We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Killarney is a great place to start your tour of the Ring of Kerry. And Killarney Towers Hotel has a great location in the middle of this town. It is a modern looking hotel with a nice lobby and a large parking lot opposite it. When you enter the hotel you are immediately helped by the competent staff at the front desk. There are elevators to take you up to your room and the room we had was large, clean and spacious. And once again modern. The beds were King size and everything you needed was in the room.We booked here so as to use the leisure centre which is attached to the hotel and we were not disappointed by it. It is a large, clean and attractive pool and operates efficiently. There is a pub attached to this hotel and you can get your food and drink there. Very nice. The staff at this hotel are exemplary and the manager is efficient and most accommodating. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Killarney Towers Hotel

In a wonderful location in the middle of Killarney is the Killarney Tower Hotel. This is rated a 4* hotel and it certainly lives up to that reputation. You'll enter a sleek, modern looking lobby with the reception desk on the left.

The rest of the hotel is decorated in beautiful darkwood throughout. The halls are beautiful and lighting enhances the wood.

The rooms are small but elegantly appointed. The king sized bed is comfortable. There are extra pillows in the closet which will probably be needed.There are two upholstered chairs and a table in the room.

The only issue we had with the room is the lack of storage space. There is a long bureau that the flat screen tv is on that appears to have a compact refrigerator in on the left side but in fact holds a coffee pot and hair dryer - no refrigerator at all. There are three small drawers for storage, not enough for much. The closet has several hangers which are difficult to get to due to the bar being hung from the back of the closet to the front. There are two nightstands with a small drawer in each.

The bathroom is small but beautiful. There sink area is marble, and there is a jacuzzi tub, a rarity in any hotel. The bathroom has great amenities- shampoo,body wash, body lotion, soap, shower cap and grooming kit. There is a built in shelf above the toilet that has plenty of storage space.

All rooms have air conditioning and more important are quiet. It was extremely clean as is the entire hotel. Our room, 331, was located next to a storage room that had was sounds like a water heater or the main air conditioning unit in it. We heard a slight humming noise all the time, but it quickly became white noise and we didn't notice it much and after the noisy room at our prior hotel this didn't bother us.

The only other issue we had was the elevator. There is only one elevator for the entire hotel. Many tour operators use this hotel which mean groups of up to 50 people can arrive at any given time. The elevator holds 10 people maximum so there could be a long wait for the lift.

There is a very good restaurant in the hotel called the Innisfallen Restaurant that served a good buffet breakfast (included in rate) and dinner (extra but reasonably priced). There is also a restaurant called O'Donoghue's Public House offers a full menu from 12:30 pm to 9:30 pm. O'Donoghue's also has local entertainment each evening beginning at 9:30 pm. Room service is available between 12 noon and 9 pm, with a limited menu available between 9 pm and 7 am. Breakfast room service is available by filling out the door hanger card and leaving in your door before 3 am.

There are three other entertainment venues at the hotel - The Kube Bar, Scruffy's Bar and The Crypt Nightclub.

The hotel has a large indoor pool as well as a well equipped gym. There are also spa services available at the sister hotel, Killarney Plaza.

We were very satisfied with our stay at Killarney Towers and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it for clients.

Room Tip: If you are assigned to room 331 ask to be moved. There is a slight noise from a maintenance closet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank promal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just returned after visiting with Jones Tours. We had booked this trip as a Golden Wedding treat and were very pleased we had chosen this hotel The staff from the top to the bottom were excellent nothing was to much trouble and they were all so friendly. When the Manager heard it was our Anniversary we were treated to drinks and a bottle of wine and chocolates were placed in our room.It was our first visit to Ireland but we will certainly be back to the Towers.it has everything you need from wonderful food to two bars so you don't need to leave the hotel if you don't want to.

Room Tip: we were in room 232 there was no view but very quiet at night so were not kept awake by the music ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConstanceMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Overall this is a good hotel. The first night we could hear music coming from the night club even though we were on the second floor. Wasn't all that annoying though. It was Irish music not doof doof. Te rooms were clean and tidy with extras (grooming kit, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc.) in middle of the town, walking distance to everything. HOWEVER, I was very disappointed to find that the sheets on the bed had holes in them. A second hand shop would just tear them up for rags. The blanket was very very thin and folded over. This meant that the blanket did not cover you. The second day I left a note for the staff and they did give me a second blanket. I remade the bed and the second night was good. No noise either. Surely for a hotel who can afford grooming kits etc, they could afford sheets and blankets without ones in them. Apart from this a good stay. Maybe if you do stay check the bed and ask for another blanket. Oh yes there is a jacuzzi in the room and plentyof hot water .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 781Travelaround781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The location was great - right in the center of town. The rooms, while clean, we cramped and ill organized. We had an L shaped room with the TV being in the part that made viewing award. Electric outlets were placed in strange places. It has both a tub and shower - towels are sparse. Our safe didn't work and couldn't get anyone to replace or fix so we ended up taking our valuables with us all day. Noise from the two pubs on the ground floor filters up. The front desk is not very helpful and guests already checked in arent treated very well. Breakfast is great - the best of my stay in Ireland. WiFi was adequate. A good hotel but not great. Killarney deserves better representation because the town was the best place we visited in Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Staying two nights here, and room is tastefully appointed, though view is of rooftops again and wifi is so sporadic we need to go to lobby to get strong signal. The really awful part is the restaurant where guests are treated like cattle and a good portion of the food resembles sloppppp, IMHO. A few of the wait staff are surely, and restaurant encourages everyone to 'do the buffet.' Although I ordered from the menu, quality of food was barely average, with overlooked veggies, dry chicken and mere dribble of sauce. I refuse to dine here tonight, hello curry house or great Irish food elsewhere. On a positive note, live entertainment in both Scruffy Bar and o Donoghue's pub was fabulous as was wait staff. Awful, just offal....

Room Tip: Ask for a front of hotel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malinmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

had a fantastic stay at this hotel, food is top class, nightly entertainment music was great. right in the centre of town lots of lovely wee shops, but very expensive place. swimming pool and spa was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria7mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Killarney Avenue Hotel
#25 of 38 in Killarney
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#26 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £91 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Towers Hotel And Leisure Centre
Towers Killarney
Killarney Hotel
Killarney Towers Hotel Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing