drawback was the sink of the bathroom which had two separate taps and no sink stopper. I still can't figure out why Ireland hasn't caught on to mixer taps yet!
The bar was big with an excellent menu and very good food. We were served on two occasions by a very friendly and efficient Polish girl who made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Willie2000 for your review and comments. I appreciate the comments about the mixed taps and it is something that we are looking into. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    109
    51
    19
    19
See reviews for
78
135
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in May 2013. We were traveling in Ireland and were looking for a place that was convenient to the Dingle peninsula and the Ring of Kerry. It was first on the list of hotels on our GPS system, so we stopped by to see if they could accommodate us. It was a good choice. They room on the 3rd floor of the building overlooked the front of the hotel. It was quiet and comfortable. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each day of our stay. We also ate dinner in the pub and dining room. The food was good although my wife and I are not picky people. The staff was very friendly. We would stay at the hotel again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi only works in the lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Gary C for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We appreciate the comment about the wifi and public areas, this is something that we are currently looking into. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 17-19 may2013, hotel was only 5 mins from town,room was clean and big, food was top class and all staff were really nice and helpfull, we,ll will be back to stay in hotel again,and big car park as well,great hotel to stay in,Niall and Claire Cahill.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Niall C for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. The large car park which is free is a huge benefit to the hotel and its guests. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

A fine hotel and good value for money.
We had a meal in the restaurant and it was one of the nicest I have had in quiet a while.
Beautiful steak served with all the trimmings, you would be definitely be happy after it.
Brekkie next morning was spot on, as I said a fine hotel with no complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Terry045 for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Clare Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed in the Heights Hotel Killarney, in April with family. Rooms were well equipped, modern and comfortable. Good value for money. Nice pleasant lady at reception. Ample parking. Excellent guy on the guitar playing music Saturday night. Really enjoyed him

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriCoClareIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you GeriCoClareIreland for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. We have a great selection of musicians that play in the bar on a regular basis. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Spent last Saturday night at the Killarney Heights following my cousin's wedding. The hotel is just on the outskirts of Killarney on the Cork side with plenty of parking and easy access from the main road. It has a beautiful elegant sunroom area at the front with a nicely decorated bar. The ballroom was the perfect wedding venue with high ceilings with sparkling chandeliers, a long bar and modern stylish décor, and of course delicious food. The rest of the hotel is very pleasantly decorated and the bedroom didn't disappoint either. The bed was very comfortable with cosy modern bedding. Everything was neat and clean without being clinical. I would have given the hotel 5 stars but am docking 1 star as I feel the hotel could let itself down by having very unexciting shampoos. They have fancy soap & hand cream in the hotel bathrooms but lacked this in the bedroom. This may sound petty but also the shower was going hot and cold while my boyfriend was showering and making strange noises. We set our alarm wrong and woke up just a little too late for breakfast (our own fault I know). The breakfast is served from 8-10am but I think it would be better to extend this to 10.30am on Sunday (especially after a wedding) like a lot of hotels do (we would have made breakfast then!). I did hear very good reports that the breakfast was indeed very tasty (so I do feel I missed out a little). I would recommend this hotel and would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monomeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you monomeric for your review and comments. Firstly, I would like to apologise about the hot water, that was a situation that was out of our control unfortunately but thank you for bearing with us. Your comments about the shampoo have been noted and suggesting the later breakfast, that may be something that we will look at in the future. We specialise in weddings and making the special day as enjoyable and memorable for not only the bride and groom but also the guests attending the wedding and staying in the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon whether it be for another wedding or your next visit to Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is a popular wedding spot. They certainly 'do ' weddings very well so if you are invited to a wedding here you should enjoy it. The food and service at weddings is excellent.
Some of the rooms are dated (others are not !) but they are in the process of revamping.
However they are clean . We've never been aware of road noise on any of our stays. The breakfast buffet has a good selection available. The dining room is generally busy on the morning after weddings, as you would expect. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you msjolie for your review and comments. We specialise in weddings and we are very popular for this reason. We pride ourselves on our food and service and thank you for saying that it was excellent at the wedding, we do everything we can to make the special day even more enjoyable and memorable. We have now completed our refurbishment of all of the bedrooms and now have even included some Superior Rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.7 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#30 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing