We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our tour group was originally booked for another hotel which was forced to close due to some accidental damage. The exterior of the Heights was beautiful, but the rooms were average. The shower grout appeared not completely clean and the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. The ironing board was partially detached from the wall. WiFi was only downstairs in the lobby, not in the rooms. The food was mediocre. I have to say that the staff tried, but I felt they were totally overwhelmed by the large group.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cellenrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you cellenrem for your review. Firstly let me start with saying that we accommodate large groups of guests all through the year as well as weddings up to 350 people which is never overwhelming. The rooms and bathrooms have recently had an upgrade and the mattresses have been replaced. We are currently in the process of introducing Wifi into all bedrooms as well as the public areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to show the improvements and to improve your rating of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    112
    52
    19
    19
See reviews for
82
138
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What can I say from the moment we viewed this Hotel in 2011 to our Wedding Day in May 2013 was a dream. We dealt with both Noreen and James in the hotel and we could not have asked for better service. Everything went smoothly and our Wedding Day was perfect. The function room and view is beautiful, the food was amazing and the professionalism of every member of staff was exactly what you would expect from a top hotel. I would higly recommend this hotel for a wedding.

Room Tip: Bridal Suite is to die for x
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you dmark25 for your review and comments. We are glad that we could make your wedding day so perfect. The management team and staff are what makes the running of the hotel so successful as well as the reputation we have for our food and service. Any recommendations for future brides and grooms would be greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back here at The Heights Hotel Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in single room which was great value. Staff are very friendly and helpful . Food is fantastic whether it be the breakfast buffet or fabulous foo in restaurant with particular mention to the delicious selection of deserts, only downside it is a bit of a walk into killarney but not too far

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakerbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Bakerbyrne for your review and comments. We appreciate the location of the hotel and reflect that in our prices. The food and service that we provide is what makes the hotel so successful. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Heights Hotel Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

i booked a single room and my daughter came to help me check in and i was made feel like a con artist as they kept telling me it was a single room for one person.they had assumed my daughter was staying too when all she was doing was helping me to check in.i was never offered the option of breakfast or any of the hotel aminities.that evening both of my daughters and i went to bar for a drink and service was dreadful. My room was very dated the control for the tv did not work.the room was not very clean and a family of spiders were in the throw on the bed.there was also toilet paper stuffed all around the extractor in bathroom.i am pleased i had booked for only one night as i dont think i could have stayed there longer.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank IrelandYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Yvonne,

I refer to your recent review posted above in relation to your stay with us on the 6th August last.

While I strongly welcome all feedback positive or negative I must express my utter disappointment on comments relating to your recent stay,

You arrived at the hotel on the 6th August last and had pre booked a single room at a special discounted rate of €36 room only.
When you presented yourself for check in the Receptionist on duty observed a second person in your company, she proceeded with your check in but verbally reiterated details of your reservation back to you in order to confirm all details were correct that it was a single room and that you had booked and confirmed it was a room only rate. This was done to clarify if we had the correct reservation details for you and also to confirm that we had not made a mistake when handling your reservation and to clarify in the politest way possible that you yourself had not made any last minute changes to your reservation.

Under the Hotel Proprietors Act 1963 which I have outlined below for you it is hotel policy and a legal requirement that Management or staff are made aware of any extra guests or company be it temporary or otherwise, which is why your reservation details were reiterated back to you by our receptionist in order to try spare you from any embarrassment which could occur later if questioned by management or night security as to who your additional guest/guests were thus resulting in you being left feeling like a “convict.”

Hotel Proprietors Act 1963 "Duty to Persons Who Are Not Guests"

A person who is not a guest (or intending immediately to become a guest) generally has no right to enter or remain on the premises over the objection of the hotel. Nor can a non-guest resort to public areas of the premises, such as lobbies or hallways, without the consent of the hotel. Despite the fact that the hotel has held itself out to the public with an invitation to enter and seek out accommodations, any person who enters without the intention of accepting an invitation for accommodations remains on the premises only by the consent of the hotel.

Perhaps you think the situation ridiculous but your extra company would immediately cause confusion for example check in – Single room booked but two people arrive for check in (no explanation given by guest) hence leading to your reservation details be reiterated to you again.

Every Irish Hotel throughout the country is governed by the above Act and must comply with the legislation outlined one of which states that a guest supply a sufficient level of personal information and if required present a form of identification if asked to do so. Certain information such as full name, address car registration etc are required by law and must be asked at check in. this is required from every guest be they regular or a once off arrival, the same rules apply.

We take these details not only for security but for a wide range of legal formalities. We are legally obliged to be in a position to supply adequate guest information in the event of a fire which is also why we insist on announcing additional guests or extra company.

During the check in process your confirmed that you had booked a room only rate meaning you had chosen to exclude breakfast, however the receptionist did state breakfast was from 8 to 10am should you wish to avail of it. However you say you were not offered breakfast in your complaint. Please forgive me as I am somewhat confused by this statement, on one hand you don’t want breakfast and exclude it from your room rate and on the other you complain that you weren’t offered breakfast.

I fully accept that (we) as a Hotel are not perfect and of course make mistakes which we must take on board and learn from, however on this occasion I do not accept your comments as justified nor can I accept or believe that any guest would come to a Hotel in Killarney, an area renowned as a leading tourism destination and check in to a hotel where they had to share their bed with a family of spiders, have toilet paper stuffed around their vent as a sealant and would happily pay their bill on check out and not mention a word to either the management or staff on their departure.

Should you wish to contact me at the hotel to discuss anything that I have outline above then I would be more than happy to speak with you.


Regards

Noreen O Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had lunch on arrival was delicious, room was spacious , breakfast was buffet great selection and plenty of everything, dinner in restaurant was gorgeous and couldn't walk after ate so much, would highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Traveller C for your review and fantastic comments in relation to the food from the hotel. Whether it be breakfast, lunch, carvery or dinner you are assured a beautiful meal here because of the quality of the food and produce we use. We are renowned for delicious food and we look forward to serving another fantastic meal to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralee
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What can i say ! not enough !!!!!
From the moment we checked in to the moment we left it was just a great experience. Staff so good , food so good i wish i had it again tonight, it's my second time staying there and it seems to get better if that is possible.
Stayed in a lot of hotels around the world but i can honestly say i look foward to returning to the heights for another break ,Keep up the good work and well done to the staff.
Home from Home try it and see for yourself.
Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraleeKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you Traleeken for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Heights Hotel Killarney. It is reviews and comments like yours that make our jobs and what we do worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, where I am sure you will be even more surprised with the refurbishment and upgrade work done to the hotel. It is definitely possible for your stay to get better the next time round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Really good hotel with efficient friendly staff, some part of the family that run it and it shows. The food tastes like home cooking as distinct from hotel food and is just delicious. My bed had a memory foam mattress and it was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud. The bar was lively and the outdoor terrace is just wonderful for sun downers. They seemed to cater for the large tour that arrived with great ease and fed them from the carvery that I believe is award winning! All in all I feel it was wonderful value and I will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you katiecro52 for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing