We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a family wedding. Drinks reception room was lovely and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere. Dining room was spacious and decorated very well. Food was excellent couldn't fault it. The wedding had 240 people and I think this number was comfortable 300 in the room would be too much. Also 12 to a table is very cramped. Table service was ok had to remind waiters a lot for main course, water etc. There is a smoking room off the reception unless you feel this is essential I'd advise to ask hotel if it could be locked during the diner as it only pulls smoke back into the reception room & creates a draft. Hotel had an issue with no water and maybe reception could have been more apologetic about this. The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable. Overall for the price this is a very nice hotel and with a few minor improvements could be brilliant.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ScientistIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you ScientistIreland for your recent review. Firstly can I just apologise for the problem that we had with the water, although it was out of our control, we have to recognise a customers needs and again we are sorry for the inconvenience. I have taken on board your comments about the waiters and the size of the room for table layout and have passed them onto the Wedding Co-ordinator who will try and address these issues. We specialize in weddings and anything we can do to make the bride and grooms day extra special is more than welcomed. The work that has been done on the drinks reception room which is our Front Orangery has had a phenomenal response and it really does leave a lasting impression and is a great way to kickstart a wedding. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, with those few minor adjustments that you suggest, we look forward to being brilliant for your next stay with us here at The Heights Hotel Killarney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We had a surprise birthday meal here for my fathers 60th for a group of 20. From start to finish the hotel and staff were so professional, friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything ran so smoothly on the night and the service and food was absolutely fantastic! A big thank you to the castle heights for a memorable night!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Maryi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you Maryi for your recent review. We aim to make every special occasion as memorable as possible with the food and the service we provide and we are delighted that you enjoyed the surprise birthday meal. We look forward to looking after many more family celebrations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fantastic food, superb staff and very welcoming. Visited from the UK for a local family wedding. Could not fault any of the staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Would have no hesitation in recommending for a family gathering/special event.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Noel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you Noel A for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed the wedding as well as the food and service that you received. We specialise in weddings and special occasions so we try to do everything we can to make it that extra bit memorable. Any recommendations to other people from you would be greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I brought my family for a meal at the heights hotel which advertise a Carvery. The bar was confusing and not very clean found the "carvery" in the corner which turned out to be a self sevice lunch the staff offered no assistance as to how it all worked but we got a tray each and we were offered an either or meat selection and a heap of veg with one roast potatoe. We then had to take tray to a cashier before finding a seat. The food was ok not great but not bad. But it was like a self sevice cafe we had children in our party and were forced to keep getting up and down for gravey drinks sauce etc although there was plenty of staff they were either only clearing tables or stood around doing nothing. No one greeted us or cared when we left! Very disaponted over all and not value for money either. Average pub grub certainly not what I expect from a Carvery.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Radburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you Radburns for your recent review. Everyone who uses and sees our Carvery, quite clearly follow the signs that are up in the Carvery area stating that it is this way to the Carvery, you cannot go anywhere else and it is most definitely not in a “corner”. It is also nothing like a “self service lunch” as the chef does all of the plating and provides the food for you, you just choose what you would like and then it is put onto your plate. With reference to the portions, again, we offer extremely good value for money and portions size is completely up to you whether you want more or less of something, you just have to ask. There is nothing self service about our Carvery whatsoever, the only thing that you have to get yourself is your cutlery and your tray before choosing your food.
The bar area and tables are always spotless as there is constant cleaning being done by our staff. You actually contradict yourself as you say the bar was not very clean, but then you also say that plenty of staff that were on were clearing tables… Saturdays and Sundays are our busiest days for our Carvery and everyone knows this, we make sure that we have plenty of staff on hand to look after and serve all of the numerous customers that we receive every day, as the days are so busy and we have the Carvery on from 12pm – 3pm on Saturdays and 12pm – 9pm on Sundays, the staff certainly do not have the time to “stand around doing nothing”.
The main reason that this review is so unjustified is that we got through to the Great Carvery Awards 2013 final (three premises) last year and it was the first time that we entered the competition. We are fast approaching the public voting to the Great Carvery Award 2014.
We take any review very seriously and a thorough investigation is necessary with any negative feedback, but this review is certainly not justified. As a business, you can see from the reviews that we have had previously, the vast majority of people come to our hotel and enjoy their experience and will recommend us to others, this is the best kind of feedback we could ask for and gives us an idea what we are doing right and if our customers are satisfied. Unfortunately, you cannot please everyone, but this review does not give a clear indication to existing and new customers what standard of service they can expect from The Heights Hotel Killarney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Well I just had to come on here to say wow...a large ammount of my family and friends stayed at your hotel for my husband s 40 th birthday .. from the minute we arrived we were treated absolutely like royalty from each and every member of staff we came into contact wit from reception to bar staff to restaurant staff ...rooms spotless food absolutely divine and price perfect ...I'm looking forward to coming back ....

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonda186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you rhonda186600 for your recent review. It was our pleasure to look after you and your friends and family for the birthday celebrations. It is fantastic to receive such positive feedback about all aspects of the business, as we pride ourselves on the standard of service we provide and we look forward to seeing you again soon also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

where do i start, just back from a great weekend in the killarney heights hotel for my good friend aidans birthday. mary the legend looked after our booking sorting everything for us before we even got there, she is some woman for one woman, i think for all the work she put in before we went the whole weekend ran so smoothly for us. greeted by great staff on reception, lovely hotel rooms, bar and restaurant staff were all just fab. had a great meal on sat night, menu fab, food to die for and price even better again, ye could not have done any more for us. had tea fri night and luch again on sunday, every meal was better than the next. we most certainly be going back for our 4th stay with ye all, thank u all at the heights hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you julie o for your recent review. It is great to get such positive feedback and we were so glad that we could accommodate you all and help you enjoy the birthday celebrations. We have a fantastic reputation for our food and this is reiterated yet again by yourself. We pride ourselves on the service and professionalism we provide and we try to make any special occasion as memorable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon and no doubt that the reception staff will of course look after everything for you in preparation for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at The Heights Hotel last weekend for a line dancing hotel, rooms are very comfortable and food was very very good, its not too far from the town, about 25 mins walking, and there is a Supervalu next door which is very handy, also Tesco, Marks and Spencers and other shops about 10mins walk. Staff are very friendly and helpful would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would probably ask for the 2nd floor, or a room away from the ballroom, as the music does travel up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you FrancesCork for your recent review. The Line Dancing weekend is always a great event to attend. We appreciate your comments and agree that the music can travel up through the floors when there is a function on. When booking the next one, we will try to accommodate you in one of the rooms away from the ballroom. There are a host of local amenities that customers can use frm the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
768 reviews
4.1 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
852 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £53 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing