We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy Water Pumps” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heights Hotel Killarney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy Water Pumps”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Noticed this noise soon after reaching our room(212) but told that the pumps only worked when showers were being used. However at 11.45pm this pump was still switching on and off every 30 seconds. Even at this late hour I was moved to another room but was woken at 6am by the same noise! Obvious that most rooms on the second floor suffered from the same problem to some extent.
Then told only other room available was 108 - which had noisy kitchen extractor fans just outside the window. We were told that these were turned off at 9pm each night. In fact the were switched off at 11pm on the next two nights and not until midnight on our last night. They come on again at 7am.
So unless you are very tolerant of noise you should avoid second floor rooms and those around 108. Or avoid this hotel. Surely hotels should ensure that all their guests can have a quiet nights sleep?
No complaints about any other aspect of the hotel except that coach parties were served at dinner by an inadequate number of inexperienced staff.
Ally

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ally765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you Ally765 for your review. We appreciate the comments in relation to the noisy pumps and the kitchen fans. Due to a wedding in the hotel, the fans had to be left on as we were serving food late to the wedding party. A lot of the rooms on the second floor did have the same problem with the water pumps and this problem has now been rectified. We do whatever we can to ensure that our customers enjoy their stay and we are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your time. We look forward to welcoming you back to show you the improvements and to improve your rating of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    108
    51
    19
    18
See reviews for
75
134
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

And I mean between average and good, sort of like almost good...

One night stop here and the first thing I noticed (well after the plentiful parking) was the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. Without reservation they would have made my grading very good in their own.

Let's be fair and say that I had a modest sized room for myself alone, with a double bed crowbarred in, but nevertheless it was clean and reasonable.. Somewhere that still uses CRT televisions and the basic channels is always going to be technologically stunted and this is borne out by the fact that the limited wifi is only available in the lobby and public areas.

The thing that bugs me is why some hotels, no, many hotels, both here in the Republic and in the North insist on having smoking rooms? Get with the programme people, as a non smoker using these rooms, they smell! Not a reputation I would want to share with the world but your choice I guess.

Easy to find, bar seems well stocked and again, great staff. As I sit in the lobby typing this there is at least one wedding going on but I can honestly say other than the parade of wonderfully brightly dressed people, there is no overbearing noise, no loud louts annoying everyone so they seem to have the peace of guests in mind, and I applaud that. After a really hard days driving I am glad I'm going to get some sleep. Having said that, I haven't checked out the bed yet so fingers crossed!

I would, apart from the smelly rooms, stay again, but mostly due to the quality of the staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tablespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you Tablespider for your recent review and comments. Firstly, can I just apologise for the smoking room, due to having a full hotel over the weekend with two weddings, the rooms were limited to what we could offer. If we had rooms available, you would have of course been given the option for a non-smoking room. I completely agree with you about the smoking rooms and this is something that we are currently looking at to making The Heights Hotel Killarney a fully non-smoking hotel as many hotels are now.
The bedrooms themselves have been recently refurbished, are spacious and built to 4* requirements as a standard. There are only a handful of CRT televisions now in the hotel bedrooms as the majority are flat screens. The wifi is also a factor that we are currently looking into rectifying.
The management team and staff are fantastic and if they can do anything to make your stay even more enjoyable, they will and this helps create the relaxing and cheerful atmosphere for our customers. We certainly have the peace of our guests at mind and thank you for recognising that. The food and service we provide is why so many customers return here each day. The next time you are looking to stay in Killarney, please contact me and I will see what I can do for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Heights Hotel Killarney and improving your grading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were staying in the hotel across the road but the food was terrible so decided to try this hotel after checking out the menu and but by the end of our first visit we wanted to kidnap the chef and bring him across the road with us. The food was outstanding and the staff were lovely. We ended up going back again and would recommend it to anyone which we did to many people in our hotel!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank smithhelen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you smithhelen23 for your recent review and comments. Our Head Chef is very much in demand. We are renowned for the beautiful food that we serve our customers and this is confirmed by the number of repeat customers we receive every week. Our staff are what makes our reputation so strong and they will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. The next time you are coming to Killarney, contact me and I will see what I can do for you...and of course, I will include a package with dinner that will be made by our ever so popular Head Chef. We look forward to welcoming you here again at The Heights Hotel Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just to say was at the heights hotel for a wedding on the 14th June and have to say was
blown away by the food, the staff. All were so friendly and the service was first class.
Will be back very soon. Well done all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 366kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you 366kathleen for your recent review and comments, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable and memorable time at a wedding you were attending here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for our food and the service that we provide whether it be for a wedding, our carvery, other function or in our restaurant and I am glad that you were "blown away" by all of these factors. We look forward to welcoming you back and to hopefully blow you away for the second time next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a friend's wedding. The views from some of the rooms and the function rooms magnificent.

The bed was a little hard for my liking but the convenient location, reasonable pricing and nice food made up for it.

The wedding itself was fantastic with staff taking onboard any request. A job well done!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hp_sauce66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you hp_sauce66 for your recent review and comments. We specialise in weddings and have had some fantastic refurbishment work done to our Ballroom and now we have a Wedding Garden. The views from the Ballroom of the surrounding mountains are magnificent and very rare in Killarney. The service and food that we provide is exeptional and this re-iterated to us from so many of our bride and grooms who have had their special day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Heights Hotel Killarney, whether it be for another wedding or your next stay in Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pete., Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Run down,tired,dirty bathrooms in need of grout,generally not what you want in a Hotel.The staff is friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was ok.The pub served a decent curry and poured a good pint but all that was not enough to offset the state of the rooms.There was also a water pump which ran on and off all night for two nights which was most disturbing.The front desk did move my room to the other side of the Hotel but there was also a water pump which ran most of the night on that side of the Hotel as well.Last issue,so many tour buses and tourists that it was hard finding a quiet place much less a quiet nights sleep....Just not worth it at all.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you DebateTeam for your recent review. Firstly, can I just apologise about the pumps, there are only a few rooms that have the fan outside and we are currently looking into rectifying this. We were fully booked due to a wedding and a tour in the hotel so the rooms that we could offer you as an alternative were limited. The hotel bedrooms have completed a recent refurbishment and now also include Superior Rooms. The food and service that we provide are what we are renowned for and our staff help to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I were home from Australia to visit family and decided to have three days away to Killarney, a spot we had never visited before. We booked a three night special including one evening meal and breakfast included each morning.
When we arrived we checked in and went to our room which was clean but at the back of the hotel so a dark with no view. However it was nice and warm.
We decided to have our evening meal that night and went down to the restaurant. We were what appeared to be the only people in the hotel, which really says more about the economic climate in Ireland then it does about the hotel, also keep in mind this was a mid week break. The food menu was plentiful and the food itself was delicious. The portions were massive and we could not finish it all. Over the three days were received friendly service from all the staff. In the bar we didn't feel like we were in a large hotel but a local pub when going for drinks. The bar man was very pleasant and made us feel right at home. The hotel is just a few minutes outside the main town area and so a taxi ride, which was no problem for us.
My only small, minor complaint would be if the hotel is not busy during the week, would you not put guests into more attractive, brighter rooms. Overall we had a lovely stay in The Heights Hotel and if we were to return to Killarney we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel or facing the beautiful mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnatravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you donnatravel17 for your recent review and comments, they are most appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us whilst you were in Killarney. The food and service we provide is why so many customers return here each day. Our staff are fantastic and if they can do anything to make your stay even more enjoyable, they will and this helps create the relaxing and cheerful atmosphere for our customers. The next time you come to visit, I will see what I can do for you regarding a room with a view as the rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views of the surrounding mountains. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Heights Hotel Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travel Inn Killarney
1.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#36 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Torc Hotel
Torc Hotel
#37 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing